• Created by Crystal Pite and Jonathon Young

From the team that brought you the ground-breaking, award-winning productions of Betroffenheit and Revisor, comes Kidd Pivot’s latest offering: a dance theatre hybrid that promises the company’s signature wit and invention.   

Co-creators Crystal Pite and Jonathon Young assemble eight magnificent performers in a new work that explores our need to congregate and belong. In a gathering place that doubles as community hall and mythic realm, we witness the joys and dangers of devoted like-mindedness and the pain of exile.  

Fuelling Kidd Pivot’s work is a fascination with story and the role of language as an animating force.  

© Renée Sigouin

Company

World-renowned for radical hybrids of dance and theatre, Kidd Pivot creations are assembled with a keen sense of wit and invention. Led by Canadian choreographer and director Crystal Pite, the company is unflinching in the face of such challenging and complex themes as trauma, addiction, conflict, consciousness and mortality. Pite’s bold and original vision has earned her international acclaim and inspired an entire generation of dance artists. 

Kidd Pivot strives to distill and translate universal questions into artworks that connect us to profound and essential parts of humanity. “Running through all of our work is the question of what moves us,” says Pite. 

Kidd Pivot tours internationally with critically acclaimed works such as Betroffenheit and Revisor (both co-created with playwright Jonathon Young), The Tempest Replica, Dark Matters, Lost Action, and The You Show. Since 2015, Kidd Pivot has measured its touring carbon footprint and offset over 1,000 tonnes of CO2e (carbon dioxide equivalent), enabling it to be one of the first dance companies to tour carbon neutral. 

Creative team

  • Created by Crystal Pite and Jonathon Young
  • Written by Jonathon Young
  • Choreographed and directed by Crystal Pite
  • Composition and sound design Owen Belton, Alessandro Juliani, Meg Roe
  • Scenic design Jay Gower Taylor
  • Visual / video design Cybèle Young
  • Lighting design Tom Visser
  • Costume design Nancy Bryant
  • Assistant to the creators Eric Beauchesne
  • Dancers Brandon Alley, Livona Ellis, Rakeem Hardy, Gregory Lau, Doug Letheren, Rena Narumi, Ella Rothschild, Renée Sigouin

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $210,000 will support an extended technical residency with the creative team and cast, as well as the further development of the set, costumes, video sequences and sound design.  

Credits

Co-produced by Sadler’s Wells (London, UK), Théâtre de la Ville (Paris,  France), Centro Servizi Culturali Santa Chiara (Trento, Italy), National Arts Centre (Ottawa, Canada), Seattle Theatre Group (Seattle, US), Canadian Stage (Toronto, Canada), DanceHouse (Vancouver, Canada), Danse Danse (Montreal, Canada), Le Diamant (Quebec, Canada), Electric Company Theatre (Vancouver, Canada). 

With additional support from: Canada Council for the Arts, British Columbia Arts Council, City of Vancouver Cultural Services, The Dance Centre (Vancouver, Canada). 

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre's National Creation Fund.

Past performances

Presented by DanceHouse Oct 26 - Oct 28, 2023 Vancouver Playhouse (Vancouver)
Presented by NAC Dance Nov 2 - Nov 4, 2023 Babs Asper Theatre, National Arts Centre (Ottawa)
Presented by Danse Danse Nov 29 - Dec 2, 2023 Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts (Montréal)
Presented by Canadian Stage Dec 6 - Dec 9, 2023 Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto)
Presented by Le Diamant Dec 14 - Dec 16, 2023 Le Diamant (Québec)
Presented by Sadler's Wells Mar 20 - Dec 23, 2023 Sadler's Wells Theatre (London)

• Création de Crystal Pite et Jonathon Young

Voici la toute dernière création de Kidd Pivot, l’équipe qui vous a présenté les productions révolutionnaires primées Betroffenheit et Revisor : un mariage de danse et de théâtre qui promet de rendre honneur à l’esprit vif et à l’ingéniosité caractéristiques à la compagnie. 

Cette nouvelle œuvre, cocréée par Crystal Pite et Jonathon Young, rassemble huit magnifiques interprètes autour d’une exploration de notre besoin de ralliement et d’appartenance. Dans un lieu de confluence qui se veut à la fois une salle communautaire et un royaume mythique, nous assistons aux plaisirs et aux dangers des convictions communes et de la douleur de l’exil. 

