Kipnes Lantern

The Kipnes Lantern is the signature feature of the National Arts Centre’s architectural rejuvenation. Rising dramatically above the NAC’s new front entrance, the glass tower incorporates cutting-edge transparent LED screens to display stunning images of Canada’s leading artists and productions.

Beginning every day at dusk, the Kipnes Lantern becomes a beacon for the performing arts in Canada, showcasing the breadth and excellence of the work being produced across Canada. On a typical day, it highlights upcoming productions at the NAC, as well as shows taking place on stages from Victoria to St. John’s.

The Kipnes Lantern will promote a range of performances from leading theatre, dance, and opera companies, as well as symphony orchestras across Canada.

For the first season of programming, which runs from January to June, the NAC will celebrate the work of twelve arts organizations from coast to coast to coast.

Learn more about the artists, photographers and productions displayed on the Kipnes Lantern.

Moment Factory

The lighting of the Kipnes Lantern also marks the beginning of an exciting partnership with Moment Factory, well known for its innovative multimedia attractions ranging from Ottawa 2017’s immersive underground experience Kontinuum and the Miwaté sound and light show on the Chaudière Falls, to the Mosaïka spectacle on the Parliament buildings.

“The Lantern reflects the NAC itself–as a portal through which Canadians can share their culture and innovation with each other and the world,” says Moment Factory co-founder Sakchin Bessette. “It's an exciting start to the next 150 years of Canadian storytelling.”

The Technology

The defining feature of the Kipnes Lantern is the transparent LED screens that have been installed on four sides of the tower. Provided by Vancouver’s ClearLED, this sophisticated grid of LEDs becomes practically unnoticeable when not in use, allowing for clear views of the Lantern’s striking interior. When the screens are turned on, the Kipnes Lantern is transformed into a high-definition video wall, providing exceptional clarity for both still images and video content.

The Kipnes Family

Programming on the Kipnes Lantern is made possible thanks to a transformational gift of $5 million from Dr. Dianne Kipnes and Mr. Irving Kipnes of Edmonton. Dr. Kipnes completed nine years of service as a Director of the NAC Foundation in early 2017. She and her husband are leading philanthropists and have made generous gifts to the arts, health care, education and social services over many years.

Menu

Lanterne Kipnes

La Lanterne Kipnes est l’élément emblématique du Projet de renouvellement architectural du Centre national des Arts. S’élevant de manière spectaculaire au-dessus de la nouvelle entrée du CNA, cette tour de verre intègre des écrans à DEL transparents à la fine pointe de la technologie qui diffusent des images impressionnantes d’artistes et de productions de premier plan du Canada. 

Tous les jours à la nuit tombante, la Lanterne Kipnes deviendra le symbole des arts de la scène au Canada, en présentant l’étendue et l’excellence des œuvres produites au Canada. Chaque jour, les productions à venir au CNA et les spectacles présentés sur les scènes de Victoria à St. John’s y seront mis en valeur.  

La Lanterne Kipnes fera la promotion d’une gamme de spectacles de compagnies de théâtre, de danse et d’opéra de renom, et de concerts d’orchestres symphoniques de tout le Canada.

Pour la programmation de sa toute première saison, qui s’étend de janvier à juin, le CNA célébrera les œuvres de douze organisations artistiques des quatre coins du pays.

Découvrez les artistes, les photographes et les productions mises en valeur sur la Lanterne Kipnes.

Moment Factory

L’illumination de la Lanterne Kipnes inaugure aussi un partenariat prometteur avec le studio Moment Factory, renommé pour ses attractions multimédias novatrices, comme l’expérience immersive souterraine Kontinuum pour Ottawa 2017, le spectacle son et lumière Miwaté aux chutes de la Chaudière et le spectacle Mosaïka sur les édifices du Parlement.

« La Lanterne est, à l’image du CNA, un portail par lequel les Canadiens partagent leur culture et leurs innovations entre eux et avec le reste du monde », affirme Sakchin Bessette, cofondateur de Moment Factory. « C’est un point de départ exaltant pour les 150 prochaines années de récits canadiens. »

La technologie

La Lanterne Kipnes se distingue par ses écrans à DEL transparents juxtaposés sur les quatre côtés de la tour formant une grille sophistiquée, conçue par la firme ClearLED de Vancouver. Lorsqu’ils ne sont pas utilisés, les écrans transparents permettent de voir l’intérieur saisissant de la Lanterne. Lorsque les écrans sont allumés, la Lanterne Kipnes se transforme en un mur vidéo haute définition d’une clarté exceptionnelle tant pour les images fixes que pour le contenu vidéo.

La famille Kipnes

La programmation de la Lanterne Kipnes est rendue possible grâce à un don déterminant de 5 millions de dollars de Dianne et Irving Kipnes, d’Edmonton. Mme Kipnes a achevé, au début de 2017, sa neuvième année en tant que membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation du CNA.  Elle et son mari sont d’importants philanthropes, et ils donnent généreusement pour les arts, les soins de santé, l’éducation et les services sociaux depuis de nombreuses années.

Menu