Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

New Work

Le Patin Libre Montreal
  • Choreography Le Patin Libre

Former championship figure skaters turned movement innovators, Le Patin Libre transform the traditional hockey rink into a dramatic stage for contemporary movement.  Blending speed, precision, and intricate choreography, their first two shows, Vertical Influences and Threshold, have toured the world to great acclaim.

For their next project, the Montreal-based collective brings together a much larger group of 15 skaters to break new choreographic ground.  Drawing inspiration from “flocking”, the complex movements exhibited by large groups of birds and fish, its new production explores what motivates creatures when they come together and separate at great speed. 

video:

Company

Le Patin Libre was founded in 2005 by Alexandre Hamel, a former professional figure skater and fine arts university student. From early performances presented on frozen ponds, Le Patin Libre has evolved into an acclaimed contemporary dance company that counts international presenters such as UK’s Dance Umbrella and France’s Théâtre de la Ville as champions for this new performing art form.

Creative team

  • Choreography Le Patin Libre

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $160,000 will make it possible for Le Patin Libre to bring together its expanded cast of skaters for several additional workshops dedicated to exploring new techniques and choreography.

Credits

Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and Conseil des arts de Montréal

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Upcoming Performances

World premiere in 2020


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël

Nouvelle création

Le Patin Libre Montréal
  • Chorégraphie Le Patin Libre

Composé d’anciens patineurs de fantaisie de haut niveau devenus innovateurs de mouvement, Le Patin Libre transforme la patinoire de hockey traditionnelle en scène dramatique de mouvement contemporain. Combinaison de vitesse, de précision et de chorégraphie complexe, leurs deux premiers spectacles, Vertical Influences et Threshold, ont été présentés partout sur la planète, s’attirant de nombreux éloges sur leur passage. 

Pour leur nouveau projet, le collectif montréalais rassemble un groupe beaucoup plus large de 15 patineurs afin d’innover sur le plan chorégraphique.  S’inspirant du phénomène de formation de bandes (“flocking”), les mouvements complexes dont font preuve les gros groupes d’oiseaux et de poissons, cette nouvelle production explore ce qui motive les créatures à s’associer et se dissocier à grande vitesse. 

video:

Compagnie

Le Patin Libre a été fondé en 2005 par Alexandre Hamel, un ancien patineur artistique professionnel et étudiant universitaire en beaux-arts.  De ses premières démonstrations sur des étangs gelés, Le Patin Libre a évolué pour devenir une compagnie de danse contemporaine réputée qui compte des diffuseurs internationaux tels que Dance Umbrella au Royaume-Uni et le Théâtre de la Ville en France parmi les champions de cette nouvelle forme d’art de la scène.

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie Le Patin Libre

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de $160 000 du Fonds national de création permettra à Le Patin Libre de rassembler sa distribution élargie de patineurs pour de nombreux ateliers supplémentaires consacrés à l’exploration de nouvelles techniques et chorégraphies.

Reconnaissance

Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, et Conseil des arts de Montréal

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Performances à venir

Première mondiale en 2020


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel
Menu