November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
  • Written, directed and performed by Nadia Ross and Christian Lapointe

Creators Nadia Ross and Christian Lapointe began an intense dialogue following their co-nomination for the 2016 Siminovitch Prize for excellence and innovation in theatre direction. Known for their unique artistic visions and creations, their discussions led to a process-based project exploring how human relationships are transformed by the virtual world and pornoculture.

In Portrait of Restless Narcissism (P.O.R.N.), two people’s lives collide on the internet in an attempt to escape the loneliness of our time. Through an intricate ballet between reality and fiction mediated by their online personas, the duo is endlessly searching for a way out of the empty reflection projected by pornoculture.

Company

STO Union is a multi-arts performance company producing original new creations for presentation and engagement at home and abroad. STO Union’s projects take their inspiration from the ancient art form of the theatre and expand this definition into new realms of artistic practice. The company’s projects are built through a workshop process that relies heavily on research, development and dramaturgy. Key discoveries made during that process and the ensuing productions are shared widely in person and digitally.

Creative team

  • Written, directed and performed by Nadia Ross and Christian Lapointe
  • Lighting design Steve Lucas
  • Set design Geneviève Lizotte
  • Video design Lionel Arnould

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $115,000 will allow STO Union to collaborate with a larger creative team through an extended workshop process, providing the time required to fully explore the integration of technology with the set and live performance.

Credits

Co-production: Theater der Welt Düsseldorf 2020, STO Union, Théâtre Carte Blanche, Festival TransAmériques; HAU Hebbel am Ufer; BIT Teatergarasjen. 

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

May 18 & 19, 2020: World premiere, Komödie in der Steinstraße (Düsseldorf), presented by the Festival Theater der Welt 2020 - postponed

November 19 to 21, 2020:  Berkeley Street Upstairs Theatre (Toronto), presented by Canadian Stage - postponed


Menu

• Texte, mise en scène et interprétation Nadia Ross et Christian Lapointe

Les cocréateurs Nadia Ross et Christian Lapointe ont entamé un intense dialogue alors qu’ils étaient tous deux finalistes pour le prix Siminovitch d’excellence et d’innovation en mise en scène théâtrale en 2016. Renommés pour leurs visions artistiques et leurs créations hors du commun, leurs échanges ont donné lieu à un laboratoire de création portant sur l’influence détermninante du monde virtuel et de la pornoculture sur les relations humaines.

Dans Portrait of Restless Narcissism (P.O.R.N.), les existences de deux êtres entrent en collision sur Internet, dans un effort désespéré pour échapper à la solitude de notre temps. Dans un délicat va-et-vient entre réalité et fiction, teinté par leurs personas respectives en ligne, le duo se lance dans la quête effrénée d’une issue pour échapper à la vacuité du reflet que renvoie la pornoculture.

Compagnie

STO Union est une compagnie artistique multidisciplinaire qui produit des créations originales, et qui les diffuse au pays et à l’étranger. Les projets de STO Union puisent leur inspiration dans l’art séculaire du théâtre et en élargissent la définition pour l’étendre à de nouvelles sphères d’expression artistique. Les projets de la compagnie prennent forme en atelier, et reposent largement sur la recherche, le développement et l’écriture dramatique. Les principales trouvailles issues de ce processus et des productions qui en découlent sont ensuite largement partagées, en personne et sur des plateformes numériques.

Équipe artistique

  • Texte, mise en scène et interprétation Nadia Ross et Christian Lapointe
  • Éclairages Steve Lucas
  • Décor Geneviève Lizotte
  • Conception vidéo Lionel Arnould

Investissement du Fonds national de création

Les 115 000 $ investis par le Fonds national de création dans ce projet vont permettre à STO Union d’élargir le cercle de ses collaborateurs et de prolonger le développement de l’œuvre en atelier, disposant ainsi du temps nécessaire pour intégrer pleinement la technologie dans la scénographie et le spectacle proprement dit.

Reconnaissance

En coproduction avec Carte Blanche et plusieurs partenaires nationaux et internationaux.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Première mondiale en 2020


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel
Menu