Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Crypto

Côté Danse Toronto
  • Choreography and direction Guillaume Côté
  • Story and text Royce Vavrek
  • Music Mikael Karlsson

Guillaume Côté’s newest full-length production is a reflection on beauty and our obstinate desire to control and transform it.  Inspired by a story written by librettist Royce Vavrek, Crypto is a dark and complex tale that blends theatre, music, technology and gestures tinged with classicism to create a work that is free from the conventional aesthetic and storytelling needs of a traditional ballet. 

Guillaume brought together an international team of artists, including Swedish composer Mikael Karlsson and multimedia designers HUB Studio, to bring the story to life.  Working collaboratively with exceptional dancers from The National Ballet of Canada and the Royal Ballet of Flanders, the result is a compelling work that embraces experiments, risks and challenges for both performers and the audience.  

video:
video:
video:
Guillaume Côté © Karolina Kuras
Guillaume Côté and Greta Hodgkinson © Karolina Kuras
Guillaume Côté and Greta Hodgkinson © Karolina Kuras

Company

Guillaume Côté, Principal Dancer of The National Ballet of Canada, is one of the most electrifying and in-demand dancers of his generation. Over the past 20 years, he has danced most of the major classical roles with the National Ballet, and as a guest artist, has performed with many of the world’s leading ballet companies.

Guillaume is also an accomplished choreographer, musician and composer, and was named the National Ballet’s Choreographic Associate in 2013.  Characterized by a rich physicality and a complex and often suddenly shifting emotional tenor, his choreography for productions such as Frame By Frame and Le Petit Prince has received widespread acclaim.

Creative team

  • Choreography and direction Guillaume Côté
  • Story and text Royce Vavrek
  • Music Mikael Karlsson
  • Multimedia and set design Mirari; Thomas Payette and Mylène Chabrol
  • Lighting design Simon Rossiter
  • Costume design Christopher Read
  • Animation Motion Designer Joshua Ingleby
  • Illustrator Lily Le
  • Creative Assistant and Rehearsal Director Anisa Tejpar
  • Producer Etienne Lavigne
  • Cast Guillaume Côté, Greta Hodgkinson, Natasha Poon Woo, Casia Vengoechea

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $135,000 supported a technical residency to fully develop the integration of the set, lighting and projections, as well as additional workshops with the dancers to further refine the choreography.

Credits

An Anymotion Production, in association with the National Arts Centre's National Creation Fund.

Crypto is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse, National Arts Centre, Banff Centre, Canadian Stage and the Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Crypto was made possible with the generous support of La fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso

Performance dates

March 30, 2022: Théâtre Hector-Charland (L’Assomption)

April 1, 2022:  Théâtre des Deux Rives (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu) 

April 5, 2022:  Maison des arts Desjardins (Drummondville)

April 8 and 9, 2022:  Babs Asper Theatre (Ottawa), presented by NAC Dance

April 23 and 24, 2022: Salle Michel-Côté (Alma), presented by Ville d'Alma spectacles

May 5 to 7, 2022:  Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto), co-presented by Canadian Stage and TO Live

May 11 to 14, 2022:  Théâtre Maisonneuve (Montreal), presented by Danse Danse

May 17, 2022:  Salle Maurice-O'Bready (Sherbrooke), presented by the Centre culturel de l'Université de Sherbrooke


Menu

Crypto

Côté Danse Toronto
  • Chorégraphie et mise en scène Guillaume Côté
  • Argument et texte Royce Vavrek
  • Musique Mikael Karlsson

La plus récente production intégrale de Guillaume Côté se penche sur la beauté et sur notre désir obsessionnel de la contrôler et la transformer. Inspiré d’une histoire écrite par le librettiste Royce Vavrek, Crypto est une œuvre sombre et complexe qui associe théâtre, musique, technologie et gestuelle, avec une touche de classicisme, pour produire un récit dégagé de l’esthétique convenue et des exigences narratives propres à un ballet traditionnel. 

Guillaume Côté a rassemblé une équipe internationale d’artistes, dont le compositeur suédois Mikael Karlsson et les concepteurs multimédia du HUB Studio, pour donner vie à cette histoire. Fruit d’une collaboration avec de remarquables danseurs du Ballet national du Canada et du Ballet royal de Flandre, cette œuvre fascinante s’inscrit sous le signe de l’audace, sollicitant aussi bien les interprètes que le public.

video:
video:
video:
Guillaume Côté © Karolina Kuras
Guillaume Côté et Greta Hodgkinson © Karolina Kuras
Guillaume Côté et Greta Hodgkinson © Karolina Kuras

Compagnie

Premier danseur du Ballet national du Canada, Guillaume Côté est l’un des danseurs les plus électrisants et convoités de sa génération. Au fil des vingt dernières années, il a interprété la plupart des grands rôles du répertoire classique avec le Ballet national, en plus de se produire comme artiste invité avec bon nombre des plus prestigieuses compagnies de ballet du monde.

Également chorégraphe, musicien et compositeur accompli, il a été nommé chorégraphe associé du Ballet national en 2013. Remarquées pour leur richesse d’expression corporelle et leur charge émotive raffinée, ponctuée de brusques changements d’humeur, ses chorégraphies pour des productions comme Frame By Frame et Le Petit Prince ont été accueillies par une pluie d’éloges.

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie et mise en scène Guillaume Côté
  • Argument et texte Royce Vavrek
  • Musique Mikael Karlsson
  • Décor et contenu multimédia Mirari; Thomas Payette et Mylène Chabrol
  • Éclairages Simon Rossiter
  • Costumes Christopher Read
  • Designer en animation graphique Joshua Ingleby
  • Illustratice Lily Le
  • Assistante à la création et Directrice des répétitions Anisa Tejpar
  • Producteur Etienne Lavigne
  • Interprètes Guillaume Côté, Greta Hodgkinson, Natasha Poon Woo, Casia Vengoechea

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 135 000 $ du Fonds national de création soutiendra une résidence technique pour achever l’intégration du décor, des éclairages et des projections, ainsi que des ateliers complémentaires avec les danseurs pour peaufiner la chorégraphie.

Reconnaissance

Une production Anymotion en association avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Crypto est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau Candanse, de Danse Danse, du Centre national des Arts, du Banff Centre, de la Canadian Stage Company et du Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur, avec l’appui du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Crypto a été rendu possible avec le généreux appui de La fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso.

Représentations

Performances précédentes

30 mars 2022 : Théâtre Hector-Charland (L’Assomption)

1 avril 2022 : Théâtre des Deux Rives (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu) 

5 avril 2022:  Maison des arts Desjardins (Drummondville)

8 et 9 avril 2022: Théâtre Babs Asper (Ottawa), une présentation de Danse CNA

23 et 24 avril 2022: Salle Michel-Côté (Alma), une présentation de Ville d'Alma spectacles 

5 au 7 mai 2022:  Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto), une présentation de Canadian Stage et TO Live

11 au 14 mai 2022 : Théâtre Maisonneuve (Montréal), une présentation de Danse Danse

17 mai 2022:  Salle Maurice-O'Bready (Sherbrooke), une présentation de Centre culturel de l'Université de Sherbrooke


Menu