Draw Me Close

Jordan Tannahill Toronto
  • Written and directed by Jordan Tannahill

Draw Me Close blurs the worlds of live performance, virtual reality and animation to create a vivid memoir about the relationship between a mother and her son charting twenty-five years of love, learning and loss. Weaving theatrical storytelling with cutting-edge technology, the individual immersive experience allows the audience member to take the part of the protagonist, Jordan, inside a live, animated world.

Written and directed by Jordan Tannahill, Draw Me Close is the first major co-production between the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) and the National Theatre’s Immersive Storytelling Studio. Using a real-time motion capture system, the set is transformed into an interactive space that is both physical and virtual.  Guided through Jordan’s childhood home by an actress portraying his mother, the result is a disarmingly intimate work that gives life to the sublime agony of loving, and inevitably losing, those who have shaped us the most.

video:

Company

Jordan Tannahill is a novelist, playwright, and director who is widely celebrated as one of Canada’s most accomplished young artists.  His works have been translated into multiple languages and honoured with numerous prizes, including the Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama in 2013 and 2018.  In addition to his theatre and film projects, Jordan has also worked in dance, choreographing and performing with Toronto Dance Theatre’s Christopher House and writing the text for Akram Khan's celebrated dance pieces Xenos and Outwitting the Devil

The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is one of the world’s leading digital content hubs, creating groundbreaking interactive documentaries and animation, mobile content, installations and participatory experiences. NFB interactive productions and digital platforms have won 100 awards, including 21 Webbys. To access this award-winning content and discover the work of NFB creators, visit NFB.ca, download its apps for mobile devices or visit NFB Pause.

Creative team

  • Written and directed by Jordan Tannahill
  • Producers David Oppenheim and Johanna Nicholls
  • Executive Producers Anita Lee and Toby Coffey
  • Creative technologists All Seeing Eye
  • Illustrations Teva Harrison
  • Additional illustrations Ollie Kay
  • Motion capture lead Aylwin Lo
  • Senior developer, motion capture Lukasz Ruminsky
  • Set Design Tom Paris
  • Sound design Gareth Fry

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $135,000 will augment the next phase of development through additional dramaturgical work, further testing and enhancement of the technology required for live motion capture, and a workshop with both the creative and technical team to fully integrate the new elements.

Credits

A National Film Board of Canada and The National Theatre of Great Britain co-production.

Performance dates

June 23 to July 12, 2020:  Young Centre for the Performing Arts (Toronto), presented by Soulpepper and the National Film Board of Canada


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

Draw Me Close

Jordan Tannahill Toronto
  • Écriture et mise en scène Jordan Tannahill

Draw Me Close entrelace les prestations en direct, la réalité virtuelle et l’animation, créant un récit de souvenirs fertiles sur la relation entre une mère et son fils au lendemain de la réception d’un diagnostic de cancer terminal. Tissant narration théâtrale et technologie de pointe, l’expérience immersive individuelle permet au public de jouer le rôle du protagoniste, Jordan, dans un monde vivant et animé.

Créé et dirigé par Jordan Tannahill, Draw Me Close est la première coproduction d’importance entre l’Office national du film du Canada (ONF) et l’Immersive Storytelling Studio du National Theatre. À l’aide d’un système de capture de mouvement en temps réel, l’ensemble est transformé en un espace interactif à la fois physique et virtuel. Guidé dans la maison de l’enfance de Jordan par une comédienne incarnant sa mère, le résultat est une œuvre d’une intimité désarmante qui donne vie à la sublime agonie de l’amour, et inévitablement de la perte, des gens qui nous ont le plus marqués.

video:

Compagnie

Jordan Tannahill est un romancier, un dramaturge et un metteur en scène qui est largement reconnu comme l’un des jeunes artistes les plus talentueux du Canada. Ses œuvres ont été traduites dans plusieurs langues et ont remporté de nombreux prix, y compris le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général dans la catégorie Théâtre en 2013 et en 2018. En plus de ses projets théâtraux et cinématographiques, Jordan a également travaillé dans le milieu de la danse en tant que chorégraphe et interprète pour Christopher House, du Toronto Dance Theatre. Il a également signé les textes des spectacles de danse Xenos et Outwitting the Devil d’Akram Khan.

Au carrefour mondial des contenus numériques, l’Office national du film du Canada (ONF) crée des animations et des documentaires interactifs d’avant-garde, du contenu pour appareils mobiles ainsi que des installations et des expériences participatives. Les productions interactives et plateformes numériques de l’ONF ont remporté 100 récompenses, dont 21 prix Webby.  Pour accéder au riche contenu de l’ONF et découvrir le travail des artistes et des artisans, allez à ONF.ca, téléchargez les applications de l’ONF pour appareils mobiles ou visitez Pause ONF.

Équipe artistique

  • Écriture et mise en scène Jordan Tannahill
  • Producteurs David Oppenheim and Johanna Nicholls
  • Chefs de production Anita Lee et Toby Coffey
  • Technologues de création All Seeing Eye
  • Illustrations Teva Harrison
  • Illustrations supplémentaires Ollie Kay
  • Directeur de la capture de mouvement Aylwin Lo
  • Développeur principal, capture de mouvement Lukasz Ruminsky
  • Décoration scénique Tom Paris
  • Conception sonore Gareth Fry

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 135 000 dollars du Fonds national de création augmentera à la prochaine étape du développement, soit lors de la création du travail complémentaire de dramaturgie, de mises à l’essai et de l’amélioration de la technologie requise pour la capture de mouvement en direct, ainsi que de l’organisation d’un atelier avec l’équipe de création et l’équipe technique dans le but d’intégrer pleinement les nouveaux éléments.

Reconnaissance

Une coproduction entre l'Office national du film du Canada et le National Theatre’s Immersive Storytelling Studio.

Représentations

Du 23 juin au 12 juillet 2020 : Young Centre for the Performing Arts (Toronto), une présentation de Soulpepper et de l’Office national du film du Canada - reporté


Menu