October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
  • Creator, writer and director Daniele Bartolini

The Spectators’ Odyssey - o dell’Inferno is a contemporary, audience-specific experience that invites participants to travel behind the scenes of a theatrical space and its surroundings to make them the central character in the narrative they experience. Audience members voyage to the remote parts of the backstage of the theatre – across the stage, dressing rooms, auditoriums, rehearsal halls, fire exits and other unexpected and secret locations.

An adaptation of the Homeric Odyssey and Dante’s Inferno, the project borrows the great sense of wonder of these poems with the audience becoming a modern Ulysses, a voyager.  The Spectators’ Odyssey - o dell’Inferno is deeply enriched by the participation of the audience as it unfolds, and as they bring themselves into the piece – their life, their stories, their emotions – the show becomes a platform for exploring their own personal odyssey” and inferno”.

© Maddalena Vallecchi Williams

Company

DopoLavoro Teatrale (DLT) is an international award winning artistic project devoted to audience specific creations and multidisciplinary contemporary performance. Presenting shows that roam anywhere, such as alleyways and hidden corners of Toronto, foggy canals in East in London, ancient markets and secret beaches in Mumbai, deconsecrated churches in the old town of Florence and exceptional showcases such as La Biennale di Venezia, DLT pursue an artistic discourse that places the spectators at its centre.

The company creates anything from theatre shows and installations to fully interactive, urban-immersive creations designed for one single audience member at a time that encounter performers emerging from the crowded streets. Whatever the form, the audience always plays a pivotal role in DLTs work and the company continues to explore, experiment with, and push the boundaries of the relationship between artists and audiences.

DLT is particularly attentive to the world of newcomers in Canada, often using shows as a catalyst for intercultural exchange. The company manages complex site-specific shows that bring together non-professional performers alongside professional artists with particular attention to social inclusion.

Founded in 2006 in Florence, Italy by Artistic Director Daniele Bartolini, DLT is now based in Toronto. Their work has been defined by The New York Times as “an especially intriguing investigation” and as “the theatre of the future” by Italian art magazine PaneAcquaCulture.

Creative team

  • Creator, writer and director Daniele Bartolini
  • Choreographer and dancer Esie Mensah
  • Video director Bruce McDonald
  • Assistant director and lead actor Maddalena Vallecchi Williams
  • Lead actor and poet Luke Reece
  • Lead actor and associate artist Danya Buonastella
  • Sound engineer and composer Matteo Ciardi
  • Lighting design Marco Santambrogio
  • Composers Andrea Gozzi and Fred Péloquin

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Funds investment of $175,000 supports the completion of an extended residency during the final phase of the projects development, with additional time in the venue to experiment with the various technical elements, extended testing with an invited audience, and final revisions in advance of the premiere.

Credits

Produced by DopoLavoro Teatrale, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund and TO Live.

Developed with support from the Canada Council for the Arts, Villa Charities Inc., Istituto Italiano di Cultura, and the Embassy of Italy in Ottawa.

Performance dates

November 2 to 14, 2021:  World premiere, St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts (Toronto), presented by TO Live.

Articles & reviews


Menu

• Créateur, auteur et metteur en scène Daniele Bartolini

The Spectators’ Odyssey - o dell’Inferno est une expérience contemporaine, adaptée au public, qui invite les participants à s’aventurer dans les coulisses d’un espace théâtral pour devenir le personnage principal du récit qu’ils vivent. Les membres du public voyagent dans les parties les plus reculées des coulisses du théâtre - à travers la scène, les loges, les auditoriums, les salles de répétition, les sorties de secours et d’autres endroits inattendus et secrets.

Une adaptation de l’Odyssée homérique et de l’Enfer de Dante, le projet emprunte le grand sens d’émerveillement de ces poèmes, le public devenant un Ulysse moderne, un voyageur. The Spectators’ Odyssey - o dell’Inferno est profondément enrichie par la participation des spectateurs au fil du spectacle, et au fur et à mesure qu’ils y introduisent leur vie, leurs histoires, leurs émotions, le spectacle devient une plateforme pour explorer leur propre « odyssée » et « enfer ». 

© Maddalena Vallecchi Williams

Compagnie

DopoLavoro Teatrale (DLT) est un projet artistique international primé qui se consacre aux créations adaptées au public et aux prestations contemporaines multidisciplinaires. Présentant des spectacles qui se déplacent partout, comme dans les ruelles et les coins cachés de Toronto, les canaux brumeux de l’est de Londres, les marchés anciens et les plages secrètes de Mumbai, les églises sécularisées de la vieille ville de Florence et les vitrines exceptionnelles comme la Biennale de Venise, DLT poursuit un discours artistique qui place les spectateurs en son centre.

La compagnie crée des spectacles de théâtre, des installations et des créations urbaines immersives entièrement interactives, conçues pour un seul spectateur à la fois, qui rencontrent des artistes émergeant des rues bondées. Quelle que soit la forme, le public joue toujours un rôle central dans le travail de DLT et la compagnie continue d’explorer, d’expérimenter et de repousser les limites de la relation entre les artistes et le public.

DLT est particulièrement attentif au monde des nouveaux arrivants au Canada, utilisant souvent les spectacles comme catalyseur d’échanges interculturels. La compagnie gère des spectacles complexes, spécifiques à un site, qui réunissent des artistes non professionnels et des artistes professionnels, avec une attention particulière pour l’inclusion sociale.

Fondée en 2006 à Florence, en Italie, par le directeur artistique Daniele Bartolini, DLT est maintenant basée à Toronto. Leur travail a été défini par le New York Times comme « une enquête particulièrement intrigante » et comme « le théâtre du futur » par le magazine d’art italien PaneAcquaCulture.

Équipe artistique

  • Créateur, auteur et metteur en scène Daniele Bartolini
  • Chorégraphe et danseuse Esie Mensah
  • Réalisateur vidéo Bruce McDonald
  • Adjointe à la mise en scène et comédienne principale Maddalena Vallecchi Williams
  • Comédien principal et poète Luke Reece
  • Comédien principal et artiste associé Danya Buonastella
  • Ingénieur de son et compositeur Matteo Ciardi
  • Éclairages Marco Santambrogio
  • Compositeurs Andrea Gozzi et Fred Péloquin

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 175 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra l’achèvement d’une résidence prolongée pendant la phase finale du développement du projet, avec du temps supplémentaire en salle pour des expériences avec divers éléments techniques, des essais devant un public invité et des révisions finales avant la première.

Reconnaissance

Produit par DopoLavoro Teatrale, en partenariat avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts et TO Live.

Développé avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada, Villa Charities Inc., Istituto Italiano di Cultura, et l’Ambassade d’Italie à Ottawa.

Représentations

30 août au 1er septembre 2022:  Inaf Osservatorio Astrofisico, Arcetri (Florence)

2 au 14 novembre 2021: Première mondiale, St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts (Toronto), présenté par TO Live.


Menu