Intangible Adorations Caravan

Lisa Anita Wegner and Other Hearts Collective in association with Tangled Arts + Disability Toronto
  • Created by Lisa Anita Wegner and Other Hearts Collective
  • Co-produced by Tangled Art + Disability

Intangible Adorations Caravan is an immersive, traveling performance and film experience that fuses carnival with science-fantasy biography, circus, and disability culture. A multi-sensory interactive experience with robust accessibility built into each performance, the show presents a threadbare Victorian Caravan as a deceptive cover for a world of mobile Cinema, aerial wizardry and shared ritual.

As a Mad and disabled artist, creator Lisa Anita Wegner is committed to the idea of public art that is truly accessible, and to eliminating barriers of poverty and disability that too often get in the way of underserved communities experiencing art. Lisa’s work explores the possibilities of Madness and disability as a source of communal activation, and Intangible Adorations Caravan specifically aims to reclaim the performing caravan not as a site of display, but rather as a site of world-dismantling potentiality.

video:

Company

Lisa Anita Wegner is a Mad and disabled public artist.  She is the creative producer of Mighty Brave Productions, a small multi-media production company.  After being diagnosed with complex-Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, she began exploring visual art and performance as a means of healing.  Her art practice has grown to encompass post-production photography, short film, video, and live performance.  Lisa uses artifice and adopted personae as a means of exploring the truth.

Lisa was diagnosed with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome in 2018, and this increased understanding of what was going on with her body caused her to re-evaluate her approach to putting art out into the world: she adopted a slower, more compassionate methodology and began exploring ways of bringing people into her practice to establish a community of artistic support.

Tangled Art + Disability is dedicated to connecting professional and emerging artists, the arts community, and a diverse public through creative passion and artistic excellence. Its mission is to support Disabled, d/Deaf, chronically ill, neurodiverse, k/crip, Mad, sick & spoonie artists; to cultivate Disability Arts in Canada; and to increase opportunities for everyone to participate in the arts.

Other Hearts Collective draws from a plurality of experiences and disciplines to expand the boundaries of performance in pursuit of accessibility, presence and shared experience. Operating within a flat organizational structure, Other Hearts’ artistic practice crosses boundaries of performativity and place to unite artists and audiences in a radical, anti-hierarchical exchange of ideas and experience.

Creative team

  • Created by Lisa Anita Wegner and Other Hearts Collective
  • Co-produced by Tangled Art + Disability
  • Written by Harri Thomas, Yousef Kadoura and Lisa Anita Wegner
  • Directed by Harri Thomas
  • Performers (in order of appearance) Yousef Kadoura, Erin Ball, Harri Thomas, Lisa Anita Wegner, Silvae Mercedes
  • Salon members Kathryn Cooper, Meek Adrik, Amy Loucareas, Emily (Ava) Gillespie
  • Sceneography and production management / technical direction Sebastian Marziali
  • Costume and prop design Silvae Mercedes
  • Sound design Jack Consadine
  • Stage manager Senjuti Sarker
  • Salon coordinator Kathryn Cooper
  • ASL and Deaf interpretation Sage Lovel
  • Audio description and Blind / low vision dramaturgy Kat Germain
  • Carnival posters Stephanie Avery

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $108,000 supports the further development of a fully accessible production, with the incorporation of live audio description and ASL and Deaf Interpretation in a way that makes these features essential to the nature of the show.  The creators will also have additional time to expand the original vision for the show to develop a tourable version of the work.

Credits

Co-produced by Tangled Art + Disability Other Hearts Collective and Mighty Brave Productions.  Presented and funded by ArtworxTO, Canada Council for the Arts, Ontario Arts Council, Partners In Art, and Toronto Arts Council

Community partners:  Workman Arts, The Theatre Centre, Summerworks Festival, North York Arts, East End Arts, Scarborough Arts, Etobicoke Arts, Urban Arts

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre's National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Premiering in Toronto in June 2022.


Menu

Intangible Adorations Caravan

Lisa Anita Wegner Toronto
  • Conception Lisa Anita Wegner et Other Hearts Collective
  • Coproduction Tangled Art + Disability

Intangible Adorations Caravan est un spectacle immersif et itinérant doublé d’une expérience cinématographique, qui combine esprit carnavalesque, récit biographique teinté de fantasy, arts du cirque et culture des personnes en situation de handicap. Cette expérience interactive et multisensorielle est composée de divers numéros tous conçus dans un format accessible. Elle se déroule dans une étonnante vieille caravane de style victorien, abritant un univers mystérieux fait de cinéma, de sorcelleries aériennes et de rituels collectifs.

