Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Fall on Your Knees

National Arts Centre and Vita Brevis Arts
  • Adaptation for the stage by Alisa Palmer and Hannah Moscovitch
  • Based on the novel by Ann-Marie MacDonald
  • Production dramaturg Mel Hague

Fall on Your Knees was first published in 1996, becoming an international bestseller and a Canadian classic. Ann-Marie MacDonald’s iconoclastic novel chronicles three generations of the Piper family, taking us from haunted Cape Breton Island, through the battle fields of World War One, to the emerging jazz scene of New York City and into the lives of four unforgettable sisters. Together, they weave a tale of inescapable family bonds, terrible secrets, miracles, racial strife, attempted murder, birth and death, and forbidden love.

Over the past few years, some of the country’s greatest theatrical talents have undertaken a rigorous collaboration to adapt the novel into an epic piece of theatre.  Using non-literal, theatrical ways to capture and embody the story’s power, the stage adaptation of Fall on Your Knees will be a piece of music-driven theatre at a scale rarely seen in Canada.

Company

Vita Brevis Arts (VBA) was founded by Alisa Palmer to support the development of unusual theatre projects that are ambitious in scope, urgent in content and that have the capacity to speak to diverse audiences in a highly theatrical and sensually rich language. Inclusive and artistically excellent storytelling is at the heart of VBA's mission.

In practice, VBA partners with established theatre companies to curate artist-driven development processes outside traditional models.  VBA is comprised of producers Alisa Palmer, Paul Beauchamp, and Patricia Cerra.

Creative team

  • Adaptation for the stage by Alisa Palmer and Hannah Moscovitch
  • Based on the novel by Ann-Marie MacDonald
  • Adaptation writer Hannah Moscovitch
  • Story collaboration and direction Alisa Palmer
  • Production dramaturg Mel Hague
  • Producer Paul Beauchamp, Vita Brevis
  • Apprentice / associate producer Patricia Cerra, Vita Brevis

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $200,000 supports a new approach to translating the novel from page to stage, with significant time dedicated to exploring non-literal, theatrical ways to capture and embody the power of the story.  The Fund’s support also makes the final two development workshops possible.

Credits

A National Arts Centre (Ottawa), Vita Brevis Arts (Toronto), Canadian Stage Company (Toronto), Neptune Theatre (Halifax), Grand Theatre (London) co-production.  Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Lead donors: Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) & David Fountain, C.M.

We acknowledge the support of The Canada Council for the Arts.

Produced with the support of the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council

Performance dates

January 20 to February 5, 2023:  Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto), presented by Canadian Stage

February 10 to March 5, 2023:  Fountain Hall (Halifax), presented by Neptune Theatre

March 8 to 25, 2023:  Babs Asper Theatre, presented by NAC English Theatre

March 29 to April 2, 2023:  Spriet Stage (London), presented by the Grand Theatre


Menu

Fall On Your Knees

Centre national des Arts et Vita Brevis Arts
  • Adaptation théâtrale Alisa Palmer et Hannah Moscovitch
  • D'après le roman d' Ann-Marie MacDonald
  • Dramaturgie de production Mel Hague

Paru en 1996, Fall On Your Knees a connu un succès international avant de devenir un classique de la littérature canadienne. Dans son roman iconoclaste, Ann-Marie MacDonald retrace le destin mouvementé, sur trois générations, de la famille Piper et de ses quatre filles. Cette saga familiale nous transporte des paysages tourmentés de l’île du Cap-Breton jusqu’aux premières scènes jazz de Harlem, en passant par les champs de bataille de la Grande Guerre. En plus des miracles, des naissances et des décès, les protagonistes se retrouvent empêtrés dans des liens familiaux inextricables, de lourds secrets, des dissensions raciales, une tentative de meurtre et un amour interdit.

Ces dernières années, plusieurs artistes de grand talent du pays se sont attelés à l’adaptation de ce roman en pièce de théâtre. Pour restituer sur scène toute la force du récit, ils proposent une adaptation non littérale jouant avec les codes du théâtre pour offrir une pièce de théâtre musicale d’une envergure rarement vue au Canada.

Compagnie

Fondée par Alisa Palmer, la compagnie Vita Brevis Arts (VBA) a pour mission de soutenir la création de projets théâtraux atypiques. Elle est impliquée dans la création d’œuvres ambitieuses et d’actualité qui s’adressent à divers auditoires dans une langue riche et théâtrale. Dans ses mises en récit, l’inclusivité et l’excellence artistique sont à l’honneur.

En pratique, VBA s’associe à des compagnies théâtrales établies pour faciliter des processus de développement menés par des artistes qui rompent avec les modèles traditionnels. L’équipe de production de Vita Brevis Arts est composée d’Alisa Palmer, de Paul Beauchamp et de Patricia Cerra.

Équipe artistique

  • Adaptation théâtrale Alisa Palmer et Hannah Moscovitch
  • D'après le roman d' Ann-Marie MacDonald
  • Cocréation et écriture de Hannah Moscovitch
  • Cocréation et mise en scène de Alisa Palmer
  • Dramaturgie de production Mel Hague
  • Production Paul Beauchamp, Vita Brevis
  • Soutien à la production Patricia Cerra, Vita Brevis
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Cherissa Richards
  • Chorégraphie Natasha Powell
  • Direction et composition musicale Sean Mayes
  • Scénographie Camellia Koo
  • Costumes Judith Bowden
  • Éclairages Leigh Ann Vardy
  • Conseil à la conception sonore Antoine Bédard
  • Conception sonore Brian Kenny
  • Soutien à la direction musicale Douglas Price
  • Chorégraphie des combats et scènes de sexe Anita Nittoly
  • Associée des costumes Joyce Padua
  • Avec Tim Campbell, Janelle Cooper, Diane Flacks, Eva Foote, Deborah Hay, Samantha Hill, Drew Moore, Tony Ofori, Cara Rebecca, Maryem Tollar, Amaka Umeh, Dakota Jamal Wellman, Jenny L Wright, Antoine Yared
  • Régie Michael Hart
  • Assistance à la régie Sarah Miller

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 200 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra de revoir la transposition du roman à la scène, en essayant de proposer une adaptation non littérale jouant avec les codes du théâtre pour restituer toute la puissance de l’histoire. Le soutien du Fonds permettra également la tenue des deux derniers ateliers de développement.

Reconnaissance

Une coproduction du Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), le collectif Vita Brevis Arts (Toronto), la compagnie Canadian Stage (Toronto), le Neptune Theatre (Halifax) et le Grand Theatre (London).  Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Principaux donateurs: Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) et David Fountain, C.M.

Nous remercions le Conseil des Arts du Canada de son soutien.

Produit avec le soutien de la ville de Toronto par l'intermédiare du Conseil des Arts de Toronto.

Représentations

20 janvier au 5 février 2023:  Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto), présenté par Canadian Stage

10 février au 5 mars 2023:  Fountain Hall (Halifax), présenté par Neptune Theatre

8 au 25 mars 2023:  Théâtre Babs Asper, présenté par Théâtre anglais du CNA

29 mars au 2 avril 2023:  Spriet Stage (London), présenté par le Grand Theatre


Articles et critiques


Menu