FRONTERA

Animals of Distinction Montreal
  • Choreography by Dana Gingras
  • Visual Concept and Scenography by United Visual Artists
  • Music by Fly Pan Am
  • Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV

FRONTERA is a new large-scale multimedia dance and music event led by choreographer Dana Gingras.  Set in an audio-synchronized field of light and projection created by UK-based United Visual Artists, nine dancers fearlessly engage in a choreography that will dynamically investigate the universal themes and questions around borders and boundaries.  Newly reformed Montreal band Fly Pan Am will accompany the dancers with a live performance of their commissioned score.

FRONTERA is the first production to be developed through the Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV’s long-term residency program, and Dana has been using this two-year residency to develop a highly-visceral, sensually-charged physical language that is fuelled by a sense of urgency and complexity.

© Morillo Photography
© Morillo Photography

Company

Animals of Distinction, founded in 2006 as a satellite company of The Holy Body Tattoo, is the multi-media dance company of choreographer and dancer Dana Gingras.  The Montreal-based company is at the forefront of contemporary practice, and its cutting-edge works are born from creative collaborations across all mediums and artistic practices, shaped by the possibilities of new technologies and cultural shifts.

Creative team

  • Choreography by Dana Gingras
  • Visual Concept and Scenography by United Visual Artists
  • Music by Fly Pan Am
  • Field Recordings Dave Bryant
  • Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV
  • Dramaturgy Ruth Little
  • Dancers Robert Abubo, Paige Culley, Justin de Luna, Lena Demnati, Stacey Desilier, Caroline Gravel, Louise-Michel Jackson, Sovann Prom Tep & Esther Rousseau-Morin
  • Additional dancers Koliane Prom Tep & Mark Medrano
  • Rehearsal Director Sarah Williams

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $160,000 will make it possible for Dana to fully explore collaborations with UVA and Fly Pan Am, including extended development time with the core group of dancers and the creative team. 

Credits

Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV.  Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Premiering in November 2019.


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

FRONTERA

Animals of Distinction Montréal
  • Chorégraphie par Dana Gingras
  • Conception visuelle et scénographie par United Visual Artists
  • Musique par Fly Pan Am
  • Producteur exécutif Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV

FRONTERA est un nouvel évènement multimédia de danse et musique à grand déploiement mené par la chorégraphe Dana Gingras. Ancrés dans un univers de lumière et de projections synchronisées à l’audio créé par United Visual Artists, du Royaume-Uni, avec de la musique en direct du groupe montréalais Fly Pan Am, neuf danseurs et un artiste de Parkour plongent sans crainte dans une chorégraphie qui vient interroger de façon dynamique les questions et thèmes universels autour des frontières.

FRONTERA est la première création issue du programme de résidence à long terme du Centre de Création O Vertigo, et Dana a utilisé cette résidence de deux ans pour développer un langage physique hautement viscéral et sensuel nourri par un sentiment d’urgence et de complexité.  

© Morillo Photography
© Morillo Photography

Compagnie

Animals of Distinction, fondé en 2006 comme compagnie satellite de The Holy Body Tattoo, est la compagnie de danse multimédia de la chorégraphe et danseuse Dana Gingras. La compagnie montréalaise est à l’avant-plan des pratiques contemporaines, et ses œuvres avant-gardistes sont le fruit de collaborations créatives entre toutes les formes et pratiques artistiques, forgées par les possibilités des nouvelles technologies et des virages culturels.  

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie par Dana Gingras
  • Conception visuelle et scénographie par United Visual Artists
  • Musique par Fly Pan Am
  • Enregistrement de terrain Dave Bryant
  • Producteur exécutif Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV
  • Dramaturgie Ruth Little
  • Interprètes Robert Abubo, Paige Culley, Justin de Luna, Lena Demnati, Stacey Desilier, Caroline Gravel, Louise-Michel Jackson, Sovann Prom Tep et Esther Rousseau-Morin
  • Interprètes additionnels Koliane Prom Tep et Mark Medrano
  • Directrice-répétitrice Sarah Williams

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 160 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à Dana d’explorer pleinement des collaborations avec UVA et Fly Pan Am, notamment grâce à une période de développement prolongée avec le groupe principal de danseurs et l’équipe de création.

Reconnaissance

Producteur exécutif : Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Première en novembre 2019.


Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre du Fonds national de création pour ne rien manquer!

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel

Vous pouvez vous désinscrire en tout temps.
En savoir plus.

Vous êtes maintenant inscrit-e. Merci!

Menu