We are open, with charging stations, free WiFi and complimentary coffee.

The Storyville Mosquito

Kid Koala Montreal
  • Creator, Director, Musical Score Kid Koala

A young mosquito leaves his small town in the country to seek fame and fortune in the big city and fulfill his dream of playing in one of the greatest jazz bands of all time at Sid Villa’s Music Hall…

The Storyville Mosquito is a live animated graphic novel that’s performed, filmed and scored in real time.  A team of performers, musicians, foley artists and technicians cinematically bring the characters to life using miniature sets, puppets, multiple cameras and screens.  The puppets tell the story accompanied by an original music soundtrack featuring a jazz trio and Kid Koala on turntables, keyboards and electronics.

The Storyville Mosquito speaks to traditions held sacred within the old-time jazz world: honesty, improvisation, inner voice, style, and collaboration. It is the follow-up to Kid Koala’s hugely successful Nufonia Must Fall Live stage performance, further developing the emotion, the craft, the art and Kid’s skills as a composer, writer, and in this case, director.

Company

Kid Koala is a world-renowned scratch-DJ, producer, performer and graphic novelist. He has released five solo albums, numerous collaborative albums and two graphic novels.  He’s toured with Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Beastie Boys and has contributed to film scores such as Baby Driver, Looper, The Great Gatsby, and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. Kid Koala's multi-disciplinary productions have toured five continents.

Creative team

  • Creator, Director, Musical Score Kid Koala
  • Producer Ryhna Thompson, Envision Management & Production
  • Set Designer Corinne Merrell
  • Puppet Designer Patrick Martel
  • Music Director Patrick Martel
  • Music Director Vid Cousins
  • Director of Photography AJ Korkidakis

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $120,000 makes it possible for Kid Koala to bring together an augmented creative team, including award-winning mentors, and provides the additional development time required to fully explore the advanced technology and perfect the intricate interplay of puppets, live film, lighting and staging.

Credits

Created with support from the Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Quebec, and Place des Arts.  Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Premiering in Montreal in November 2019


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

The Storyville Mosquito

Kid Koala Montréal
  • Créateur, réalisateur, trame sonore Kid Koala

Un jeune moustique quitte son village rural pour trouver la gloire et la fortune dans la grande ville et accomplir son rêve de jouer dans un des plus grands ensembles jazz de tous les temps au Music Hall de Sid Villa…

The Storyville Mosquito est un roman illustré interprété, filmé et accompagné musicalement en direct. Une équipe d’interprètes, de musiciens, de bruiteurs et de techniciens feront vivre les personnages à l’écran à l’aide de décors miniatures, de marionnettes, de caméras et d’écrans multiples. Les marionnettes racontent l’histoire, accompagnées d’une bande sonore mettant en vedette un trio jazz et Kid Koala aux tables tournantes, aux claviers et aux instruments électroniques.

The Storyville Mosquito est un hommage aux traditions sacrées du monde du jazz d’une autre époque : l’honnêteté, l’improvisation, la voix intérieure, le style et la collaboration. Il s’agit de la prochaine étape après le spectacle très acclamé Nufonia Must Fall Live, poussant plus loin l’émotion, l’art et les talents de Kid comme compositeur, auteur et, dans ce cas, réalisateur.

Compagnie

Kid Koala est reconnu mondialement comme DJ, réalisateur, artiste de scène et auteur de romans illustrés. Il a lancé cinq albums solos, de nombreux albums de collaborations, et deux romans illustrés. Il a tourné avec des artistes tels que Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Beastie Boys et a contribué à la bande sonore de films tels que Baby Driver, Looper, The Great Gatsby, et Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. Les productions multidisciplinaires de Kid Koala ont été présentées sur cinq continents. 

Équipe artistique

  • Créateur, réalisateur, trame sonore Kid Koala
  • Producteur Ryhna Thompson, Envision Management & Production
  • Scénographie Corinne Merrell
  • Marionnettes Patrick Martel
  • Directeur musical Patrick Martel
  • Directeur musical Vid Cousins
  • Directeur photo AJ Korkidakis

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 120 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à Kid Koala de bonifier son équipe de création, en y intégrant notamment des mentors primés, et de bénéficier du temps de développement supplémentaire requis pour pleinement explorer la technologie avancée et peaufiner les interactions délicates entre les marionnettes, la captation en direct, l’éclairage et la mise en scène.  

Reconnaissance

Réalisé avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, et Place des Arts. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.   



Représentations

Première en novembre 2019 à Montréal


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel

Vous pouvez vous désinscrire en tout temps.
En savoir plus.

Vous êtes maintenant inscrit-e. Merci!

Menu