Obeah Opera

Asah Productions Toronto
  • Conceived, Written and Composed by Nicole Brooks

Obeah Opera is a hand-clapping, foot-stomping, spirit-lifting, magical musical sensation.  Steeped in Black music, sung entirely a cappella by a powerful, diverse all-female cast, Obeah Opera is a retelling of the legendary Salem witch trials from the fascinating perspective of Caribbean slave women who also lived in the town.    

The cast of 20 acts as both orchestra and musical leads, uniquely boasting the heritage of African Canadian Caribbean immigrants telling the tale of slavery from a different vantage point.  It redefines the opera form by moving away from its European classical standard and implementing an array of different musical genres mostly found in Black music, such as spirituals, jazz, gospel and traditional African and Caribbean folk.

© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig

Company

Founded by Nicole Brooks, Asah Productions is a multi-disciplinary company that creates, develops and produces work across the artistic spectrum, including film and television production, musical theatre and opera.

Creative team

  • Conceived, Written and Composed by Nicole Brooks
  • Director Lezlie Wade
  • Co-Director and Choreographer Anthony “Prime” Guerra
  • Music Director Melanie DeMore
  • Lighting Design Bonnie Beecher
  • Set and Costume Design Robin Fisher
  • Dramaturg djanet sears
  • Produced by Asah Productions

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $195,000 will support the addition of dramaturgy and a workshop to refine the script and score, extensive workshops with the choreographer and cast to create dance elements, and a technical residency and workshop time to incorporate the new material into the final production.

Credits

Commissioned and presented by Luminato.

Supported by the Canada Council for the Arts’ New Chapter program, Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Arts Council, Soulpepper Theatre Company, Harbourfront Centre, Fall for Dance North Festival and Renette & David Berman.  Developed with support from the NAC’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

June 13 to 22, 2019: Fleck Dance Theatre (Toronto), presented by Luminato


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Obeah Opera

Asah Productions Toronto
  • Création, composition, production et interprétation Nicole Brooks

L’œuvre Obeah Opera apporte une sensation de magie musicale, élève votre esprit et transmet une énergie qui fait taper du pied et des mains. Imprégnée de musique noire, interprétée tout en puissance a cappella par une distribution féminine diversifiée, Obeah Opera revisite les légendaires procès des sorcières de Salem en adoptant le point de vue d’une esclave antillaise ayant également vécu dans cette ville.

La distribution de 20 chanteuses agit aussi bien comme orchestre que comme formation musicale, mettant en évidence de façon unique le patrimoine d’immigrants canadiens issus d’Afrique et des Antilles, présentant l’histoire de l’esclavagisme sous un autre jour. Il redéfinit l’art de l’opéra en s’éloignant de la classique norme européenne et ayant recours à un éventail de styles musicaux différents, principalement dérivés de la musique noire, notamment du negro-spiritual, du jazz, du gospel ainsi que du folk traditionnel africain et antillais.

© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig
© Racheal McCaig

Compagnie

Fondée par Nicole Brooks, Asah Productions est une compagnie pluridisciplinaire qui crée, développe et produit des œuvres dans tous les secteurs artistiques, incluant le cinéma, la télévision, la comédie musicale et l’opéra.

Équipe artistique

  • Création, composition, production et interprétation Nicole Brooks
  • Mise en scène Lezlie Wade
  • Mise en scène et chorégraphie Anthony “Prime” Guerra
  • Direction musicale Melanie DeMore
  • Éclairage Bonnie Beecher
  • Décors et costumes Robin Fisher
  • Dramaturgie djanet sears
  • Production Asah Productions

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 195 000 dollars du Fonds national de création a financé l’ajout de dramaturgie et d’un atelier permettant d’affiner le scénario et la trame sonore, d’ateliers prolongés avec le chorégraphe et la distribution favorisant la création d’éléments de danse, d’une résidence technique et de temps d’atelier qui a servi à l’intégration du nouveau matériel pour la production finale.

Reconnaissance

Commandé et présenté par Luminato.

Avec le soutien du programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, du Toronto Arts Council, de la Soulpepper Theatre Company, du Harbourfront Centre, de Fall for Dance North Festival et de Renette & David Berman.


Mises à jour

15 juillet 2019

The first woman accused of witchcraft in Salem was an enslaved Caribbean. This opera tells her story

Par: Lucius Dechausay En Anglais seulement  You may have seen Obeah Opera's world premiere at Luminato a few weeks ago, but if you know about its decade long journey to get to that stage, you may think creator and composer Nicole Brooks conjured up some Black girl magic. "It's... Plus

17 juin 2019

Luminato brings a new version of the a cappella telling of the Salem Witch trials to Toronto

Par: Wayne Leung En Anglais seulement  Obeah Opera tells the story of the Salem witch trials from the perspective of the first woman accused: a Caribbean slave named Tituba. Sung through entirely a cappella, the latest incarnation of this surprisingly vibrant and uplifting show... Plus

5 juin 2019

Pensées éclairantes : Nicole Brooks discute d’Obeah Opera

Il y a dix ans, on lui a dit que ça ne pourrait jamais être réalisé — c’était trop gros, trop inusité, trop diversifié, trop axé sur les femmes. Aujourd’hui, l’artiste Nicole Brooks se réjouit du succès de sa création, Obeah Opera.  Par : Nicole Brooks La créatrice... Plus

voir tout ›

Représentations

Performances précédentes

13 au 22 juin 2019: Fleck Dance Theatre (Toronto), présenté par Luminato


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel

Vous êtes maintenant inscrit-e. Merci!

Menu