A pulsating beat of humanity in a social symphony perpetually under construction, Symphony of hearts proposes a storm of bodies, sound compositions and immersive visual projections inspired by demographic data.

This large-scale production with a cast of 80 artists (60 musicians and 20 dancers) will attempt to shed light and transform the stage into a gigantic heart that invites the audience to become aware of these rhythmic investigations into the defects of the heart and the defects of society. The tension of a dancer–musician duet, a decagon of violins in an accelerating accompaniment to the plural bodies of Rhodnie Désir in balance, the tremolos of 20 dancers in the orchestra pit silently beating out the rhythm: the collective result will burst forth like an ode to the power of the heart.

© Interprètes : Greg «krypto» Selinger, Camille Gendron, Jessica Gauthier, Aurélie Ann Figaro, Aly Keita, Sphynx Church, Mya T. Metellus, Abe Simon Mijnheer
© Interprètes : Greg «krypto» Selinger, Camille Gendron, Jessica Gauthier, Aurélie Ann Figaro, Aly Keita, Sphynx Church, Mya T. Metellus, Abe Simon Mijnheer
© Interprètes : Greg «krypto» Selinger, Camille Gendron, Jessica Gauthier, Aurélie Ann Figaro, Aly Keita, Sphynx Church, Mya T. Metellus, Abe Simon Mijnheer
© Interprètes : Greg «krypto» Selinger, Camille Gendron, Jessica Gauthier, Aurélie Ann Figaro, Aly Keita, Sphynx Church, Mya T. Metellus, Abe Simon Mijnheer
© Rencontre entre Rhodnie Désir et Serge Doucet, cardiologue et directeur de l'enseignement à l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.
© Recherche au bloc opératoire de l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.
© Rencontre avec Julie Robillard, radiologue spécialitée cardio-thoracique l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.

Company

Since 2017, RD Creations produces and presents creative projects by artistic director and choreographer Rhodnie Désir. Simultaneously authentic and contemporary, the Montreal-based organization operates internationally using an innovative artistic approach that questions socio political trends, explores movement, defies the imagination, engages citizens, transmits knowledge while archiving the memory of its people. Rhodnie’s choreographic-documentary work is quite unique and unlike anything seen before.

Each of its works aspires to be a voice for the voiceless and to engage directly with the communities from which it draws its inspiration. Whether through presentations, grassroots-level cultural mediation or choreographic works, RD Creations acts as a social archive, leaving a legacy of cultural wealth. It believes in the potential of combining multiple media in the same choreographic work, allowing it to evolve according to the social realities and cultures it encounters.

Deeply rooted in ancestral cultures, RD Creations is committed to respecting cultures by fostering genuine collaborations and prioritizing listening, discussion and interaction. These collaborations take place in and across political, media, government, social and community spheres, leading to valuable partnerships - for example, with 45 partners, 130 specialists and 15 musicians for the BOW’T TRAIL project.​

Creative team

  • Creative director, choreographer and vocal composer Rhodnie Désir
  • Principal conductor in Montreal Yannick Nézet-Séguin
  • Conductor Naomi Woo
  • Musical and vocal composer Jorane
  • Beatmaker and sound designer Engone Endong
  • Orchestrator François Vallières
  • Costume designer Mélanie Ferrero
  • Scenographer Olivier Landreville
  • Lighting designer Chantal Labonté
  • Video/digital designer Chélanie Beaudin-Quintin
  • Creative support Isabelle Poirier
  • Musicians Orchestre Métropolitain (à Montréal) / Orchestre du Centre National des Arts d’Ottawa (à Ottawa) / Orchestra della Svizzera italiana de Lugano (à Lugano) et House Band de RD Créations (Engone Endong, Lasso Sanou) for all dates
  • Dancers Marilyne Cyr, Mara Dupas, Camille Gendron, Aly Keita, Luce Lainé, Emmanuelle Martin, Mya Metellus, Carlos-Alexis Mendoza-Bustinza, Ernesto Queseda Perez, Greg «Krypto» Selinger, Abe Simon Mijnheer
  • Associate producer and technical director Frédérick Lalonde (JKFL Production), Julie Abran
  • Production officer Julie Abran - JKFL Production
  • Production manager Cécile Doo-Kingué - RD Créations
  • Communications officer Caroline Rousseau - RD Créations
  • Consultant Production and Touring Corinne Jozsef
  • Representation agency Avec Sheila
  • Development agency EUROPE Agence Mickaël Spinnhirny

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $215,000 supports an extensive research and creation period extending over three years. Through workshops, trials and learning, the creative team and artists will find the unique shared language that will inform and support the construction of the work.  The investment will also support the development of large-format digital projections, and provide additional time to develop the original music and orchestral arrangements. 

