NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31

The Full Light of Day

Electric Company Theatre Vancouver
  • Writer Daniel Brooks
  • Director / Dramaturg Kim Collier

Set in Canada’s urban financial centres, The Full Light of Day tells the story of a mother who must contend with her husband’s corrupt legacy before she dies. The play takes place in a world of finance and real estate. It is a story about our cities, about power and about land, and about the things we do in order to flourish, and the drastic steps we sometimes must take in order simply to survive.

The Full Light of Day is a provocative film/theatre experiment for the stage which looks at crucial choices facing Canadians today - how to live, love and die in a world in transition. Bold characters, bracing text, wit, and suspense all mix together in this new script by award-winning artist Daniel Brooks. Celebrated world-wide for his provocative, conceptual, deeply intelligent work, Daniel joins forces with Electric Company Theatre founding artist and award-winning director Kim Collier in this new work for Canadian stages and beyond.

Company

Electric Company Theatre is one of Canada’s leading creators of live theatre, rich in spectacle and adventurous in form, challenging theatrical conventions while preserving a strong sense of story. Electric Company has built a reputation for ground-breaking, ambitious productions.

Creative team

  • Writer Daniel Brooks
  • Director / Dramaturg Kim Collier
  • Dramaturg, VR Film Writer and Editor Kevin Kerr
  • Lighting Design Michael Walton
  • Set Design Julie Fox
  • Original Compositions Peter Allen
  • Director of Photography and Projection Design Brian Johnson
  • Projection Design Jamie Nesbitt
  • Costume Design Nancy Bryant
  • Sound Design Brian Linds
  • Stage Manager Louise Currie
  • Assistant Stage Manager Peter Jotkus
  • Featuring Gabriel Rose, Jim Mezon, Dean Paul Gibson, Haig Sutherland, Jenny Young, Jillian Fargey and Hiro Kanagawa

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $150,000 augmented Electric Company’s creative process by supporting a two-week workshop with the entire creative team and supported additional rehearsal time.  The investment also facilitated the creation of sophisticated, tourable scenery, and supported the company’s exploration of film/theatre hybrids by enabling a fully resourced film and VR shoot. 

Credits

Development and Producing Partners: National Arts Centre's National Creation Fund, Banff Centre for the Arts, Vancouver Civic Theatres, BMO Financial Group.

Commissioning Partner: National Arts Centre (English Theatre).

Partners in Creation: Canada Council for the Arts New Chapter, Creative BC, University Of Victoria.

Performance dates

Previous Performances

January 9 to 12, 2019:  Premiere at the Vancouver Playhouse

June 7 to 13, 2019:  Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto) presented by Canadian Stage and Luminato

Articles & reviews


Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

The Full Light of Day

Electric Company Theatre Vancouver
  • Auteur Daniel Brooks
  • Metteure en scène/dramaturg Kim Collier

Situé dans les centres financiers urbains du Canada, The Full Light of Day raconte l’histoire d’une mère qui doit affronter l’héritage corrompu de son mari avant sa mort. La pièce se déroule dans l’univers des finances et du marché immobilier. C’est une histoire qui traite de nos villes, du pouvoir et du territoire, ainsi que des choses que nous devons faire pour nous épanouir, et des mesures draconiennes que nous devons parfois prendre pour simplement assurer notre survie. 

The Full Light of Day est une expérience scénique provocante de théâtre et cinéma en direct qui pose un regard essential sur certains des choix fondamentaux auxquels sont confrontés les foyers contemporains – comment vivre, aimer et mourir dans un monde en transition. Personnages vibrants, textes percutants, humour et suspense sont tous au cœur de cette nouvelle œuvre de l’artiste primé Daniel Brooks. Reconnu mondialement pour son écriture provocatrice, conceptuelle, et profondément intelligente, Daniel unit ses forces avec la metteure en scène primée et artiste fondatrice de Electric Company Theatre, Kim Collier, dans cette nouvelle œuvre destinée aux scènes canadiennes, et bien au-delà.  

Compagnie

Electric Company Theatre est un des chefs de file de la scène théâtrale canadienne, aventureux dans sa forme et riche en spectacle, défiant les conventions théâtrales tout en préservant une forte notion du récit. Electric Company a développé une réputation de créer des productions ambitieuses et innovatrices.

Équipe artistique

  • Auteur Daniel Brooks
  • Metteure en scène/dramaturg Kim Collier
  • Dramaturg, scénariste et monteur film RV Kevin Kerr
  • Éclairages Michael Walton
  • Scénographie Julie Fox
  • Compositions originales Peter Allen
  • Photographie et projections Brian Johnson
  • Projections Jamie Nesbitt
  • Costumes Nancy Bryant
  • Son Brian Linds
  • Régie Louise Currie
  • Assistant à la régie Peter Jotkus
  • Avec Gabriel Rose, Jim Mezon, Dean Paul Gibson, Haig Sutherland, Jenny Young, Jillian Fargey et Hiro Kanagawa

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 150 000 $ du Fonds national de création viendra bonifier le processus de création de Electric Company Theatre en appuyant un atelier de deux semaines avec l’ensemble de l’équipe de création, ainsi que du temps de répétition supplémentaire. Cet investissement facilitera également la création de décors sophistiqués conçus pour la tournée, et soutient l’exploration de formes hybrides de cinéma/théâtre par la compagnie en permettant un tournage de cinéma et de réalité virtuelle disposant de toutes les ressources nécessaires.  

Reconnaissance

Partenaires de développement et de production : Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts, Banff Centre for the Arts, Vancouver Civic Theatres, BMO Financial Group.

Partenaire de commande : Centre national des Arts (Théâtre anglais).

Partenaires de création : Conseil des arts du Canada Programme Nouveau Chapitre, Creative BC, University of Victoria.  

Représentations

Performances précédentes

9 au 12 janvier 2019: Première au Vancouver Playhouse

7 au 13 juin 2019: Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto) présenté par Canadian Stage et Luminato
 

Articles et critiques


Menu