The Hockey Sweater: A Musical

The Segal Centre for Performing Arts Montreal
  • Book and Lyrics by Emil Sher
  • Music and Lyrics by Jonathan Monro
  • Based on the short story The Hockey Sweater by Roch Carrier
  • Directed and Choregraphed by Donna Feore

The Hockey Sweater: A Musical is a heartfelt addition to the growing canon of Canadian musical theatre.  Roch Carrier’s The Hockey Sweater, a timeless Quebec story that has charmed generations of children and adults, has been reinvented for the stage in a spectacular new family musical. 

The Hockey Sweater: A Musical premiered in Montreal in 2017 as a celebration of Montreal’s 375th and Canada’s 150th anniversaries.  It features a cast of 17, including a company of eight actors between the ages of 10 and 13 years old who sing, dance and skate their way through the production. With overwhelmingly positive audience and critical response, the show is being redeveloped to continue its trajectory to become an enduring family musical for the country, and beyond.

Company

The Segal Centre for Performing Arts is dedicated to nurturing, producing, and presenting world-class English-language theatre, and to showcasing the best professional artists from Montreal and beyond.  Driven by a belief in the power of the arts to strengthen and connect communities, the Segal’s programming emphasizes original interpretations of popular classic and contemporary works, new Canadian musicals, and engaging productions with universal appeal.  The Segal also believes in the importance of celebrating and exploring Jewish identity through the arts.

Creative team

  • Book and Lyrics by Emil Sher
  • Music and Lyrics by Jonathan Monro
  • Based on the short story The Hockey Sweater by Roch Carrier
  • Directed and Choregraphed by Donna Feore
  • Producer Penny Ritco
  • Original short story translated into English Sheila Fischman
  • Original short story published by House of Anansi Press
  • Musical Direction Jonathan Monro
  • Orchestrator Oran Eldor
  • Dramaturgy (NAC Production) Adam Mathias
  • Set and Costume Designer Michael Gianfrancesco
  • Costume Co-Designer Louise Bourret
  • Lighting Designer Luc Prairie
  • Projection Design Normal Studio
  • Head of Sound Peter Balov
  • Assistant Director Ann Baggley
  • Associate Musical Director Nick Burgess
  • Assistant Choreographer Tina Desrochers
  • Casting Dayton/Walters Casting, CSA CDC

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $200,000 will enable the Segal Centre to bring in a musical theatre dramaturg to work with the creators to refine the script and score. The Fund’s investment will also provide additional rehearsal and development time with the entire creative team to incorporate changes to the original production, including adjustments to the set to facilitate future touring.

Credits

A Segal Centre for Performing Arts production. Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Originally commissioned and premiered by The Segal Centre for Performing Arts (Lisa Rubin, Artistic and Executive Director; Jon Rondeau, General Manager), Montreal 2017, developed with and directed and choreographed by Donna Feore.

The production acknowledges the goodwill of the National Hockey League and its Member Teams for granting permission to use logos and trademarks.  Special thanks to Maurice Richard, Jr. and the Richard Estate for supporting this project.

Performance dates

December 5 to 23, 2018:  Babs Asper Theatre (Ottawa) presented by NAC English Theatre


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)

The Hockey Sweater: A Musical

Le Centre Segal des arts de la scène Montréal
  • Livre et texte Emil Sher
  • Musique et paroles Jonathan Monro
  • Basé sur la nouvelle « Le chandail de hockey » de Roch Carrier
  • Mise en scène et chorégraphie de Donna Feore

The Hockey Sweater : A Musical est un ajout réconfortant au canon croissant de théâtre musical canadien. Le chandail de hockey de Roch Carrier, un récit québécois indémodable qui a charmé des générations d’enfants et d’adultes, a été réinventé pour la scène dans un tout nouveau spectacle musical pour toute la famille.   

