Chosen Family

Margot Durling

This summer, an animation of Chosen Family, a permanent installation in Halifax/Kjipuktuk by non-binary, transgender and queer artist Mr. Margot Durling will be adapted to illuminate the Kipnes Lantern. The vibrant work is a colourful celebration of gender identities, sexualities, and relationships.

Durling is a visual artist and Creative Director at Fathom Studio in Dartmouth who were recently shortlisted to design a National Monument for the 2SLGBTQIA+ community in Ottawa.

For the original installation (at the Halifax Common), Durling playfully altered the traditional female and male symbols to create a colourful alphabet—a universal language that speaks to our interconnectedness.

“The whole idea behind the installation is to invite people to think beyond the binary. While the term non-binary is relatively new, gender non-conforming people have actually existed for a long time,” explained Durling, who uses they/them pronouns.

Positive representations can play an important role in creating an environment of acceptance, inclusion and belonging—especially for those who have historically been excluded, marginalized, or misrepresented. 

Chosen Family by Margot Durling, digital installation on the NAC Kipnes Lantern Greg MacKay
Chosen Family by Margot Durling, digital installation on the NAC Kipnes Lantern Greg MacKay
Chosen Family by Margot Durling, digital installation on the NAC Kipnes Lantern Greg MacKay

Explore more Kipnes lantern projects

Menu

Famille Choisie

Margot Durling

Cet été, une version animée de l’installation de Halifax Famille choisie, de l’artiste non binaire, trans et queer Margot Durling, illuminera la Lanterne Kipnes. Cette œuvre dynamique et haute en couleur célèbre les liens d’appartenance et la diversité des genres, des sexualités et des relations humaines.

Durling est visualiste et responsable de la direction artistique du Fathom Studio à Dartmouth. Pour l’installation originale (exposée au parc Halifax Common), l’artiste a ludiquement modifié les symboles (glyphes) féminin et masculin traditionnels pour créer un alphabet coloré ou langage universel reflétant toute la diversité des genres et des orientations sexuelles ainsi que les liens qui les unissent.

« L’installation vise à pousser la réflexion au-delà de la binarité. J’ai déconstruit les stéréotypes et symboles sexuels traditionnels pour brouiller délibérément les cartes et inciter les gens à libérer leur pensée du masculin et du féminin », explique Durling, qui utilise des pronoms non genrés. 

L’artiste a créé cette œuvre en explorant le rôle important que la visibilité et des représentations positives du genre et de la sexualité peuvent jouer dans la création d’un environnement bienveillant et accueillant, surtout pour les personnes qui ont historiquement souffert d’exclusion, de marginalisation et de fausses représentations.

Famille Choisie de Margot Durling, exposée sur la Lanterne Kipnes Greg MacKay
Famille Choisie de Margot Durling, exposée sur la Lanterne Kipnes Greg MacKay
Famille Choisie de Margot Durling, exposée sur la Lanterne Kipnes Greg MacKay

Explorez d’autres projets de la Lanterne

Menu