En tant qu’artiste en situation de handicap vivant avec la maladie mentale, Lisa Anita Wegner s’est engagée en faveur d’un art public réellement accessible et de l’élimination des obstacles posés par la pauvreté et les handicaps, qui empêchent trop souvent les communautés défavorisées d’accéder aux arts. Dans son travail, Lisa explore les potentialités de la folie et du handicap comme source d’activation communautaire. L’objectif d’Intangible Adorations Caravan est justement de revendiquer la caravane artistique itinérante non pas comme un espace d’exposition, mais plutôt comme un lieu propice à la déconstruction du monde.

video:

Compagnie

Lisa Anita Wegner [en anglais seulement] est une artiste en situation de handicap vivant avec la maladie mentale. Elle est productrice du contenu créatif de Mighty Brave Productions, une petite compagnie de production multimédia. Après avoir découvert qu’elle souffrait d’un syndrome de stress post-traumatique complexe, elle s’est mise à explorer les arts visuels et la performance comme façon de se soigner. Sa pratique artistique s’est alors étendue à la postproduction en photographie, au court métrage, à la vidéo et au spectacle en direct. Lisa use d’artifices et crée des personnages afin de mieux poursuivre sa quête de vérité.

Depuis son diagnostic du syndrome de Ehlers-Danlos, en 2018, qui l’a amenée à mieux comprendre son corps, Lisa a réévalué sa façon de diffuser son travail artistique : elle a adopté une démarche plus lente et empathique, et s’est mise à explorer des façons d’intégrer des gens dans sa pratique pour créer une communauté pouvant offrir un soutien artistique.

La mission de Tangled Art + Disability [en anglais seulement] est de mettre en contact des artistes professionnels et émergents, la communauté artistique et un public diversifié pour célébrer la créativité et l’excellence artistique. La compagnie s’applique aussi à soutenir les artistes en situation de handicap, sourd·e·s et malentendant·e·s, atteint·e·s de troubles ou de maladies chroniques, neurodivergent·e·s, ou vivant avec une maladie mentale ou physique afin d’encourager les pratiques des artistes en situation de handicap au Canada et de favoriser la participation de toutes et de tous aux arts.

Équipe artistique

  • Conception Lisa Anita Wegner et Other Hearts Collective
  • Coproduction Tangled Art + Disability
  • Texte Harri Thomas, Yousef Kadoura et Lisa Anita Wegner
  • Mise en scène Harri Thomas
  • Interprètes Yousef Kadoura, Erin Ball, Harri Thomas, Lisa Anita Wegner, Silvae Mercedes
  • Membres du salon Kathryn Cooper, Meek Adrik, Amy Loucareas, Emily (Ava) Gillespie
  • Conception des décors et directeur de production Sebastian Marziali
  • Conception des costumes Silvae Mercedes
  • Conception sonore Jack Consadine
  • Régisseuse Senjuti Sarker
  • Coordinatrice de salon Kathryn Cooper
  • Interprétation en ASL et en tant que personne sourde Sage Lovel
  • Audiodescription et dramaturgie pour personnes aveugles et atteintes de basse vision Kat Germain
  • Affiches de carnaval Stephanie Avery

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L'investissement de 108 000 $ du Fonds national de création soutient le développement ultérieur d'une production entièrement accessible, avec l'incorporation de la description audio en simultané et de l'interprétation ASL et pour personnes sourdes afin de rendre ces caractéristiques essentielles à la nature du spectacle. Les créateurs auront également plus de temps pour développer et adapter la version originale du spectacle afin de créer une version pour tournée. 

Reconnaissance

Coproduction de Tangled Art + Disability, Other Hearts Collective et Mighty Brave Productions.  Spectacle presenté et financé par ArtworxTO, Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Partners In Art et Toronto Arts Council.

Partenaires communautaires : Workman Arts, The Theatre Centre, SummerWorks Festival, North York Arts, East End Arts, Scarborough Arts, Etobicoke Arts, Urban Arts.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Première prévue en juin 2022, à Toronto.


Menu