Credits

Co-producers and diffusers: Danse Danse, National Arts Centre, LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura

Artistic associate: Orchestre Métropolitain

Main Partners: National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund, National Film Board and Canada Council for the Arts. 

Creative Partners: Montreal Heart Institute, Place des Arts and Conseil des Arts de Montréal. 

Past performances

Symphonie de cœurs

RD Créations Montréal

Battement chavirant d’humanité dans cette symphonie sociale constamment en construction, Symphonie de cœurs propose une tempête de corps, de compositions sonores et de projections visuelles immersives inspirées de données citoyennes.

Ce grand geste de 80 artistes (60 musicien·ne·s et 20 danseur·euse·s) tentera de poser de la lumière et de transformer la scène en grand cœur afin que les spectateur·rice·s prennent acte de ces climats rythmiques interrogeant les failles du cœur conjointement aux failles sociales. Tantôt tensions d’un duo danseuse-musicien, décagone de violons accélérant sur les corps pluriels de Rhodnie Désir en équilibre, tremolos de 20 danseur·euse·s dans la fosse orchestrale battant le geste en silence: la somme jaillira telle une ode à la force du cœur. 

Rhodnie Désir © Marjorie Guindon
Rencontre entre Rhodnie Désir et Serge Doucet, cardiologue et directeur de l'enseignement à l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.
Recherche au bloc opératoire de l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.
Rencontre avec Julie Robillard, radiologue spécialitée cardio-thoracique l'Institut de cardiologie de Montréal.

Compagnie

Depuis 2017, RD Créations produit et diffuse les projets de création de la directrice artistique et chorégraphe Rhodnie Désir. L’organisme montréalais intervient à l’international par une démarche d'innovation artistique et d'engagement culturel qui questionne les mouvements sociopolitiques, défie l’imaginaire, engage le citoyen, archive la mémoire des peuples et transmet le savoir. Avec authenticité et contemporanéité, sa démarche chorégraphique-documentaire fait partie des rares expressions en ce genre, au monde.

Sa fondatrice souhaite que ses œuvres soient le porte-voix des sans-voix, et donc en relation directe avec les collectivités desquelles elle s’inspire. Que ce soit par des œuvres chorégraphiques, des conférences ou des actions de rapprochement culturel ou, la compagnie laisse des traces d’archives sociales; un legs témoignant des richesses à la source même de son inspiration. Croyant au potentiel de multiplication des médiums autour d’une même œuvre chorégraphique, Rhodnie Désir cherche à les faire évoluer au gré des réalités sociales des cultures rencontrées.

S’ancrant au cœur des cultures ancestrales, la compagnie a pour politique le respect des cultures et le développement de collaborations sincères priorisant l’écoute, l’échange et la rencontre. Celles-ci se font sur tous les axes et de manière transversale : politiques, médiatiques, gouvernementales, communautaires et c’est ce qui assure de précieuses collaborations, tel qu’en témoigne le projet BOW’T TRAIL, qui a su mettre à contribution quelque 45 partenaires, 130 spécialistes et 15 musiciens.

Équipe artistique

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 215 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra de soutenir un long processus de recherche et de création qui s'étendra sur trois ans. Avec des ateliers, des essais et des apprentissages, l'équipe créative et les artistes pourront ainsi trouver le langage qui leur sera unique et favorable à la construction de l'œuvre. L'investissement soutiendra aussi le développement des projections numériques de grand format en plus d'allouer plus de temps pour développer la musique originale et les arrangements orchestraux.
 

Reconnaissance

Coproducteurs et diffuseurs: Danse Danse, Centre national des Arts, LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura

Collaborateur artistique: Orchestre Métropolitain

Partenaires principaux: Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts et Office national du Film (ONF).

Partenaires à la création: Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (ICM) et Place des Arts.

Représentations

Première mondiale en 2024. 


Menu