Stages of Transformation

© Amber Williams-King

Listening to and learning from abolition movements

Stages of Transformation is a multi-year project of research, rumination, creative exploration and conversation, bringing together theatre artists, arts workers, and creative communities from across so-called Canada. It takes up the imperatives of abolition movements and transformative justice frameworks, and investigates their applications to our work in the theatre sector.  

  • Featuring Curator Nikki Shaffeeullah
  • mpoe-mogale-credit-liam-mackenzie
    Featuring Associate Curator Mpoe Mogale
  • Featuring Illustrator Amber Williams-King

Introduction to Stages of Transformation

“What do abolition movements have to do with the performing arts here in so-called Canada? Like many, I believe that without the framework of abolition, all of our work in the theatre sector to achieve racial justice, gender justice, disability justice, trans justice, climate justice, and all other forms of justice, will fall short. Abolition offers a rigorous lens through which to examine these issues, and pathways toward change. Like theatre itself, abolition is about the power of human relationships, collaboration, generative conflict, and imagination.”

Stages essay

Essay: Stages of Transformation

Nikki Shaffeeullah introduces the Stages of Transformation project, and reflects on abolition movements and what they mean for the performing arts in so-called Canada.

Perspectives on abolition and theatre

Spotlighting people, projects, and communities who are engaged in abolitionist ideas and approaches. Searching for new patterns and possibilities for the theatre sector and beyond.

  • Workshopping-intervention-report1 placeholder no-text

    Transform

    Perspectives on transformation, including short films by Mpoe Mogale and Raven Davis; an interview about arts and incarceration with Amina Mohamed,… Perspectives on transformation, including short films by… Perspectives on transformation, including short films by Mpoe Mogale and Raven Davis; an interview about arts and incarceration with Amina Mohamed, Charlene Chapman, April Labine and Laverne Malcolm; and a duet of reports by Makram Ayache and Marilo Nuñez.

  • Transformation-talks episode2-yvette-nolan

    Listen

    Audio pieces, including Transformation Talks, a series of audio interviews with theatre leaders and artist-activists including Tanisha Taitt,… Audio pieces, including Transformation Talks, a series… Audio pieces, including Transformation Talks, a series of audio interviews with theatre leaders and artist-activists including Tanisha Taitt, Yvette Nolan, Donna-Michelle St. Bernard, Ravyn Wngz and Raven Davis, on topics including conflict transformation, organizational governance, and collaboration.

  • Discuss-panel1

    Discuss

    In these panel discussions, leading artist-activists from across the land, including Cole Alvis, Audrey Dwyer, Kim Senklip Harvey, Taiwo Afolabi,… In these panel discussions, leading artist-activists from… In these panel discussions, leading artist-activists from across the land, including Cole Alvis, Audrey Dwyer, Kim Senklip Harvey, Taiwo Afolabi, Omari Newton, and Makambe K. Simamba, come together in longform conversations about the intersections of theatre and justice.

  • Sot-envisioning-presence joanna-yu 1-new-patterns-temp

    Envision

    In three visual art series, theatre designers Rachel Forbes, Joanna Yu, and Bianca Guimarães de Manuel, and illustrator Amber Williams-King,… In three visual art series, theatre designers Rachel Forbes,… In three visual art series, theatre designers Rachel Forbes, Joanna Yu, and Bianca Guimarães de Manuel, and illustrator Amber Williams-King, invite us to visualize what liberated futures in the arts could look like.

  • Nac creative-cohort-placeholder

    Create

    The Stages of Transformation Creative Cohort is a group of artists and arts organizations who are exploring how abolition and transformative justice… The Stages of Transformation Creative Cohort is a group of… The Stages of Transformation Creative Cohort is a group of artists and arts organizations who are exploring how abolition and transformative justice can impact theatre-making in process, content, form, and dissemination.

Contributors

  • taiwo-afolabi-headshot-photo-annie-konstantinova
    Taiwo Afolabi
  • Keira Ash
  • makram-ayache
    Makram Ayache
  • charlene-chapman
    Charlene Chapman
  • raven-davis
    Raven Davis
  • bianca-guimaraes-credit-bianca-guimaraes
    Bianca Guimarães de Manuel
  • audrey-dwyer-web
    Audrey Dwyer
  • yasmine-espert-headshot
    Yasmine Espert
  • rachel-forbes-credit-eugen-sakhnenko
    Rachel Forbes
  • Santiago Guzmán
  • raven-john
    Raven John
  • April Labine
  • laverne-malcolm
    Laverne Malcolm
  • alyssa-maturino-credit-owen-dela-cruz
    Alyssa Maturino
  • mpoe-mogale-credit-liam-mackenzie
    Associate Curator Mpoe Mogale
  • amina-mohamed
    Amina Mohamed
  • omari-newton
    Omari Newton
  • Marilo Nuñez
  • Artistic Director, Rumble Theatre Jivesh Parasram
  • kim-senklip-harvey
    Kim Senklip Harvey
  • Curator Nikki Shaffeeullah
  • sobia-shaikh-headshot
    Sobia Shaheen Shaikh
  • makambe-simamba-credit-lauren-vandenbrook
    Makambe K. Simamba
  • Donna-Michelle St. Bernard
  • tanisha-taitt-credit-dahlia-katz
    Tanisha Taitt
  • pam-tzeng-credit-mike-tan
    Pam Tzeng
  • miki-wolf
    Miki Wolf
  • olivia-wheeler-credit-drew-lyall
    Olivia Wheeler
  • Illustrator Amber Williams-King
  • ravyn-wngz-credit-jackie-brown-photography
    Ravyn Wngz

Stages of Transformation

© Amber Williams-King

Écouter les mouvements abolitionnistes et s’en inspirer

Stages of Transformation (« Les étapes de la transformation ») est un projet pluriannuel de recherche, de réflexion, d’exploration créative et de conversation, qui rassemble des artistes de théâtre, des personnes qui œuvrent dans les milieux artistiques et des communautés créatives de toutes les régions de ce pays qu’on appelle le Canada. Il reprend les impératifs des mouvements abolitionnistes et des cadres de justice transformatrice, et étudie leurs applications à notre travail dans le secteur du théâtre.  