The Hockey Sweater : A Musical a été présenté pour la première fois à Montréal en 2017 dans le cadre des célébrations du 375e anniversaire de Montréal et du 150e anniversaire du Canada. La distribution de 17 comédiens comprend huit jeunes comédiens âgés de 10 à 13 ans qui chantent, dansent et patinent sur scène. Suite à une réponse favorable du public et de la critique, le spectacle sera retravaillé pour continuer sur sa lancée de devenir une comédie musicale pour toute la famille qui perdurera au pays, et plus loin encore.  

Compagnie

Le Centre Segal des arts de la scène est engagé à nourrir, produire et présenter un théâtre en langue anglaise d’envergure internationale et à présenter les meilleurs artistes professionnels de Montréal et d’ailleurs. Mue par la conviction que les arts possèdent le pouvoir de tisser des liens et de rapprocher les communautés, la programmation du Segal met l’accent sur les interprétations originales de classiques populaires et d’œuvres contemporaines, de nouvelles comédies musicales canadiennes et des productions attrayantes au charme universel. De plus, le Segal croit en l’importance de célébrer et d’explorer l’identité juive par les biais des arts.

Équipe artistique

  • Livre et texte Emil Sher
  • Musique et paroles Jonathan Monro
  • Basé sur la nouvelle « Le chandail de hockey » de Roch Carrier
  • Mise en scène et chorégraphie de Donna Feore
  • Producteur Penny Ritco
  • Nouvelle originale traduite en anglais par Sheila Fischman
  • Nouvelle originale publiée par House of Anansi Press
  • Direction musicale Jonathan Monro
  • Orchestrations Oran Eldor
  • Dramaturgie (Production du CNA) Adam Mathias
  • Décors et costumes Michael Gianfrancesco
  • Costumes Louise Bourret
  • Éclairages Luc Prairie
  • Projections Normal Studio
  • Sonore Peter Balov
  • Adjointe à la mise en scène Ann Baggley
  • Directeur musical adjoint Nick Burgess
  • Chorégraphe-adjointe Tina Desrochers
  • Distribution Dayton/Walters Casting, CSA CDC

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 200 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra au Centre Segal de faire appel à un dramaturg de théâtre musical pour travailler avec les créateurs afin de peaufiner le texte et les partitions musicales. L’investissement du Fonds offrira également du temps de répétition et de développement supplémentaire pour l’ensemble de l’équipe de création afin d’incorporer des changements à la production originale, notamment des ajustements au décor pour faciliter les futures tournées.

Reconnaissance

Une production du Segal Centre for Performing Arts. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.   

Originalement commandé et présenté par le Centre Segal des arts de la scène (Lisa Rubin, directrice générale et artistique ; Jon Rondeau, directeur administratif), à Montréal en 2017. Développé avec Donna Feore, qui signe également la mise en scène et la chorégraphie.

La production tient à souligner la bonne volonté de la Ligue nationale de hockey et des équipes membres qui leur ont permis d’utiliser les logos et les marques de commerce. Un merci particulier à Maurice Richard, Jr. et à la famille Richard pour leur appui à ce projet.  


Mises à jour

9 décembre 2018

The Hockey Sweater skates up an exuberant musical storm

Article en anglais The Hockey Sweater: A Musical, the decisively Canadian show now at the National Arts Centre, is risky business.  Co-creators Emil Sher and Jonathan Munro have taken Roch Carrier’s simple, beloved story about a hockey-mad ten-year-old boy in a post-Second World... Plus

8 décembre 2018

Hockey Sweater musical scores with singing, dancing and stagecraft

Article en anglais The first thing that struck me about The Hockey Sweater: A Musical is how well Canada’s national winter game lends itself to song-and-dance treatment. For starters, skating has a natural flow that suits the art of choreography, even when practised by inline... Plus

7 décembre 2018

Roch Carrier’s The Hockey Sweater is a constant thread of Canadian culture

Article en anglais He was told to pack light – though weight would be irrelevant for the 187 days Robert Thirsk would be spending aboard the International Space Station. The issue, rather, was space – so little individual space in limitless outer space – and the Canadian... Plus

voir tout ›

Représentations

Performances à venir

5 au 23 décembre 2018: Théâtre Babs Asper (Ottawa), présénté par Théâtre anglais du CNA

 


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel
Menu