June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

The Darkest Dark

Young People’s Theatre Toronto
  • Based on the book by  Chris Hadfield with Kate Fillion
  • Adapted for the stage by Jim Millan and Ian MacIntyre
  • Director and playwright Jim Millan

Inspired by the internationally best-selling children’s book by Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, The Darkest Dark is a timely new play for young audiences about overcoming your fears and embracing the unknown.  The story is based on Commander Hadfield’s own experience as a child confronting his fear of the dark so he can one day travel to space.  

From the imaginations of Commander Hadfield and acclaimed director/writer Jim Millan, this ground-breaking theatrical experience will weave magic, flight, movement and multimedia with theatre arts to create an enchanting planetary playground 

Are you afraid of the dark? Nine-year-old Chris is too. At bedtime, the night closes in – full of shadows, creaks and the worst sorts of aliens. It’s 1969 and Apollo II is about to land on the moon. Space-loving Chris dreams of becoming an astronaut but watching history being made hangs in the balance if he can’t conquer his fear. What is truly out there – in the darkest dark?  

The Darkest Dark

Company

Young People’s Theatre (YPT) is North America’s oldest – and Canada’s largest – professional producer and presenter of theatre for young audiences.  Over the past 55 years, YPT has staged many of the most important plays that form the canon of work for youth in Canada. YPT continues to develop new work and create partnerships with theatre companies across the country and around the world, and the enriched learning experiences of its Education & Participation Department provide young people with opportunities to develop their whole being. 

Creative team

  • Based on the book by  Chris Hadfield with Kate Fillion
  • Adapted for the stage by Jim Millan and Ian MacIntyre
  • Director and playwright Jim Millan
  • Co-writer Ian MacIntyre
  • Magic consultant David Ben 
  • Set and costume design Anna Treusch
  • Lighting design Bonnie Beecher

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $125,000 will allow YPT to bring the full creative and production team together for a proof-of-concept workshop, and additional time with the cast and magic consultant to fully test and finalize the integration of magic elements. 

Credits

Development partners:  Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, Geordie Theatre, Talk Is Free Theatre, and the Magicana Foundation. 

Performance dates

Premiering in 2022


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.

The Darkest Dark

Young People’s Theatre Toronto
  • Inspiré du livre de Chris Hadfield avec Kate Fillion
  • Adaptation scénique de Jim Millan et Ian MacIntyre
  • Metteur en scène et dramaturge Jim Millan

Inspiré par le livre pour enfants au succès international de l’astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield, The Darkest Dark est une nouvelle pièce de théâtre opportune pour jeunes publics qui traite de surmonter ses peurs et embrasser l’inconnu. L’histoire est basée sur la propre expérience du commandant Hadfield alors qu’il était enfant et devait affronter sa peur du noir pour pouvoir un jour voyager dans l’espace.   

Tirée de l’imagination du commandant Hadfield et du metteur en scène et auteur renommé Jim Millan, cette expérience théâtrale renversante combinera magie, envol, mouvement, multimédia et théâtre pour créer un terrain de jeu planétaire enchanteur.   

Avez-vous peur du noir? Chris, neuf ans, a peur aussi. Au moment du dodo, la nuit s’approche – remplie d’ombres, de craquements et de tous les pires extraterrestres. Nous sommes en 1969 et Apollo II s’apprête à atterrir sur la lune. Le petit Chris adore l’espace et rêve de devenir astronaute, mais il ne pourra pas voir l’histoire s’écrire sous ses yeux s’il ne surmonte pas sa crainte. Que se cache-t-il vraiment dehors, dans le noir le plus noir?   

The Darkest Dark

Compagnie

Young People’s Theatre (YPT) est la plus vieille compagnie professionnelle en Amérique du Nord, et la plus grande au Canada, à produire et présenter du théâtre pour jeunes publics. Au cours des 55 dernières années, YPT a monté plusieurs des pièces importantes qui forment le corpus d’œuvres jeunesse au Canada. YPT continue de créer de nouvelles œuvres et de développer des partenariats avec des compagnies théâtrales partout au pays et à travers le monde, en plus d’offrir des expériences d’apprentissages enrichies par l’entremise de son département d’éducation et de participation qui offrent aux jeunes la possibilité de pleinement se développer.  

Équipe artistique

  • Inspiré du livre de Chris Hadfield avec Kate Fillion
  • Adaptation scénique de Jim Millan et Ian MacIntyre
  • Metteur en scène et dramaturge Jim Millan
  •  Coauteur Ian MacIntyre
  • Consultant en magie  David Ben 
  • Scénographie et costumes Anna Treusch
  • Éclairages Bonnie Beecher

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 125 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à YPT de rassembler toute l’équipe de création et de production pour un atelier de preuve du concept, ainsi que du temps additionnel avec la distribution et le consultant en magie pour tester et finaliser l’intégration des éléments de magie.   

Reconnaissance

Partenaires de développement :  Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, Geordie Theatre, Talk Is Free Theatre, et la Fondation Magicana.  

Représentations

Première en 2022.  


Menu