October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Until We Die

Transthéâtre Montreal
  • Directed by Brigitte Poupart

Who hasn’t imagined going back in time to alter the course of history and prevent the inevitable? In this new immersive experience by Montreal’s Transthéâtre, the beginning of the show is actually the end of the story, as actors and audience members share a dreamlike space in which time has stopped at a moment of chaos and destruction.  Through circus arts, dance, theatre and electronic music, the events that led to the disaster unfold in reverse, ultimately bringing the characters and audience back to the moment when the evening first began.

Until We Die is a metaphor for our world, with characters who are carefree and vital, and unaware of the tragedy that awaits.  For this ambitious work, creator Brigitte Poupart and her team of acclaimed collaborators are creating an immersive scenography that redefines the usual conventions surrounding the audience/actor relationship, that breaks the fourth wall and draws the spectator into a unique sensory experience. 

video:
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau

Company

Transthéâtre was founded in 1991 with the aim of creating theatre with political, social or philosophical elements.  To fulfill its mission, the company produces exclusively contemporary works that explore the contradictions and failings of the Western world. Those faults can be collective or individual, psychological or philosophical.  This philosophy is reflected in new works that situate the audience in relation to mass phenomena, and that break the formal conventions of the traditional audience-actor relationship.

The company’s multidisciplinary approach to production (dance, music, multimedia) gives full value to collaborations involving creative people from different cultural and artistic backgrounds.

Creative team

  • Directed by Brigitte Poupart
  • Music Alex McMahon
  • Choreography and costume design Dave St-Pierre
  • Scenography Patrick Binette
  • Sound design Mathieu Roy

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $180,000 will support several significant enhancements, including an additional workshop, the creation of original music, and an expanded cast.

Credits

A new partnership between Transthéâtre, MONTRÉAL COMPLÈTEMENT CiRQUE and Multicolore (Piknic Electronik).

Performance dates

Premiering in 2021.


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

Jusqu’à ce qu’on meure

Transthéâtre Montréal
  • Mise en scène Brigitte Poupart

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de changer le cours de l’histoire et déjouer l’inévitable? Cette nouvelle expérience immersive de Transthéâtre de Montréal s’ouvre sur la fin du monde : comédiens et spectateurs sont plongés dans un espace onirique hors du temps, marqué par le chaos et la destruction. Les événements qui ont mené à la catastrophe nous sont racontés à rebours et nous ramènent au point de départ par l’entremise des arts circassiens, de la danse, du théâtre et de la musique électronique.

Ce spectacle rempli de personnages insouciants, énergiques et inconscients de la tragédie en devenir est le reflet de notre monde actuel. Brigitte Poupart et son équipe de collaborateurs primés ont conçu une scénographie immersive qui redéfinit les conventions habituelles régissant les rapports entre spectateurs et interprètes : le « quatrième mur » s’efface tandis qu’une expérience sensorielle inoubliable attend le public.

video:
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau
Until We Die, Transthéâtre © PP Charbonneau

Compagnie

Fondé en 1991, Transthéâtre est nomade et associé à une diffusion hors norme et itinérante. Nous pouvons autant nous retrouver dans une salle de spectacle que dans un lieu non théâtral. Nos créations naissent d’une réflexion politique, sociale ou philosophique; nous nous consacrons à la création contemporaine, et explorons les contradictions et la dérive du monde occidental. Nos œuvres actuelles placent le spectateur en relation avec des phénomènes collectifs et, dans leur forme, remittent en question les conventions habituelles du rapport entre public et interprètes.

La notion de métissage est aussi au cœur de nos préoccupations. La rencontre d’artistes venus de différents horizons culturels ou artistiques prend tout son sens dans notre approche multidisciplinaire de la mise en scène (danse, musique et multimédia).

Équipe artistique

  • Mise en scène Brigitte Poupart
  • Musique Alex McMahon
  • Chorégraphie et conception des costumes Dave St-Pierre
  • Scénographie Patrick Binette
  • Conception sonore Mathieu Roy

Investissement du Fonds national de création

Le financement de 180 000 $ du Fonds national de creation permettra de peaufiner la création, notamment grâce à l’ajout d’un atelier supplémentaire, la création d’une trame sonore originale et une distribution plus étoffée.

Reconnaissance

Un partenariat inédit entre Transthéâtre, MONTRÉAL COMPLÈTEMENT CiRQUE et Multicolore (Piknic Electronik).

Représentations

Première en 2021. 


Menu