Rome

Sibyllines Montreal
  • Directed by Brigitte Haentjens
  • Written by Jean Marc Dalpé

ROME. Beneath this title lies an epic brimming with reflections on power, democracy and the paradoxes these issues raise. By combining in a single evening The Rape of Lucrece, Coriolanus, Titus Andronicus, Julius Caesar and Antony and Cleopatra - Shakespeare’s five Roman tragedies - the project delves into the rise and fall of Roman civilization, a world where chaos is born of the struggle for power between various factions.

Governance, opportunism, contempt for the people, personal and political violence: humanity in all its complexity grapples with its afflictions. The harsh and lucid relevance of Shakespeare’s works is clear, and everything in these texts, from the decline of the elites to the very rejection of democracy, reflects our times and their turbulence.

Company

Independent and uncompromising, Sibyllines is a driving force in the cultural milieu; the company’s commitment to new work allows a unique voice to emerge. In a world marked by a loss of reference points and an overabundance of information, the works of Sibyllines investigate notions of power, domination and subjugation, while relentlessly questioning our relationship to the body, sexuality and intimacy. Few theatre companies have given as much prominence to women artists: over the years, Brigitte Haentjens has staged the words of Sarah Kane, Louise Dupré, Sylvia Plath, Sophie Calle, Patti Smith and other female writers.

Through the determination that is central to Haentjens’ work, the company strives to break down boundaries both ideological and artistic while taking a consistently lucid and inquisitive approach to the creative act.

Creative team

  • Directed by Brigitte Haentjens
  • Written by Jean Marc Dalpé
  • Assistant director Félix Dagenais
  • Dramaturg Mélanie Dumont
  • Sets Anick La Bissonnière
  • Lighting Julie Basse
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Costumes Yso
  • Musical director Bernard Falaise
  • Sound Fredéric Auger
  • Movement consultant Harold Rhéaume
  • Props Julie Measroch
  • Technical director Jérémi Guilbault-Asselin
  • Production director Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Production assistant Félix-Antoine Gauthier
  • Administrative director Émilie Martel

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $150,000 makes it possible for the creative team to dedicate additional time to develop and refine the script, including a dramaturgical workshop. This will be followed by extensive work on staging, with a creation workshop with the cast and a technical residency with the creative team.  In the final development phase, the creators will explore the integration of live music and a choir.     

Credits

The project Rome is co-produced by Sibyllines, Usine C and NAC French Theatre.

Developed with assistance from the National Arts Centre's National Creation Fund.

Sibyllines is funded by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec and the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Performance dates

April 5 to 16, 2023:  World premiere, Usine C (Montreal)

May 6 to 8, 2023:  Babs Asper Theatre, National Arts Centre


Menu

Rome

Sibyllines Montréal
  • Mise en scène Brigitte Haentjens
  • Texte Jean Marc Dalpé

ROME. Sous ce titre, se cache une épopée chargée de réflexions sur le pouvoir, la démocratie et les paradoxes que ces questions soulèvent. Réunir dans une même soirée Le viol de Lucrèce, Coriolan, Titus Andronicus, Jules César et Antoine et Cléopatre, ces cinq tragédies romaines de Shakespeare, c’est plonger dans l’ascension puis la chute de la civilisation romaine, un monde où le chaos naît des luttes des différentes factions pour se saisir du pouvoir.

Gouvernance, opportunisme, mépris du peuple, violence intime et politique; l’humanité dans toute sa complexité s’y retrouve aux prises avec ses affres. La cruelle et lucide actualité des œuvres de Shakespeare n’est plus à démontrer, et tout, dans ces textes, de la déchéance des élites jusqu'au refus même de la démocratie, parle de notre époque et des soubresauts qui l'agitent.

Compagnie

Libre et sans compromis, la compagnie Sibyllines incarne une force vive du milieu culturel, où l’engagement à l’égard de la création permet l’éclosion d’une parole singulière. Au sein d’un monde marqué par la perte de repères et la surenchère d’informations, les œuvres de Sibyllines questionnent les notions de pouvoir, de domination et d’asservissement, tout en interrogeant sans relâche le rapport à la corporalité, la sexualité et l’intimité. D’ailleurs, peu de compagnies de théâtre ont autant mis de l’avant la création féminine. Ainsi, au fil des ans, Brigitte Haentjens a mis en scène les mots de Sarah Kane, Louise Dupré, Sylvia Plath, Sophie Calle, Patti Smith et d’autres écrivaines.

C’est par le truchement de cette volonté si centrale au travail de Brigitte Haentjens que la compagnie travaille à l’éclatement des frontières, tant idéologiques qu’artistiques, tout en conservant un regard lucide et curieux face à l’acte créatif.

Équipe artistique

  • Mise en scène Brigitte Haentjens
  • Texte Jean Marc Dalpé
  • Assistance mise en scène Félix Dagenais
  • Dramaturgie Mélanie Dumont
  • Scénographie Anick La Bissonnière
  • Lumière Julie Basse
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Costumes Yso
  • Direction musicale Bernard Falaise
  • Sonorisation Fredéric Auger
  • Collaboration en mouvement Harold Rhéaume
  • Accessoires Julie Measroch
  • Direction technique Jérémi Guilbault-Asselin
  • Direction de production Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Adjoint de production Félix-Antoine Gauthier
  • Direction administrative Émilie Martel

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 150 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à l’équipe de création de développer et de remanier le texte, y compris d’organiser la tenue d’un atelier de dramaturgie. Il s’agira également de revoir complètement la mise en scène, au moyen d’un atelier de création réunissant les interprètes et d’une résidence technique avec l’équipe de création. Pour la dernière phase du projet, les créateurs exploreront l’intégration de musique en direct et d’un chœur.   

Reconnaissance

Le projet Rome est une coproduction de Sibyllines, l’Usine C et du Théâtre français du CNA.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Sibyllines est soutenue par la Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec et le Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Représentations

5 au 16 avril 2023:  Première mondiale, Usine C (Montréal)

6 au 8 mai 2023:  Théâtre Babs Asper, Centre national des Arts


Menu