• Genetikos ii-card

    Genetikos II

    June 1, 2023

    In June and August 2023, Richard Heikkilä-Sawan’s artwork, Genetikos II, was featured on the Kipnes Lantern to celebrate National Indigenous History Month and Pride.  Richard Heikkilä-Sawan is a Two-Spirit artist known for his vibrant and thought-provoking artwork. Born in Vancouver, he was adopted into a Mennonite family, unaware of his Indigenous heritage until later in life. Richard explores themes of identity, race, and social... Read more

  • Onah dsc7022-2

    Black History Month: Onah

    February 27, 2023

    In February 2023, Jimmy Baptiste’s stunning Afrofuturist artwork Onah was featured on the Kipnes Lantern. The Haitian-Canadian artist’s work was specially commissioned by the NAC for Black History Month. Best known as a graffiti and muralist artist, Jimmy Baptiste has also been working with youth for nearly 20 years on mural projects in Montréal, in Ottawa and elsewhere in Canada. The 43-year-old... Read more

  • Videovirus-01982-web

    VideoVirus

    June 3, 2022

    AA Bronson is a Canadian artist and member of General Idea, a collaboration with Felix Partz (1945-1994) and Jorge Zontal (1944-1994) that produced influential work between 1969 and 1994. In 1987, General Idea created a painting that mimicked Robert Indiana’s famous 1966 painting, but replaced the word “LOVE” with “AIDS.” The “AIDS” logo was reproduced on a variety of mediums, including... Read more

  • Idd gurdeep still 1-2

    International Dance Day: Dance for Joy

    April 28, 2022

    Celebrate International Dance Day with social media sensation Gurdeep Pandher from the Yukon. Initiated in 1982 by the International Dance Committee of the UNESCO International Theatre Institute, International Dance Day falls on April 29 of every year, commemorating the birthday of distinguished choreographer Jean-Georges Noverre. This year, NAC Dance is thrilled to feature Gurdeep Pandher in celebration of his remarkable ability to... Read more

  • Wtd-lantern-page-2022-grid-images-1-2

    World Theatre Day: Taking Centre Stage

    March 25, 2022

    This year for World Theatre Day, we asked ourselves what we wanted to celebrate after two years of great insecurity for theatre makers in our country. We chose to turn to the next generation of artists and creators. To these young people who have graduated from theatre schools across the country into a world that was crumbling and in which... Read more

  • Yearend lantern thumbnail

    My Journey Through Colours

    December 3, 2021

    Deaf (Ghanaian-born) Toronto visual artist Peter Owusu-Ansah believes we can communicate through our eyes, not just words. His beautiful works vibrate with colour and energy. A series of new digital works by the award-winning artist will be featured on the National Arts Centre’s Kipnes Lantern during the 2021 holiday season and throughout 2022. Titled My Journey Through Colours, his creations explore themes of connection... Read more

  • Chosen-family-5-margot-durling

    Chosen Family

    November 30, 2021

    This summer, an animation of Chosen Family, a permanent installation in Halifax/Kjipuktuk by non-binary, transgender and queer artist Mr. Margot Durling will be adapted to illuminate the Kipnes Lantern. The vibrant work is a colourful celebration of gender identities, sexualities, and relationships. Durling is a visual artist and Creative Director at Fathom Studio in Dartmouth who were recently shortlisted to design a National Monument... Read more

  • Chh thumb

    Colour, Health, Hope

    February 23, 2021

    The NAC recently commissioned the art installation called Colour, Health, Hope from Jacquie Comrie, an acclaimed Toronto-based multidisciplinary artist. Centred on colour, this vibrant, visually powerful installation was created as a tool for wellness and hope during a difficult time. Colour, Health, Hope features eight unique creations, each of which centres on a particular colour, its associated attributes, and effects on well-being. “With a surge of COVID-19... Read more

  • Light up purple-snowflake1 credit david leclerc

    World Mental Health Day

    October 10, 2020

    World Mental Health Day provides an opportunity for stakeholders working on mental health issues to talk about their work and what more needs to be done to support those suffering from this serious health issue. The NAC will “Light Up Purple” today, to raise awareness about the issue of mental illness and the impact it has on the lives of... Read more

