October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

In My Body

Crazy Smooth Gatineau
  • Choreography Crazy Smooth

It's said that the bravest thing a dancer can do is grow old – for a b-boy/b-girl, the experience is approaching heroic. In keeping with hip-hop culture, b-boys/b-girls present a façade of confidence and invincibility as they engage in battles to prove their value and establish their dominance. The resulting vocabulary is one of the most physically demanding and visually impressive of the dance genres and leaves no room for the expression of vulnerability.

For In My Body, dancer / choreographer Crazy Smooth brings together an intergenerational group of dancers and an international creative team for an intensely athletic investigation of the evolution of self and the effects of aging on street dancers. 

In My Body is the second production to be developed through the Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV’s long-term residency program. Crazy Smooth is also the recipient of Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity’s 2020 Clifford E. Lee Choreography Award.

video:
In My Body, Crazy Smooth © Jerick Collantes

Company

The Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV brings a unique combination of experimentation and innovation to dance creation and production. Via its long-term artist-in-residence program, the CCOV collaborates with distinctive choreographers to produce ambitious, large-scale works that contribute to the healthy evolution of contemporary performing art practices. A focal point for artistic reflection, an incubator for talent, and a catalyst for ideas, the CCOV’s production model empowers the creative brilliance of a new generation of artists. Crazy Smooth is the CCOV’s 2019-2021 Artist-in-Residence.

Dancing since 1997, Crazy Smooth is one of Canada’s top street dancers, performers, choreographers, instructors, judges, and community leaders. The 2020 recipient of Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity's 2020 Clifford E. Lee Choreography Award, he is the founder and creative director of Bboyizm, an award-winning street-dance company that has been instrumental in the preservation and growth of street dance in Canada and internationally. Founded in 2004, Bboyizm is Canada’s premier street-dance company. The company is committed to promote and preserve the foundation, authenticity, and essence of all street dances. Bboyizm believes that authentic self-expression enables an individual – and by extension, a community – to realize its full potential.

Creative team

  • Choreography Crazy Smooth
  • Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV
  • Music DJ Shash’U
  • Text Alejandro Rodriguez
  • Dramaturg Sophie Michaud
  • Multimedia HUB Studio

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $175,000 supports a significantly longer research and creation process with the dancers and creative team, and the development of a ground-breaking marriage between Street Dance and multimedia design.

Credits

Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

In My Body is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Brian Webb Dance Company, Yukon Arts Centre, Banff Centre for the Arts, dance Immersion and Canadian Stage, supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Performance dates

World premiere in 2022.

Articles & reviews


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

In My Body

Crazy Smooth Gatineau
  • Chorégraphie Crazy Smooth

On dit que la chose la plus courageuse qu’un danseur puisse faire est de vieillir – pour un b-boy / b-girl, l’expérience approche de l’héroïsme. Cette prochaine pièce à grand déploiement sera donc l’occasion pour le chorégraphe d’aborder les sujets de la confiance et de l’invincibilité dont les les b-boys / b-girls font preuve sur scène versus la vulnérabilité face au temps qui passe et au vieillissement du corps, leur outil principal et vecteur d’expression.

Pour In My Body, le danseur et chorégraphe Crazy Smooth réunit un groupe de danseurs intergénérationnels et une équipe de création internationale pour une exploration intensément athlétique de l’évolution personnelle et des effets du vieillissement des danseurs de rue. 

In My Body est la deuxième création issue du programme de résidence à long terme du Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV. Crazy Smooth est également le récipiendaire du Prix Clifford E. Lee 2020 du Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

video:
In My Body, Crazy Smooth © Jerick Collantes

Compagnie

Le Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV offre une combinaison unique d’expérimentation et d’innovation pour la création et la production d’œuvres de danse. Grâce à son programme d’artiste en résidence à long terme, le CCOV collabore avec des chorégraphes remarquables pour produire des œuvres ambitieuses à grande échelle qui contribuent à une évolution saine des pratiques artistiques contemporaines. Lieu unique de réflexion artistique, incubateur de talents et catalyseur d’idées, le modèle de production du CCOV alimente le génie créatif d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes. Crazy Smooth est l’artiste en résidence du CCOV de 2019 à 2021.

Depuis ses débuts en tant que danseur en 1997, Crazy Smooth est devenu l’un des danseurs urbains, interprètes, chorégraphes, enseignants, juges, et figures communautaires les plus importants au Canada. Lauréat du Prix Clifford E. Lee 2020 du Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, il est le fondateur et Directeur artistique de Bboyizm, compagnie de danse urbaine maintes fois récompensée pour sa contribution déterminante à la préservation et au développement de la danse urbaine au Canada et dans le monde. Fondée en 2004, Bboyizm est une compagnie de danse urbaine majeure au Canada. La compagnie s’engage à promouvoir et à préserver les fondements, l’authenticité, et l’essence de toutes les danses urbaines. Pour Bboyizm, l’expression de soi authentique permet à l’individu – et par extension à la communauté – de réaliser son plein potentiel.

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie Crazy Smooth
  • Producteur exécutif Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV
  • Musique DJ Shash’U
  • Texte Alejandro Rodriguez
  • Dramaturge Sophie Michaud
  • Multimédia HUB Studio

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 175 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra un processus de recherche et création considérablement prolongé avec les danseurs et l’équipe de création, ainsi que l’élaboration d’un jumelage révolutionnaire entre la danse de rue et la conception multimédia. 

Reconnaissance

Producteur exécutif: Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV, en association avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

In My Body est une co-production du Fonds de création du réseau CanDance, Brian Webb Dance Company, Yukon Arts Centre, Banff Centre for the Arts, dance Immersion et Canadian Stage, et soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Représentations

Première mondiale en 2022.

Articles et critiques


Menu