Mînowin

Dancers of Damelahamid Vancouver
  • Artistic Director and Choreographer Margaret Grenier

Mînowin is a new multimedia dance work that integrates narrative, movement, song, performance, and multimedia design, connecting to landscapes from contemporary perspectives of customary Indigenous dance forms. Mînowin describes how we clarify direction, as we recover and reinterpret the teachings that define and redefine who we are, and that are accessed through story, dance and song. 

Using new mediums, including 3D motion graphics and interactive technologies, Mînowin will engage with the complexities surrounding conventional performance space. The production will balance the performance space by adding contemporary reflections of Indigenous identity, through the multimedia elements, in order to immerse the audience in narrative that illustrates moments of connection, understanding and renewal.

Margaret Grenier © Chris Randle, Artistic Treatment: Aura
© Derek Dix
© Derek Dix
© Derek Dix

Company

The Dancers of Damelahamid is an Indigenous dance company from the Northwest Coast of British Columbia. Their rich history of masked dance inspires a compelling performance, celebrating the diversity and time depth of the many beautiful Indigenous cultures across Canada. Through dramatic dance, captivating narrative, intricately carved masks, and elaborate regalia, the Dancers of Damelahamid transform time and space, and bridge the ancient with a living tradition.

Creative team

  • Artistic Director and Choreographer Margaret Grenier
  • Collaborating Director Charles Koroneho
  • Dramaturg Peter Rockford Espiritu
  • Creative Producer and Designer Andrew Grenier
  • Collaborating Designer Andy Moro
  • Collaborating Visual Design Shaun Kingerlee
  • New Media Sammy Chien
  • 3D Motion Graphics Dallas Parker
  • Collaborating Composer Ted Hamilton
  • Regalia Rebecca Baker-Grenier
  • Gitxsan Elder/Language/Songs Betsy Lomax
  • Cree Elder/Language/Songs Lawrence Trottier
  • Cultural Consultant, Tsimshian Artist/Carver David Boxley
  • Technical Director Andrew Pye
  • Collaborating Producer Eponymous

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $120,000 facilitated the Dancers of Damelahamid’s collaboration with two international Indigenous coastal dance creators, and provided support for a large cast of performers, an enhanced technical team, and several additional multimedia and design residencies.

Credits

Co-producers : The CanDance Network Creation Fund, National Arts Centre, The Vancouver East Cultural Centre (The Cultch), DanceWorks, Neighbourhood Dance Works, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity with support from the Canada Council for the Arts. The production of this work was supported by Dance Victoria’s Chrystal Dance Prize.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Previous Performances

24 May, 2019: Margaret Greenham Theatre (Banff), avant-premiere of this performance developed at Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity.

Upcoming Performances

September 26 to 28, 2019: Babs Asper Theatre (Ottawa), presented by NAC Dance in partnership with NAC Indigenous Theatre

October 14 - 15, 2019: Teatro Principal (Mexico), Festival Internacional Cervantino


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Mînowin

Dancers of Damelahamid Vancouver
  • Chorégraphe et metteure en scène Margaret Grenier

Mînowin est une nouvelle création multimédia de danse qui intègre une trame narrative, du mouvement, de la chanson, de la performance et de la conception multimédia, reliant des paysages de perspectives contemporaines aux formes de danses autochtones traditionnelles. Mînowin décrit comment nous précisons la direction, alors que nous récupérons et réinterprétons les enseignements qui nous définissent et nous redéfinissent, et auxquels nous avons accès par l’entremise des récits, des danses et des chants. 

À l’aide des nouveaux médias, y compris des animations graphiques en 3D et des technologies interactives, Mînowin interagira avec les complexités qui entourent les lieux de représentations traditionnels. La production équilibrera le lieu de représentation en y ajoutant des reflets contemporains de l’identité autochtone, à travers les éléments multimédias, afin de plonger le public dans un récit qui illustre les moments d’échange, de compréhension et de renouveau.

Margaret Grenier © Chris Randle, traitement artistique : Aura
© Derek Dix
© Derek Dix
© Derek Dix

Compagnie

Dancers of Damelahamid est une compagnie de danse autochtone de la Côte nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Leur riche historique de danse masquée inspire une prestation captivante qui célèbre la diversité et la profondeur temporelle des nombreuses cultures autochtones à travers le Canada. Par l’entremise de la danse dramatique, de récits enlevants, de masques finement sculptés et d’ornements élaborés, Dancers of Damelahamid transforme le temps et l’espace, et fait le pont vers l’autrefois grâce à une tradition vivante. 

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphe et metteure en scène Margaret Grenier
  • Metteur en scène associé Charles Koroneho
  • Dramaturg Peter Rockford Espiritu
  • Concepteur et producteur créatif Andrew Grenier
  • Concepteur associé Andy Moro
  • Concepteur visuel associé Shaun Kingerlee
  • Nouveaux médias Sammy Chien
  • Animations 3D Dallas Parker
  • Compositeur associé Ted Hamilton
  • Tenue cérémonielle Rebecca Baker-Grenier
  • Ainée gitxsan/Langage/Chansons Betsy Lomax
  • Ainé cri/Langage/Chansons Lawrence Trottier
  • Consultant culturel, artiste/graveur tsimshian David Boxley
  • Directeur technique Andrew Pye
  • Producteur associé Eponymous

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 120 000 $ du Fonds national de création facilitera la collaboration de Dancers of Damelahamid avec deux créateurs internationaux de danse côtière, et offrira un soutien pour une grande distribution, une équipe technique bonifiée et de nombreuses résidences supplémentaires de conception et de multimédia.

Reconnaissance

Coproduction : Fonds de création du réseau, Centre national des Arts, The Vancouver East Cultural Centre (The Cultch), DanceWorks, Neighbourhood Dance Works, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada. Cette œuvre a été réalisée avec l’appui du prix de danse Chrystal de Dance Victoria.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

24 mai, 2019:  Margaret Greenham Theatre (Banff), avant-premiere développé au Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity.

26 au 28 septembre 2019: Théâtre Babs Asper (Ottawa), présenté par Danse CNA avec le Théâtre autochtone du CNA


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel

Vous êtes maintenant inscrit-e. Merci!

Menu