• Genetikos II

    1 juin 2023

    En juin et août 2023 l’œuvre de Richard Heikkilä-Sawan, Genetikos II, a été présentée sur la Lanterne Kipnes. Richard Heikkilä-Sawan est un artiste bispirituel connu pour ses œuvres inspirantes et éclatantes. Adopté par une famille mennonite, ce natif de Vancouver a longtemps ignoré ses racines autochtones. Dans ses œuvres, il explore les thèmes de l’identité, de la race et des idéologies... En savoir plus

  • Mois de l’histoire des Noirs : Onah

    27 février 2023

    En février 2023, les couleurs afrofuturistes de l’œuvre Onah de Jimmy Baptiste a été exposée sur la lanterne Kipnes du CNA. L’œuvre a été commandée spécialement par le CNA à l’occasion du Mois de l’histoire des Noirs. Si on le connaît surtout comme artiste muraliste et graffiti, Jimmy Baptiste travaille depuis près de 20 ans auprès des jeunes avec des projets de murales autant à Montréal qu’à... En savoir plus

  • VideoVirus

    3 juin 2022

    AA Bronson est un artiste canadien membre de General Idea, un collectif d’artistes qu’il a formé avec Felix Partz (1945-1994) et Jorge Zontal (1944-1994) et qui a produit des œuvres marquantes de 1969 à 1994. En 1987, General Idea détourne la célèbre toile de Robert Indiana peinte en 1966 en remplaçant le mot « LOVE » par « AIDS » (SIDA). Ce logo est décliné sur une multitude... En savoir plus

  • Journée internationale de la danse : Dansez de joie

    28 avril 2022

    Célébrez la Journée internationale de la danse avec la sensation des réseaux sociaux, Gurdeep Pandher du Yukon.  Initiée en 1982 par le Comité international de la Danse de l’Institut International du Théâtre de l’UNESCO, la Journée internationale de la danse est fêtée chaque année le 29 avril, commémorant l’anniversaire de l'éminent chorégraphe Jean-Georges Noverre.  Cette année, Danse CNA est ravi de célébrer... En savoir plus

  • Journée mondiale du théâtre : Bientôt sur scene

    25 mars 2022

    Cette année pour la Journée mondiale du Théâtre, nous nous sommes demandé ce que nous voulions célébrer après deux années de grande fragilité. C’est vers une nouvelle génération d’artistes, de créateurs et de créatrices que nous avons choisi de nous tourner. Vers ces jeunes qui sont sortis des écoles de théâtre partout au pays dans un monde qui s’écroulait et... En savoir plus

  • Ma traversée des couleurs

    3 décembre 2021

    Le Torontois Peter Owusu-Ansah, un artiste visuel sourd d’origine ghanéenne, croit que la communication passe par les yeux, et non uniquement par les mots. Ses œuvres magnifiques sont vibrantes de couleur et d’énergie.  Une série de nouvelles œuvres numériques de cet artiste primé sera présentée sur les écrans de la Lanterne Kipnes du Centre national des Arts en décembre 2021 et... En savoir plus

  • Famille Choisie

    30 novembre 2021

    Cet été, une version animée de l’installation de Halifax Famille choisie, de l’artiste non binaire, trans et queer Margot Durling, illuminera la Lanterne Kipnes. Cette œuvre dynamique et haute en couleur célèbre les liens d’appartenance et la diversité des genres, des sexualités et des relations humaines. Durling est visualiste et responsable de la direction artistique du Fathom Studio à Dartmouth. Pour l’installation originale (exposée... En savoir plus

  • Couleurs, bien-être et espoir

    23 février 2021

    L’installation Couleurs, bien-être et espoir a été commandée par le CNA à Jacquie Comrie, artiste multidisciplinaire réputée de Toronto. Visuellement percutante et pleine de vitalité, cette œuvre centrée sur les couleurs a été créée pour favoriser le bien-être et l’espoir, indispensables à l’heure actuelle. Couleurs, bien-être et espoir comprend huit créations uniques, chacune centrée sur une coleur, ses qualités et ses effets positifs sur le... En savoir plus

  • Journée de la santé mentale

    10 octobre 2020

    Le 10 octobre est une occasion pour les travailleurs du domaine de la santé mentale de sensibiliser la population à l’importance de leur travail et à ce qui doit être fait pour apporter un plus grand soutien aux personnes atteintes de maladies mentales. Le CNA « éclairera le monde en violet » aujourd’hui pour sensibiliser la population aux enjeux de la maladie... En savoir plus