Unikkaaqtuat

The 7 Fingers, Artcirq and Taqqut Productions Montreal / Igloolik / Iqaluit

Led by The 7 Fingers of Montreal, Artcirq of Igloolik, and Taqqut Productions of Iqaluit, Unikkaaqtuat is a major multidisciplinary production blending circus arts, music, theatre, and video projection.

Inspired by Inuit founding myths and illustrated by the world-renowned artist Germaine Arnaktauyok, this unprecedented creation will highlight the Inuit people, their traditions, and vision for the future, through a collaborative and mutually respectful process bringing Inuit and non-Inuit artists together. The creative process will explore and seek inspiration from Inuit artistic mediums such as throat-singing and drumming, as well as traditional Inuit aspects such as hunting techniques and structures, competitive games, and aesthetics including traditional dress and landscape. A cast of three Inuit musicians, four Inuit circus artists, and four Montreal-based circus artists will partner on stage, supported by a team of similarly diverse designers and technicians, all driven by this uniting goal.

Company

7 artistic directors, 7 visions: The 7 Fingers is a collective that is at once unified and multi-faceted.  In 2002, 7 circus artists came together and became The 7 Fingers. Over the course of 16 years, the collective has grown. Every year, projects have given way to new opportunities, as diverse as the very artists themselves: original productions, Broadway shows, artistic collaborations, project direction, custom designed events, performances for Olympic ceremonies, televised creations, immersive performance experiences and much more.

Ambassadors of diversity, the artists have consistently spread their horizons, mixing genres to better tell their stories. Fascinated by the human condition, the 7 Fingers create performances that speak about our world and our time.

Artcirq has grown into an Inuit performing arts collective with the mission to bridge traditional Inuit culture to modern artistic practices by creating meaningful and original work through the performing arts, music, and video. Artcirq members have created a rich body of work featured on a national and international scale, through which Inuit artists express and redefine themselves in their changing world.

Taqqut Productions is an Inuit-owned film production company located in Iqaluit, Nunavut. Taqqut is committed to bringing the stories of the North to the world. The company’s first three short films have screened at festivals in eighteen countries and have won more than twenty international awards. With its film and television projects, Taqqut has established itself as an innovative leader in Northern youth and children’s productions.

 

Touring inquiries: Tina Diab tina.diab@les7doigts.com

Creative team

  • Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director, The 7 Fingers Patrick Léonard
  • Co-Artistic Director, Artcirq Guillaume Ittuksarjuat Saladin
  • Co-Artistic Director, Artcirq Terence Uyarak
  • Co-Director, Taqqut Neil Christopher
  • Illustrations Germaine Arnaktauyok

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $225,000 will make additional residency periods possible, including a longer residency in Montreal that provides the time required to respect cultural creation practices.  The investment will also support the exceptional costs associated with travel from the north.

Credits

Canada Council for the Arts New Chapter, First Air, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts de Montréal, Ilagiiktunut Fund - Qikiqtani Inuit Association, and Government of Nunavut’s Department of Economic Development and Transportation. Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.


Recent updates

July 2, 2019

Les 7 doigts coproduisent un spectacle au Nunavut

Article in French Only By: Jean Siag  Près d'une dizaine d'artistes inuits se produiront à Iqaluit aujourd'hui dans le cadre du festival Alianait. Une occasion rêvée pour ces musiciens et artistes de cirque du Nord de faire partager leur culture. Le spectacle sera d'ailleurs... Read more

full timelime ›

Performance dates

Upcoming Performances 

January 9 to 12, 2020: Babs Asper Theatre (Ottawa), presented by NAC Indigenous Theatre

January 22 to 25, 2020 : Vancouver Playhouse, presented by DanceHouse and The Cultch

Previous Performances

July 1, 2019: Alianait Arts Festival (Iqaluit) 


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020

Unikkaaqtuat

Les 7 doigts de la main, Artcirq et Taqqut Productions Montréal / Igloolik / Iqaluit

Mené par Les 7 doigts de la main de Montréal, Artcirq d’Igloolik, et Taqqut Productions d’Iqaluit, Unikkaaqtuat est une production multidisciplinaire majeure qui combine les arts du cirque, la musique, le théâtre et les projections vidéos.

Inspirée des mythes fondateurs inuits et illustrée par l’artiste de renommée mondiale Germaine Arnaktauyok, cette création sans précédent mettra en valeur le peuple inuit et ses traditions par un processus de collaboration et de respect mutuel qui réunit des artistes inuits et non inuits. Le processus créatif explorera et s’inspirera des formes artistiques inuites telles que les chants de gorge et les tambours, ainsi que d’aspects inuits traditionnels tels que des techniques et structures de chasse, des jeux compétitifs, et des esthétiques comme les paysages et habits traditionnels. Une distribution de trois musiciens inuits, quatre artistes de cirques inuits, et quatre artistes de cirque basés à Montréal prendront la scène, avec l’appui d’une équipe tout aussi diversifiée de concepteurs et techniciens, tous animés par le même but rassembleur.   

video:

Compagnie

En 2002, quand ils décident de fonder Les 7 doigts de la main, chacun des 7 cofondateurs du collectif a déjà plus de 15 ans de métier en tant qu’artiste de cirque. Nourris par l’expérience de ces nombreuses années passées sur les pistes et les scènes les plus prestigieuses du monde, ces amis et collègues partagent alors le désir de sortir des sentiers battus en offrant un nouveau type de spectacle de cirque : un « cirque à échelle humaine », plus intime et familier, où l’extraordinaire surgit du quotidien, où des hommes et des femmes expriment avec leurs mots, leurs danses et leurs acrobaties, une part de leur humanité.