La fascination pour le récit et le rôle galvanisant du langage alimentent sans cesse le travail de Kidd Pivot. 

© Michael Slobodian
© Michael Slobodian
© Michael Slobodian
© Michael Slobodian
© Michael Slobodian
Renée Sigouin © Michael Slobodian
© Eric Berg
© Eric Berg
© Eric Berg
© Eric Berg

Compagnie

Tirant leur renommée internationale du mariage radical de la danse et du théâtre, les créations de Kidd Pivot sont mises sur pied avec un sens aigu d’intelligence et d’invention. La compagnie, sous la direction de la chorégraphe et metteure en scène canadienne Crystal Pite, aborde sans concession le traumatisme, la dépendance, le conflit, la prise de conscience et la mortalité, des thèmes d’une difficulté et d’une complexité considérables. La vision audacieuse et originale de Crystal Pite lui a valu une réputation internationale et a inspiré une génération entière d’artistes de la danse. 

Kidd Pivot cherche à synthétiser et à traduire des questions universelles dans des œuvres d’art qui nous ramènent aux aspects profonds et essentiels de l’humanité. « Parcourir l’ensemble de notre œuvre, c’est la question qui nous fait avancer », confie Crystal Pite. 

Kidd Pivot présente aux quatre coins du monde ses œuvres encensées par la critique, dont Betroffenheit et Revisor (cocréées avec l’auteur Jonathon Young), The Tempest Replica, Dark Matters, Lost Action et The You Show. Depuis 2015, la compagnie mesure l’empreinte carbone de ses tournées et a déjà compensé plus de 1 000 tonnes de CO2 eq (équivalent en dioxyde de carbone), devenant ainsi l’une des premières troupes de danse à faire des tournées carboneutres. 

Équipe artistique

  • Création de Crystal Pite et Jonathon Young
  • Écriture Jonathon Young
  • Chorégraphie et mise en scène Crystal Pite
  • Composition et conception sonore Owen Belton, Alessandro Juliani, Meg Roe
  • Scénographie Jay Gower Taylor
  • Conception visuelle et vidéo Cybèle Young
  • Conception des éclairages Tom Visser
  • Conception des costumes Nancy Bryant
  • Assistance à la création Eric Beauchesne
  • Interprètes Brandon Alley, Livona Ellis, Rakeem Hardy, Gregory Lau, Doug Letheren, Rena Narumi, Ella Rothschild, Renée Sigouin

Investissement du Fonds national de création

Grâce à l’investissement de 210 000 $ du Fonds national de création, toute la distribution et l’équipe de création a pu profiter d’une résidence technique prolongée, ainsi que de l’élaboration plus poussée du décor, des costumes, des séquences vidéo et de la conception sonore. 

Reconnaissance

Partenaires : Sadler’s Wells Theatre (Londres, Royaume-Uni), Théâtre de la Ville (Paris, France), Centro Servizi Culturali Santa Chiara (Trente, Italie), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa, Canada), Seattle Theatre Group (Seattle, États-Unis), Canadian Stage (Toronto, Canada), DanceHouse (Vancouver, Canada), Danse Danse (Montréal, Canada), Le Diamant (Québec, Canada), Electric Company Theatre (Vancouver, Canada).

Avec l’appui supplémentaire du Conseil des arts du Canada, du British Columbia Arts Council, des services culturels de la Ville de Vancouver et The Dance Centre (Vancouver, Canada).

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Performances passées

Présenté par DanceHouse Oct 26 - Oct 28, 2023 Vancouver Playhouse (Vancouver)
Présenté par Danse CNA Nov 2 - Nov 4, 2023 Théâtre Baps Asper, Centre national des Arts (Ottawa)
Présenté par Danse Danse Nov 29 - Dec 2, 2023 Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts (Montréal)
Présenté par Canadian Stage Dec 6 - Dec 9, 2023 Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto)
Présenté par Le Diamant Dec 14 - Dec 16, 2023 Le Diamant (Québec)
Présenté par Sadler's Wells Mar 20 - Dec 23, 2023 Sadler's Wells Theatre (Londres)