  • Avec Commissaire Nikki Shaffeeullah
  • Avec Commissaire associée Mpoe Mogale
  • Avec illustratrice Amber Williams-King

Qu’est-ce que l’abolition?

« Quel est le rapport entre les mouvements abolitionnistes et les arts de la scène, dans ce pays qu’on appelle le Canada? Comme beaucoup, je crois que sans le cadre de l’abolition, tous nos efforts engagés dans le secteur du théâtre pour atteindre la justice raciale, la justice de genre, la justice pour les personnes handicapées, la justice pour les personnes transgenres, la justice climatique et toutes les autres formes de justice, seront voués à l’échec. L’abolition offre une optique rigoureuse à travers laquelle examiner ces questions et explorer les voies du changement. Comme le théâtre lui-même, l’abolition concerne la force des relations humaines, de la collaboration, des confrontations fécondes et de l’imagination. »

Dissertation : Les étapes de la transformation

Nikki Shaffeeullah présente le projet Stages of Transformation, et réfléchit aux mouvements abolitionnistes et à leur signification pour les arts de la scène dans ce pays qu’on appelle le Canada.

Regard sur l’abolition et le théâtre

Mettre en lumière les personnes, les projets et les communautés qui sont déjà engagés dans des idées et des approches abolitionnistes. Dégager des modèles inédits et des possibilités nouvelles, pour le secteur du théâtre et au-delà.

  • Transformer

    Regard sur la transformation, des courts métrages de Mpoe Mogale et Raven Davis; une entrevue sur les arts et l’incarcération… Regard sur la transformation, des courts métrages… Regard sur la transformation, des courts métrages de Mpoe Mogale et Raven Davis; une entrevue sur les arts et l’incarcération avec Amina Mohamed, Charlene Chapman, April Labine et Laverne Malcolm; et des comptes rendus de Makram Ayache et Marilo Nuñez.

  • Écouter

    Des enregistrements audio, y compris Transformation Talks (« parlons transformation »), une série d'entretiens… Des enregistrements audio, y compris Transformation Talks… Des enregistrements audio, y compris Transformation Talks (« parlons transformation »), une série d'entretiens audio avec des chefs de file du théâtre et des artistes activistes, notamment Tanisha Taitt, Yvette Nolan, Donna-Michelle St. Bernard, Ravyn Wngz et Raven Davis, sur des sujets tels que la transformation des conflits, la gouvernance organisationnelle et la collaboration.

  • Discuter

    Dans le cadre de cette discussion, des artistes activistes de partout au pays, dont Cole Alvis, Audrey Dwyer, Kim Senklip Harvey, Taiwo Afolabi,… Dans le cadre de cette discussion, des artistes activistes… Dans le cadre de cette discussion, des artistes activistes de partout au pays, dont Cole Alvis, Audrey Dwyer, Kim Senklip Harvey, Taiwo Afolabi, Omari Newton et Makambe K. Simamba, échangent en profondeur sur les liens entre le théâtre et la justice.

  • Imaginer

    Dans ces trois séries d’œuvres visuelles, les conceptrices de théâtre Rachel Forbes, Joanna Yu et Bianca Guimarães… Dans ces trois séries d’œuvres visuelles,… Dans ces trois séries d’œuvres visuelles, les conceptrices de théâtre Rachel Forbes, Joanna Yu et Bianca Guimarães de Manuel, et l’illustratrice Amber Williams-King nous font voir à quoi pourrait ressembler un milieu artistique plus libre.

  • Créer

    La Creative Cohort (« cohorte créative ») de Stages of Transformation est un groupe d'artistes et d’organisations… La Creative Cohort (« cohorte créative »)… La Creative Cohort (« cohorte créative ») de Stages of Transformation est un groupe d'artistes et d’organisations artistiques qui explorent les façons dont l’abolition et la justice transformatrice peuvent avoir une incidence sur la création théâtrale en matière de processus, de contenu, de forme et de diffusion.

Collaboration

  • Taiwo Afolabi
  • Keira Ash
  • Makram Ayache
  • Charlene Chapman
  • Raven Davis
  • Bianca Guimarães de Manuel
  • Audrey Dwyer
  • Yasmine Espert
  • Rachel Forbes
  • Santiago Guzmán
  • Raven John
  • April Labine
  • Laverne Malcolm
  • Alyssa Maturino
  • Commissaire associée Mpoe Mogale
  • Amina Mohamed
  • Omari Newton
  • Marilo Nuñez
  • Directeur artistique, Rumble Theatre Jivesh Parasram
  • Kim Senklip Harvey
  • Commissaire Nikki Shaffeeullah
  • Sobia Shaheen Shaikh
  • Makambe K. Simamba
  • Donna-Michelle St. Bernard
  • Tanisha Taitt
  • Pam Tzeng
  • Miki Wolf
  • Olivia Wheeler
  • illustratrice Amber Williams-King
  • Ravyn Wngz