Ghost Opera

The Old Trout Puppet Workshop Calgary
  • Music by Veronika Krausas
  • Libretto by André Alexis
  • Directed by Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill and Pityu Kenderes

Ghost Opera is an ambitious new production from the Old Trout Puppet Workshop, Calgary’s renowned masters of puppetry for adults.  Combining the grandeur of contemporary opera with the Faustian magic of puppetry, it’s an Ancient Greek ghost story told by ghosts – with the living enacted by people-size puppets.

With music by celebrated composer Veronika Krausas, and libretto by Giller Prize-winning author André Alexis, Ghost Opera will be by turns absurd and spooky, like a great horror film. It’s also a real rumination on what it means to be alive, and what it means that we have to die.

Company

The Old Trout Puppet Workshop was founded on a ranch in southern Alberta in 1999 by a group of artists excited by the undiscovered potential of the medium of puppetry. They are now one of Canada’s most creative companies, producing innovative theatre shows as well as sculptures, films, children’s books, music and paintings.  In addition to creating and touring their own work across the country and around the world, the Trouts have also lent their mastery of puppets and design to acclaimed productions such as the Vancouver Opera’s Hansel and Gretel and NAC English Theatre’s Twelfth Night.

Creative team

  • Music by Veronika Krausas
  • Libretto by André Alexis
  • With additional text by Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill, Pityu Kenderes and Veronika Krausas
  • Directed by Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill and Pityu Kenderes
  • Sets, Costumes, and Puppets Designed by The Old Trout Puppet Workshop
  • Lighting Design and Technical Direction Terry Middleton
  • Puppet Costume Design Jen Gareau

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $205,000 will provide additional workshop time for an enhanced team of puppeteers and technicians to work with more elaborate sets and puppets and explore the integration of aerial elements.

Credits

Produced by The Old Trout Puppet Workshop in partnership with Calgary Opera, the Timepoint Ensemble, and the Performing Arts Residency Program at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Developed with support from the NAC’s National Creation Fund, Opera America’s Opera Grants for Female Composers program (supported by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation), the Canada Council’s New Chapter program, the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, and the Calgary Arts Development Authority.

Performance dates

World Premiere May 24, 2019:  Eric Harvie Theatre, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

May 27 to June 9, 2019:  Theatre Junction GRAND (Calgary) in collaboration with Calgary Opera


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Ghost Opera

The Old Trout Puppet Workshop Calgary
  • Musique Veronika Krausas
  • Libretto André Alexis
  • Mise en scène Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill et Pityu Kenderes

Ghost Opera est une nouvelle production ambitieuse d’Old Trout Puppet Workshop de Calgary, les célèbres maîtres marionnettistes pour adultes. Combinant la splendeur de l’opéra contemporain à la magie faustienne de l’art des marionnettes, cette œuvre est une histoire de fantôme de la Grèce antique racontée par des marionnettes de taille humaine incarnant des fantômes.

Avec la musique de la renommée compositrice Veronika Krausas et le libretto de l’auteur André Alexis, lauréat d’un prix Giller, Ghost Opera est à la fois absurde et troublant, comme un bon film d’horreur. C’est également une réflexion profonde sur le sens de la vie et l’inévitabilité de la mort.

Compagnie

The Old Trout Puppet Workshop a été fondé sur un ranch du sud de l’Alberta en 1999 par un groupe diversifié d’artistes enthousiasmés par le potentiel inexploré des marionnettes. Il s’agit de l’une des compagnies les plus créatives du Canada, qui produit des spectacles de théâtre novateurs ainsi que des sculptures, des films, des livres pour enfants, de la musique et des tableaux. En plus de créer ses propres œuvres et de faire des tournées nationales et internationales, les artistes de la compagnie ont également mis à profit leur maîtrise des marionnettes et de la conception pour des productions acclamées, comme Hansel et Gretel, de l’Opéra de Vancouver, et Twelfth Night, du Théâtre anglais du CNA.

Équipe artistique

  • Musique Veronika Krausas
  • Libretto André Alexis
  • Avec des textes supplémentaires de Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill, Pityu Kenderes et Veronika Krausas
  • Mise en scène Judd Palmer, Pete Balkwill et Pityu Kenderes
  • Décors, costumes, et conception des marionnettes The Old Trout Puppet Workshop
  • Éclairage et direction technique Terry Middleton
  • Conception des costumes des marionnettes Jen Gareau

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 205 000 dollars du Fonds national de création a fourni à la compagnie du temps en atelier, ce qui a permis à l’équipe de marionnettistes et de techniciens de mettre au point des décors et des marionnettes plus élaborés, et d’explorer l’intégration d’éléments aériens.

Reconnaissance

Produit par the Old Trout Puppet Workshop en partenariat avec l’Opéra de Calgary, Timepoint Ensemble, et le programme de résidence pour les arts de la scène du Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts, le programme des bourses d’opéra pour compositrice d’Opera America (financé par la Fondation Virginia B. Toulmin), le programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada, l’Alberta Foundation for the Arts et la Calgary Arts Development Authority.

Représentations

Performances précédentes

24 mai 2019 : Première mondiale, Eric Harvie Theatre, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

Du 27 mai au 9 juin 2019 : The GRAND (Calgary) en collaboration avec l’Opéra de Calgary


Articles et critiques


Menu