The Kosinski Project

ZOU Theatre Company Toronto
  • Created and directed by Viktor Lukawski
  • Developed in collaboration with the company

The Kosinksi Project is an international physical theatre production blending puppetry and cinematic storytelling to explore the enigma that is Jerzy Kosinski, the controversial Polish-American author of The Painted Bird and Being There. An exploration of ‘creative survival’ and an artist who was born out of trauma, the production repurposes events from Kosinski’s life and work and explores his lifelong re-imagining of reality - a survival response to the terrors he faced during World War II, but which ultimately led to his personal and professional downfall.

Using life-size puppets and hyper-realistic masks, four performer-puppeteers portray the story of an author confronting his demons through a hallucinatory flow of interwoven scenes, utilizing physical and visual storytelling elements to convey the fragmented and jarring images from the life of this forgotten mythmaker.

Company

Based in Toronto, ZOU is an international theatre company led by Artistic Director Viktor Lukawski. The company’s productions are best described as visual theatre, developed using a mixture of physical theatre and puppetry. Its creations focus on the grotesque, steering the audience towards a confrontation with difficult and uncomfortable topics, investigating ambiguous situations and individuals, with the ultimate goal being a form of understanding and enlightenment on the audience’s part. 

Creative team

  • Created and directed by Viktor Lukawski
  • Developed in collaboration with the company
  • Performed by Andreu Martinez Costa, Adam Paolozza, Sacha Plaige, Viktor Lukawski
  • Dramaturg Bobby Theodore
  • Puppet design Pascale Blaison
  • Set design Kristel Maamägi
  • Lighting design Priidu Adlas
  • Costume design Michelle Tracey
  • Sound design Kirill Havanski
  • Video design Taavi Varm
  • Producer Kendra Bator

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $160,000 will provide ZOU with additional workshop time, including an international residency, to fully develop the work through a rigorous process of collective creation.

Credits

Co-produced with Figurteatret i Nordland (Nordland Visual Theatre). Co-presented by NUKU and NuQ TREFF, in collaboration with Sakala 3. Produced in partnership with Why Not Theatre.

Developed with support from the Canada Council for the Arts’ New Chapter Program, the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund, the Toronto Arts Council, the Ontario Arts Council, and the Cultural Endowment of Estonia. Supported by and developed at the Harbourfront Centre Performing Arts Residency Program. 

Performance dates

Premiering in Estonia in May 2020.


Join our National Creation Fund email list for the latest updates

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

The Kosinski Project

ZOU Theatre Company Toronto
  • Créée et mise en scène par Viktor Lukawski
  • Développée en collaboration avec la compagnie

Le Kosinski​ Project est une production internationale de théâtre physique qui mêle l’art de la marionnette et la narration cinématographique pour explorer « l’énigme » Jerzy Kosinski, le controversé auteur américano-polonais de L’Oiseau bariolé et de La Présence. L’œuvre explore la « survie créatrice » et la vie d’un artiste né dans l’enfer de la guerre, transforme les événements de la vie et de l’œuvre de Kosinski et examine ses tentatives tout au long de sa vie pour ré-imaginer sa réalité en réaction à la terreur qu’il a vécue durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, tentative qui ultimement mènera à sa perte tant sur le plan professionnel que personnel.

Manipulant des marionnettes grandeur nature et des masques hyper-réalistes, quatre marionnettistes racontent l’histoire d’un auteur qui confronte ses démons dans une suite de scènes hallucinatoires de théâtre physique et d’éléments visuels narratifs pour traduire le parcours fragmenté et discordant de la vie de ce créateur de mythes tombé dans l’oubli.

Compagnie

La compagnie torontoise ZOU est une compagnie de théâtre internationale dirigée par le directeur artistique Viktor Lukawski. La compagnie produit des pièces de théâtre visuel mêlant le théâtre physique et l’art de la marionnette. La compagnie joue à la fois sur le grotesque et la confrontation du public en explorant des thèmes difficiles et résolument dérangeants, explorant des situations et des personnages ambigus avec l’objectif ultime de favoriser l’éveil et la compréhension du public. 

Équipe artistique

  • Créée et mise en scène par Viktor Lukawski
  • Développée en collaboration avec la compagnie
  • Interprétée par Andreu Martinez Costa, Adam Paolozza, Sacha Plaige, Viktor Lukawski
  • Dramaturge Bobby Theodore
  • Conception des marionnettes Pascale Blaison
  • Conception du décor Kristel Maamägi
  • Conception des éclairages Priidu Adlas
  • Conception des costumes Michelle Tracey
  • Conception sonore Kirill Havanski
  • Conception vidéo Taavi Varm
  • Productrice Kendra Bator

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 160 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à ZOU de disposer de plus de temps pour travailler en atelier, y compris dans le cadre d’une résidence internationale afin de développer pleinement l’œuvre grâce à un processus de création collective rigoureux.

Reconnaissance

L’œuvre est commandée par Nordland Visual Theatre et est une coprésentation de NUKU et NuQ TREFF en collaboration avec Sakala 3. Produit en partenariat avec Why Not Theatre.

Développée avec l’aide du Programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts, du Conseil des arts de Toronto, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et de la Fondation culturelle de l’Estonie. Soutenue et développée dans le cadre du programme de résidence de création en arts de la scène du Harbourfront Centre.

Représentations

Présentée en première en Estonie en mai 2020.


Menu