Kelly V. Kelly

The Musical Stage Company Toronto
  • Book by Sara Farb
  • Music and lyrics by Britta Johnson

When Eugenia Kelly, a young New York City heiress, became entangled in an affair with a seductive tango dancer, her distraught mother had her arrested and charged with incorrigibility.  The court case scandalized the nation in 1915, and inspired the new musical Kelly V. Kelly, which reveals the story of a mother and daughter divided by passion, money, and what it means to be a woman at a time of huge societal change.

Kelly V. Kelly is the latest collaboration by Britta Johnson and Sara Farb, two of Canada’s most celebrated musical theatre voices.  After Britta Johnson and Sara Farb worked together on several short musicals, The Musical Stage Company has commissioned them to create a full-length production that weaves text, music and choreography to explore the complex relationship between mothers and daughters.

Company

The Musical Stage Company is the largest and leading charitable musical theatre company in Canada.  Established in 2004 as Acting Up Stage Company, it strives to make Canada a leader in musical theatre by incubating Canadian musicals from development to production, investing in Canadian musical theatre writers, and building national and international partnerships.  To date, its productions have been recognized with 82 Dora Award nominations, 18 Dora Awards and 16 Toronto Theatre Critics’ Awards.

Creative team

  • Book by Sara Farb
  • Music and lyrics by Britta Johnson

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $151,000 will give the creative team the opportunity to come together for several writing retreats to fine-tune the script, and to experiment with staging and design during an extended workshop period.  The Fund’s investment also makes it possible to expand the creative team to include a world-class music supervisor and a dramaturg.

Credits

Kelly V. Kelly is part of the Crescendo Series, a three-year commitment by The Musical Stage Company to produce the work of Britta Johnson and her collaborators.

Commissioned by the Aubrey & Marla Dan Fund for New Musicals, funded by The Aubrey & Marla Dan Foundation.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

World Premiere, May 15 - June 7, 2020 : (Toronto) Marilyn and Charles Baillie Theatre


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 30 juin

Kelly v. Kelly

The Musical Stage Company Toronto
  • Livret par Sara Farb
  • Musique et paroles par Britta Johnson

Lorsque Eugenia Kelly, une jeune héritière de New York, entame une liaison amoureuse avec un séduisant danseur de tango, sa mère désemparée la fait arrêter et accuser d’incorrigibilité. La saga juridique a scandalisé le pays en 1915, et a servi de fondement à la nouvelle comédie musicale Kelly v. Kelly, qui révèle l’histoire d’une mère et d’une fille séparées par la passion, l’argent, et ce que ça représente d’être femme à une époque d’énormes changements de société.

Kelly v. Kelly est la plus récente collaboration entre Britta Johnson et Sara Farb, deux des voix de comédie musicale les plus acclamées au Canada. Après avoir collaboré sur plusieurs courtes comédies musicales, The Musical Stage Company a retenu les services de Britta et Sara pour créer une production intégrale qui combine texte, musique et chorégraphie pour explorer la relation complexe mère-fille. 

Compagnie

The Musical Stage Company est la plus grande et la plus importante compagnie caritative de théâtre musical au Canada. Fondée en 2004 sous le nom de Acting Up Stage Company, la compagnie cherche à faire du Canada un chef de file en théâtre musical en accompagnant les comédies musicales canadiennes du développement à la production, en investissant dans des auteurs de théâtre musical canadiens, et en développant des partenariats nationaux et internationaux. À ce jour, ses productions ont récolté 82 nominations et 18 prix aux Prix Dora, ainsi que 16 prix de l’Association des critiques de théâtre de Toronto.

Équipe artistique

  • Livret par Sara Farb
  • Musique et paroles par Britta Johnson

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 151 000 $ du Fonds national de création donnera l’occasion à l’équipe de création de se rassembler pour plusieurs retraites d’écriture afin de peaufiner le texte, ainsi que de tester des éléments de scénographie et de design pendant une période d’atelier prolongée. L’investissement du Fonds permettra également d’élargir l’équipe de création pour y inclure un superviseur musical et un conseiller dramaturgique de calibre international.

Reconnaissance

Kelly v. Kelly fait partie de la série Crescendo, un engagement de trois ans de The Musical Stage Company pour réaliser le travail de Britta Johnson et de ses collaborateurs.

Une commande de The Aubrey & Marla Dan Fund for New Musicals, financée par The Aubrey & Marla Dan Foundation.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Performances à venir

Première mondiale, du 15 mai au 7 juin 2020 : Marilyn and Charles Baillie Theatre (Toronto), présenté par Canadian Stage - reporté


Menu