Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Alone Together

Secret Theatre Kjipuktuk/Halifax
  • Creative Director Dustin Harvey (Secret Theatre)
  • Head of Production Jon Meggitt (Arcade )

Alone Together is a means to meet and engage with virtual beings while navigating what is real.  This self-generated performance, led by Secret Theatre’s Dustin Harvey, incorporates cutting-edge augmented reality, voice recognition, artificial intelligence and hologram production and combines them with theatrical storytelling and audience interactions. 

Inspired by the concept of a family rental agency that provides fake family members to lonely people seeking companionship, Alone Together offers unpredictable, seemingly spontaneous narratives and invites the audience member to take on one of the roles. Brief yet emotionally arresting, innovative yet surprisingly familiar, the project is accessible and inclusive in ways that traditional culture sometimes fails to be. 

Company

Secret Theatre creates new ways of being together while shedding light on how it is we've grown apart. Established in 2003 as a vehicle for the theatre projects of Kjipuktuk/Halifax-based actor/writer/tinkerer Dustin Harvey, Secret Theatre has grown to encompass a myriad of people and places come, gone and soon to be. Each production is about creating meaningful, shared experiences that are thoughtful, intimate, and temporary. 

Moving between diverse contexts like dance, live art, public art, media art and performance, Secret Theatre projects have been presented at internationally recognized festivals and events in Wales, Denmark, Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, and Canada. 

Creative team

  • Creative Director Dustin Harvey (Secret Theatre)
  • Head of Production Jon Meggitt (Arcade )
  • Film Production Taylor Olson and Koumbie (Afro Viking Pictures) 
  • Project Manager, UK Olivia  Hinkin 
  • Associate Producer, UK Angela Chan
  • AR Developer Shahd Sherief
  • AR Designer Abbie Peach
  • UX Architect Jagoda Wrobel
  • Graphic Designer Aiden Searle
  • Project Mentor Zillah Watson

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $80,000 will enhance the app’s interactive and video elements, including additional time for the technical team to further test and refine the story engine’s AI architecture and further expand the story through the creation of introduction and onboarding videos.  

Credits

Produced by Secret Theatre, in collaboration with Arcade and Afro Viking Pictures. 

Production partners:  UK-Canada Immersive Exchange in partnership with Canada Media Fund, Arts Council England, Canada Council for the Arts, StoryFutures Academy and the Canadian Film Centre. Presentation support from Arts Nova Scotia and the City of Halifax.  

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Performance dates

Premiering in 2022.


Menu

Alone Together

Secret Theatre Kjipuktuk/Halifax
  • Direction artistique  Dustin  Harvey (Secret Theatre)
  • Responsable de production  Jon  Meggitt (Arcade )

Alone Together permet de rencontrer des êtres virtuels et d’interagir avec eux, tout en demeurant bien ancré dans le monde réel.Cette prestation autoproduite par Dustin Harvey du Secret Theatre allie réalité virtuelle, reconnaissance vocale, intelligence artificielle et hologrammes à la fine pointe de la technologie dans une production qui réunit mise en récit théâtrale et interactions avec le public. 

S’inspirant de l’idée d’une agence de location familiale – offrant aux personnes esseulées en quête de compagnie de louer les membres d’une famille – Alone Together propose des récits imprévisibles, apparemment spontanés, et invite les auditoires à jouer des rôles. Bref mais puissant, innovateur mais étonnamment familier, ce projet est plus accessible et inclusif que la culture traditionnelle peut l’être. 

Compagnie

Secret Theatre (site Web en anglais seulement) crée de nouvelles façons de se réunir tout en faisant la lumière sur ce qui nous éloigne. Fondé à l’origine en 2003 par Dustin Harvey, artiste touche-à-tout à la fois bricoleur, acteur et auteur établi à Kjipuktuk/Halifax pour y monter ses pièces, Secret Theatre est un projet en évolution autour duquel gravite nombre d’artistes. Chaque production vise à proposer des expériences enrichissantes communes à la fois sensibles, intimes et éphémères.  

Danse, performance, arts vivants, publics et médiatiques, les projets du Secret Theatre se démarquent par leur grande interdisciplinarité. Ils sont à l’affiche d’événements et de festivals internationaux de renom au pays de Galles, au Danemark, en Irlande, en Islande, en Écosse et au Canada.  

Équipe artistique

  • Direction artistique  Dustin  Harvey (Secret Theatre)
  • Responsable de production  Jon  Meggitt (Arcade )
  • Équipe de production du film  Taylor  Olson et Koumbie (Afro Viking Pictures )
  • Gestionnaire de projet, Royaume-Uni  Olivia Hinkin 
  • Soutien à la production, Royaume-Uni  Angela Chan
  • Développement de réalité augmentée  Shahd Sherief
  • Conception de réalité augmentée  Abbie Peach
  • Architecte de l'expérience utilisateur  Jagoda Wrobel
  • Graphiste  Aiden Searle
  • Mentore du projet Zillah Watson

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 80 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra d’améliorer les éléments vidéo et interactifs de l’application, de procéder à des essais supplémentaires, de peaufiner l’architecture de l’intelligence artificielle du générateur de récits et d’enrichir les créations par l’ajout de vidéos de présentation et de collaboration.   

Reconnaissance

Une production du Secret Theatre en collaboration avec Arcade et Afro Viking Pictures. 

Une production du Programme d’échange immersif canado-britannique en partenariat avec le Fonds des médias du Canada, l’Art Council England, le Conseil des arts du Canada, la StoryFuturesAcademy et le Centre canadien du film.Avec le soutien de Arts Nova Scotia et de la ville de Halifax pour la présentation.   

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Représentations

Première prévue en 2022. 


Menu