© Amber Williams-King

In these panel discussions, some of the leading artist-activists from across the land come together in longform conversations about the intersections of theatre and justice.

Storytelling the Justice System

This conversation brings together theatre-makers whose work examines systems of justice. Audrey Dwyer, Cole Alvis, and Kim Senklip Harvey reflect on the ways in which art can shape, uphold, and subvert narratives about the justice system, and the ways in which performance can help imagine alternative understandings of harm, accountability, and repair. 

PANELISTS: Audrey Dwyer, Cole Alvis, Kim Senklip Harvey 
MODERATOR: Nikki Shaffeeullah

Theatrical Interrogations: Cops in the Spotlight

This conversation about the colonial legacy of policing on Turtle Island brings together theatre makers to respond to the challenges of police, prisons and surveillance. What do abolition movements mean for theatre makers and audiences? What role can theatre play in shaping societal relationships to police, prisons, and surveillance culture – in terms of education, healing, change?

Panelists Omari Newton (Black and Blue Matters, Sal Capone), Makambe K. Simamba (Our Fathers, Sons, Lovers and Little Brothers) and Taiwo Afolabi (applied theatre practitioner and Assistant Professor at the University of Regina) will engage with the notion of abolition movements, and how we can use these principles to guide our art and our way of life to envision a world with true safety, security and justice. 

PANELISTS: Taiwo Afolabi, Omari Newton, Makambe K. Simamba 
MODERATOR: Mpoe Mogale

Menu

© Amber Williams-King

Dans le cadre de ces discussions, certains des artistes activistes les plus avant-gardistes du pays échangent en profondeur sur les liens entre le théâtre et la justice.

Raconter le système judiciaire

Vidéo en anglais. Sous-titres en anglais et français.

Autour de la table sont réunis des artistes de théâtre qui s’intéressent au système judiciaire. Audrey Dwyer, Cole Alvis et Kim Senklip Harvey s’interrogent sur l’influence de la représentation du système judiciaire dans les récits et le rôle déterminant du théâtre dans l’émergence d’une nouvelle conception des torts, de la responsabilité et de la réparation.

PANÉLISTES : Audrey Dwyer, Cole Alvis, Kim Senklip Harvey 
ANIMATION : Nikki Shaffeeullah

Theatrical Interrogations: Cops in the Spotlight

Vidéo en anglais. Des sous-titres français seront disponibles sous peu.

Cette conversation sur l'héritage colonial du maintien de l'ordre dans l'île de la Tortue réunit des artistes de théâtre pour répondre aux défis que posent la police, les prisons et la surveillance. Que signifient les mouvements abolitionnistes pour les artistes de théâtre et les auditoires? Quel rôle le théâtre peut-il jouer pour façonner les relations de la société avec la police, les prisons et la culture de la surveillance – en termes d'éducation, de guérison, de changement?

Omari Newton (Black and Blue Matters, Sal Capone), Makambe K. Simamba (Our Fathers, Sons, Lovers and Little Brothers) et Taiwo Afolabi (praticien du théâtre appliqué et professeur adjoint à l’Université de Regina) aborderont la notion de mouvements abolitionnistes et la manière dont nous pouvons utiliser ces principes pour orienter notre art et notre mode de vie, afin d'envisager un monde où règnent la sécurité et la justice.

PANÉLISTES : Taiwo Afolabi, Omari Newton, Makambe K. Simamba 
ANIMATION : Mpoe Mogale

Menu