May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Everywhere the Edges

Rebecca Lazier Halifax
  • Director and Choreographer Rebecca Lazier

How do we navigate constant change?  Is there an ethos for living in precarity?  These questions drive Everywhere the Edges, a performance installation of off-ground choreography performed within, on, under, around - and created simultaneously with - a voluminous Janet Echelman net sculpture. Activated and transformed by six outstanding dancers, the work is a synthesis of experimental dance, avant-garde circus, engineering, sound art, kinetic sculpture and public art.  

Led by choreographer Rebecca Lazier, the project brings together the science and engineering of Echelman’s awe-inspiring sculptures with the human story of the creative team’s personal connections to the oceans and environment.  Establishing performance and sculpture as equal partners, Everywhere the Edges highlights human connectivity and resilience during a time of unprecedented uncertainty. 

Company

Rebecca Lazier is a choreographer and educator based in New York City and Nova Scotia who has choreographed more than eighty works that have been presented in six countries. Recognized as an audacious experimenter, Rebecca creates dances of explosive physical vitality inspired by the thinking and innovation that is possible through collaboration. She continually reaches outside of dance towards experimental music, engineering, architecture, anatomy and visual art, and her work has increasingly emphasized the coming together of disciplinary forms in continuously adapting, emergent systems on stage and in the studio.  

Janet Echelman sculpts at the scale of buildings and city blocks. Her work defies categorization, as it intersects Sculpture, Architecture, Urban Design, Material Science, Structural & Aeronautical Engineering, and Computer Science. Echelman’s art transforms with wind and light, and shifts from being “an object you look at, into an experience you can get lost in.” Using unlikely materials - from atomized water particles to engineered fiber fifteen times stronger than steel - Echelman combines ancient craft with computational design software to create artworks that have become focal points for urban life on five continents. 

Creative team

  • Director and Choreographer Rebecca Lazier
  • Visual artist and sculpture design Janet Echelman and Studio Echelman
  • Music New Hermitage
  • Lighting design Leigh Ann Vardy
  • Costume design Mary Jo Mecca with Janet Echelman
  • Dramaturg Tonya Lockyer
  • Created in collaboration with the dancers Dylan Brentwood, Gillian Seaward-Boone, Leah Skerry, Dawn Shepherd, Anastasia Wiebe and Lydia Zimmer
  • Riggers and acrobatic designers Ryan Gray and Dawn Shepherd
  • Technical director Eleanor Creelman

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $160,000 supports an extended development period for both the indoor and outdoor versions of the work, including technical workshops and additional rehearsal time for an expanded cast of dancers.

Credits

Commissioning producer and presenter:  Live Art Dance 

Co-producers:  Mocean Dance, Breaking Circus 

Co-commissioned by Princeton University  

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund; Canada Council for the Arts; Arts Nova Scotia; Nova Scotia Department of Communities, Culture and Heritage, City of Halifax; Barry Onouye Studio, Architecture Department, University of Washington. 

Performance dates

World premiere in 2022.


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Everywhere the Edges

Rebecca Lazier Halifax
  • Metteure en scène et chorégraphe Rebecca Lazier

Comment faire face aux changements constants ? Existe-t-il une éthique de la vie dans la précarité ? Ces questions sont à l’origine de Everywhere the Edges, une installation de performance composée de chorégraphies hors-sol exécutées à l’intérieur, sur, sous, autour - et créées simultanément avec - une volumineuse sculpture en filet de Janet Echelman. Activée et transformée par six danseurs exceptionnels, l’œuvre est une synthèse de danse expérimentale, de cirque d’avant-garde, d’ingénierie, d’art sonore, de sculpture cinétique et d’art public.  

Guidé par la chorégraphe Rebecca Lazier, le projet associe la science et l’ingénierie des sculptures impressionnantes d’Echelman à l’histoire humaine des liens personnels de l’équipe de création avec les océans et l’environnement. Faisant de la performance et de la sculpture des partenaires égaux, Everywhere the Edges met en lumière la connectivité et la résilience humaines dans une période d’incertitude sans précédent. 

Compagnie

Rebecca Lazier est une chorégraphe et éducatrice basée à New York et en Nouvelle-Écosse qui a chorégraphié plus de quatre-vingts œuvres présentées dans six pays. Reconnue comme une expérimentatrice audacieuse, Rebecca crée des danses d’une vitalité physique explosive inspirée par la réflexion et l’innovation que permet la collaboration. Elle s’éloigne continuellement de la danse pour s’intéresser à la musique expérimentale, à l’ingénierie, à l’architecture, à l’anatomie et aux arts visuels, et son travail met de plus en plus l’accent sur la fusion de formes disciplinaires dans des systèmes émergents en constante adaptation, sur scène et en studio.  

Janet Echelman sculpte à l’échelle de bâtiments et de pâtés de maisons. Son travail défie toute catégorisation, car il combine la sculpture, l’architecture, le design urbain, la science des matériaux, l’ingénierie structurelle et aéronautique, et l’informatique. L’art d’Echelman se transforme au gré du vent et de la lumière, et passe du statut « d’objet que l’on regarde à celui d’expérience dans laquelle on peut se perdre ». Utilisant des matériaux improbables - des particules d’eau atomisées à des fibres artificielles quinze fois plus résistantes que l’acier - Echelman associe l’artisanat ancien à des logiciels de conception informatique pour créer des œuvres d’art qui sont devenues des foyers de la vie urbaine sur les cinq continents.  

Équipe artistique

  • Metteure en scène et chorégraphe Rebecca Lazier
  • Artiste visuelle et conceptrice de sculpture Janet Echelman et Studio Echelman
  • Musique New Hermitage
  • Conception d’éclairage Leigh Ann Vardy
  • Conception de costumes Mary Jo Mecca avec Janet Echelman
  • Conseils dramaturgiques Tonya Lockyer
  • Créé en collaboration avec les danseuses et danseurs Dylan Brentwood, Gillian Seaward-Boone, Leah Skerry, Dawn Shepherd et Lydia Zimmer
  • Gréage et conception acrobatique Ryan Gray and Dawn Shepherd
  • Direction technique Eleanor Creelman

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 160 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra une période de développement prolongée pour les versions intérieures et extérieures de l’œuvre, dont des ateliers techniques et davantage de temps de répétition pour un plus grand nombre de danseuses et danseurs.  

Reconnaissance

Producteur contractant et diffuseur : Live Art Dance 

Coproducteurs :  Mocean Dance, Breaking Circus 

Une co-commande de Princeton University  

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts; le Conseil des arts du Canada; Arts Nouvelle-Écosse; le Ministère des Communautés, de la Culture et du Patrimoine de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ville de Halifax; et le Studio Barry Onouye, Département d’architecture, Université de Washington. 

Représentations

Première mondiale en 2022. 


Menu