Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
  • Book, Music, Lyrics and Director Jonathan Christenson
  • Production Designer Bretta Gerecke

Inspired by the true stories of an international team of female agents who were members of the “Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare” during World War II, Catalyst Theatre reimagines their struggle through a 21st Century lens. Drawing upon historical research, film noir, spy fiction and graphic novels, The Invisible is a genre-busting, multilingual “film noir musical”, a contemporary portrait of seven extraordinary women who risked their lives to fight a dangerous war of sabotage, propaganda and espionage.

The Invisible marks a return to the rich creative partnership of Jonathan Christenson and Bretta Gerecke, who have collaborated on more than 20 original Canadian productions.  This show builds on Catalyst’s history of visually and sonically immersive storytelling for larger stages, seamlessly blending image, sound, text and movement. 

Company

Catalyst Theatre creates bold, distinctive and highly theatrical productions – ‘Made-In-Edmonton’ theatre that is presented across Canada and around the world. The company’s core creative team strives for the unexpected, seeking out innovative ways to tell powerful stories through the inventive and playful use of evocative music, haunting sound, poetic text, dynamic choreography and stunning and surreal design.

Creative team

  • Book, Music, Lyrics and Director Jonathan Christenson
  • Production Designer Bretta Gerecke
  • Choreographer Laura Krewski
  • Dramaturge Sarah Garton Stanley
  • Music Producer Matthew Skopyk
  • Stage Manager John Raymond
  • Assistant Stage Manager Nyssa Beairsto
  • Featuring Hailey Gillis, Kristi Hansen, Justine Westby, Melissa MacPherson, Kaitlyn Semple, Melanie Piatocha, Amanda Trapp

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $180,000 allowed Catalyst Theatre to add a creation intensive after the first iteration of the work, and additional time for the artistic team to further refine the score, script and production design.

Credits

Catalyst Theatre is funded by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, the Edmonton Arts Council, the Edmonton Community Foundation, The Dianne & Irving Kipnes Foundation, the Cinders Family Fund, and the Universiade ’83 Foundation, and is also supported by the generosity of a diverse group of individual donors.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund and Vertigo Theatre.

Performance dates

Upcoming Performances

February 4 to 23, 2020:  Maclab Theatre (Edmonton)

First iteration

April 25 to May 4, 2019:  Keyano Theatre and Arts Centre (Fort McMurray)

May 11 to June 9, 2019:  Vertigo Theatre (Calgary)


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
  • Livret, paroles, musique et mise en scène Jonathan Christenson
  • Conceptrice de la production Bretta Gerecke

Inspiré des histoires vraies d’une équipe internationale d’agentes secrètes membres du « Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare » pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Catalyst Theatre adopte une lentille du 21e siècle pour réinterpréter leurs combats. Tirant ses influences de sources historiques, de film noir, de fiction d’espion et de romans illustrés, The Invisible est un « film noir musical » qui combine les langues et les genres, un portrait contemporain de sept femmes extraordinaires qui ont risqué leur vie pour combattre dans une guerre dangereuse de sabotage, d’espionnage et de propagande.

The Invisible marque le retour du riche partenariat créatif entre Jonathan Christenson et Bretta Gerecke, qui ont collaboré sur plus de 20 productions canadiennes originales. Ce nouveau spectacle vient s’inscrire dans la tradition de narration immersive visuelle et sonore pour les plus grandes scènes de Catalyst, harmonisant parfaitement les images, les sons, le texte et les mouvements.    

video:

Compagnie

Catalyst Theatre crée des productions audacieuses, remarquables et fortement théâtrales – du théâtre fait à Edmonton et présenté partout au Canada et à travers le monde. Le noyau de l’équipe artistique de la compagnie vise l’inattendu, cherchant des façons novatrices de raconter des histoires puissantes par l’utilisation ludique et créative de musique évocatrice, de sons envoûtants, de textes poétiques, de chorégraphies dynamiques et de scénographie saisissante et surréelle.

Équipe artistique

  • Livret, paroles, musique et mise en scène Jonathan Christenson
  • Conceptrice de la production Bretta Gerecke
  • Chorégraphe Laura Krewski
  • Conseillère dramaturgique Sarah Garton Stanley
  • Producteur musical Matthew Skopyk
  • Régisseur John Raymond
  • Assistante à la régie Nyssa Beairsto
  • avec Hailey Gillis, Kristi Hansen, Justine Westby, Melissa MacPherson, Kaitlyn Semple, Melanie Piatocha, Amanda Trapp

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 180 000 $ du Fonds national de création a permis à Catalyst Theatre d’ajouter un atelier intensif de création après la première version de l’œuvre, ce qui a donné du temps à l’équipe artistique pour peaufiner la trame sonore, le texte et la scénographie.

Reconnaissance

Catalyst Theatre est financé par le Conseil des arts du Canada, la Fondation pour les arts de l’Alberta, le Conseil des arts d’Edmonton, la Fondation communautaire d’Edmonton, la Fondation Dianne et Irving Kipnes, le Fonds de la famille Cinders, et la Fondation Universiade ’83, et bénéficie également du généreux soutien d’un groupe diversifié de donateurs individuels.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts et de Vertigo Theatre.

Représentations

25 avril au 4 mai 2019 :  Keyano Theatre and Arts Centre (Fort McMurray)

11 mai au 9 juin 2019 : Vertigo Theatre (Calgary)

4 au 23 février 2020 : Maclab Theatre (Edmonton)


Menu