Identity: A Song Cycle

Against the Grain Theatre Toronto
  • Composer Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Librettist & Poet Shauntay Grant
  • Baritone Elliot Madore
  • Director Joel Ivany

An artistic exploration of Self

In early June 2020, Torontonian and baritone Elliot Madore opened up on social media about his struggles with “unabashedly expressing [his] identity” as a biracial person. 

Against the Grain (AtG) Artistic Director Joel Ivany and Elliot Madore came together to find a way to present to the Canadian arts community the universal themes behind Madore’s moving Instagram post. In collaboration with genre-bending composer Dinuk Wijeratne and acclaimed poet Shauntay Grant, AtG and Madore will present a song cycle that sets new and original Canadian poetry to music that fuses classical music with an array of influences. 

Premiering first as a filmed presentation, followed by a staged production, the song cycle charts a journey of self-discovery and challenges the parameters of Western classical traditions through the cultures of these compelling artists who live in our country.  

video:
video:

Company

Against the Grain Theatre (AtG) is a multi-award-winning Canadian experimental opera company dedicated to creating boundary-breaking, genre-defying vocal works and films staged in surprising locations emphasizing innovative storytelling and memorable artistic experiences. AtG is the creator of the internationally acclaimed film Messiah/Complex and the ongoing Opera Pub series. 

Established in 2010 and still evolving, AtG is committed to revitalizing the operatic art form by introducing diverse audiences to outside-the-box opera experiences, creating daring re-interpretations of operatic and vocal works, and offering thrilling, intimate, and unforgettable experiences shared between artists and audiences. 

Creative team

  • Composer Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Librettist & Poet Shauntay Grant
  • Baritone Elliot Madore
  • Director Joel Ivany
  • Associate Director Andrew Adridge
  • Set Designer Camellia Koo
  • Costume Designer Ming Wong
  • Lighting Designer Jason Hand
  • Producing Partner Riddle Films
  • Sound Design and Engineering Ben Ewing

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $100,000 supports additional workshops for the film and stage adaptation with the creators and jazz trio, as well as the commissioning of an orchestral version of the song cycle.   

 

Credits

Produced by Against the Grain Theatre, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, Ontario Arts Council, Arts Nova Scotia, Toronto Arts Council, TD Ready Commitment and the Azrieli Foundation. 

Edmonton Opera is a presenting partner. 

Performance dates

Film premiere:  October 23, 2022

Stage production premiere in Fall 2023


Menu

Identity: A Song Cycle

Against the Grain Theatre Toronto
  • Composition Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Livret et poèmes Shauntay Grant
  • Voix, baryton Elliot Madore
  • Mise en scène Joel Ivany

Début juin 2020, le baryton torontois Elliot Madore a confié dans les médias sociaux ses difficultés à « exprimer sans vergogne [son] identité » en tant que métisse.

À la suite de cette déclaration, Joel Ivany, directeur artistique de l’Against the Grain Theatre (AtG), a rencontré Elliot Madore dans l’espoir de rallier la communauté canadienne des arts du spectacle autour de la portée universelle de la touchante publication du baryton sur Instagram. Pour ce faire, les deux artistes ont fait appel aux talents de Dinuk Wijeratne, compositeur maître dans l’art de brouiller les genres, et de la célèbre poète Shauntay Grant pour composer un cycle de mélodies faisant la part belle à la poésie canadienne d’aujourd’hui et à des compositions musicales qui transcendent les frontières de la musique classique.

D’abord un film puis un spectacle sur scène, le cycle de mélodies est un voyage vers la découverte de soi qui bouscule les codes des traditions classiques occidentales, en s’appuyant sur la diversité des bagages culturels des artistes d’exception que compte le Canada.

video:
video:

Compagnie

Against the Grain Theatre (AtG) est une compagnie expérimentale d’opéra canadienne maintes fois primée qui a pour mission de créer des œuvres vocales et filmiques à la fois novatrices et inclassables et de les jouer dans des lieux inattendus pour donner toute sa force à l’audace de la narration et faire vivre des expériences culturelles mémorables. Parmi les réalisations d’AtG, on retrouve le film de renommée internationale Messiah/Complex et la série Opera Pub.

En évolution constante depuis sa création en 2010, l’AtG s’entend à dynamiser l’art lyrique pour attirer des publics de divers horizons en proposant des productions musicales originales, des réinterprétations audacieuses d’œuvres vocales et opératiques et des expériences exaltantes, intimes et inoubliables, dans un esprit de communion entre les artistes et le public.

Équipe artistique

  • Composition Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Livret et poèmes Shauntay Grant
  • Voix, baryton Elliot Madore
  • Mise en scène Joel Ivany
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Andrew Adridge
  • Scénographie Camellia Koo
  • Conception des costumes Ming Wong
  • Conception des éclairages Jason Hand
  • Partenaire de production Riddle Films
  • Conception sonore et technique audio Ben Ewing

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 100 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra d’organiser la tenue d’ateliers supplémentaires pour le film et l’adaptation scénique avec l’équipe de création et le trio de jazz, et de commander une version orchestrale du cycle de mélodies. 

Reconnaissance

Produit par Against the Grain Theatre, en partenariat avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Développé avec le soutien des conseils des arts du Canada, de l’Ontario et de Toronto, ainsi que d’Arts Nova Scotia, La promesse TD Prêts à agir et la Fondation Azrieli.

L’Opéra d’Edmonton est un partenaire de diffusion.

Représentations

Première du film : 23 octobre 2022

Première sur scène à l’automne 2023


Menu