Depuis, ce profond désir de créer un cirque singulier, un cirque d’auteur, continue de guider chacune de leur création vers de nouveaux territoires artistiques, plus hybrides et collaboratifs. En brouillant sans cesse les frontières entre la danse contemporaine et l’acrobatie, entre le théâtre et la performance physique, entre le multimédia interactif et l’expérience immersive, ils cherchent à atteindre l’indéfinissable, le viscéral, l’extraordinaire, l’intime et l’universel en chaque être humain.

Artcirq est devenu un collectif d’arts de la scène ayant comme mission de faire le pont entre la culture inuit traditionnelle et les pratiques artistiques modernes en créant des œuvres originales et significatives par l’entremise des arts de la scène, de la musique et de la vidéo. Les membres d’Artcirq ont créé un riche corpus présenté à l’échelle nationale et internationale, à travers lequel les artistes inuits s’expriment et se redéfinissent dans leur monde en mouvance.    

Taqqut Productions est une compagnie de production inuite située à Iqaluit, au Nunavut. Taqquts’engage à partager les récits du Nord avec le reste du monde. Les trois premiers courts-métrages de la compagnie ont été présentés lors de festivals dans dix-huit pays, et ont remporté plus de vingt prix internationaux. Avec ses projets de films et de télévision, Taqqut s’est imposé comme chef de file dans le créneau des productions pour enfants et pour jeunes du Nord.

Renseignements au sujet des tournées :  Tina Diab (tina.diab@les7doigts.com)

Équipe artistique

  • Cofondateur et codirecteur artistique, Les 7 doigts Patrick Léonard
  • Codirecteur artistique, Artcirq Guillaume Ittuksarjuat Saladin
  • Codirecteur artistique, Artcirq Terence Uyarak
  • Codirecteur, Taqqut Neil Christopher
  • Illustrations Germaine Arnaktauyok

Investissement du Fonds national de création

Le Fonds offre aux artistes canadiens le temps, l’espace et les ressources dont ils ont besoin pour créer des oeuvres de haut calibre. L’investissement de 225 000 $ du Fonds a rendu possible la tenue de résidences supplémentaires pour le développement du spectacle, dont des résidences plus longues à Igloolik et Montréal qui ont fourni le temps nécessaire pour respecter les pratiques culturelles de création. L’investissement a également servi à couvrir une partie des coûts exceptionnels associés aux déplacements dans le Nord.

Reconnaissance

Conseil des arts du Canada et le programme Nouveau Chapitre, First Air, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts de Montréal, Fonds Ilagiiktunut de l’association inuit Qikiqtani ; Gouvernement du Nunavut, Départment du développement économique et des transports. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.


Mises à jour

17 janvier 2020

Inuit myths brought to life on the national stage

En Anglais seulement  As the lights dimmed in the Ottawa’s National Arts Centre theatre on Friday, Jan. 10, a woman’s voice began to speak softly in Inuktitut. Projected through speakers, her words floated through the audience. The voice took on an echo as stars began to... Plus

13 janvier 2020

«Unikkaaqtuat»: histoires anciennes pour temps nouveau

La première saison du Théâtre autochtone du Centre national des arts se poursuit avec Unikkaaqtuat (« Histoires des temps anciens », en français), un spectacle né d’une collaboration interculturelle (et manifestement fertile) entre Artcirq, compagnie de cirque inuite, Les 7 Doigts,... Plus

13 janvier 2020

Review: Combining circus spectacle and Inuit myth, Unikkaaqtuat both stuns and stumbles

En Anglais seulement  In the most startling scene of the new circus-theatre hybrid Unikkaaqtuat, an Arctic ice floe, as comically overloaded as a clown car, tips, and the men and women crowded onto it suddenly topple, terrifyingly, into the frigid sea. Underwater, two women... Plus

voir tout ›

Représentations

9 au 12 janvier 2020:  Première mondiale au Théâtre Babs Asper (Ottawa), présenté par le Théâtre autochtone du CNA

20 janvier 2020:  Port Theatre (Nanaimo)

22 au 25 janvier 2020 : Vancouver Playhouse, présenté par DanceHouse et The Cultch

29 janvier 2020: Jeanne & Peter Lougheed Performing Arts Centre (Camrose)

2 février 2020: Northern Arts and Culture Centre (Yellowknife)


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel
Menu