Murmuration

Le Patin Libre Montreal
  • Choreography Le Patin Libre (Alexandre Hamel, Pascale Jodoin, Samory Ba)

Former championship figure skaters turned movement innovators, Le Patin Libre transform the traditional hockey rink into a dramatic stage for contemporary movement.  Blending speed, precision, and intricate choreography, their first two shows, Vertical Influences and Threshold, have toured the world to great acclaim.

For their next project, the Montreal-based collective brings together a much larger group of 15 skaters to break new choreographic ground.  Drawing inspiration from “flocking”, the complex movements exhibited by large groups of birds and fish, Murmuration explores what motivates creatures when they come together and separate at great speed. 

video:

Company

Le Patin Libre was founded in 2005 by Alexandre Hamel, a former professional figure skater and fine arts university student. From early performances presented on frozen ponds, Le Patin Libre has evolved into an acclaimed contemporary dance company that counts international presenters such as UK’s Dance Umbrella and France’s Théâtre de la Ville as champions for this new performing art form.

Creative team

  • Choreography Le Patin Libre (Alexandre Hamel, Pascale Jodoin, Samory Ba)
  • Music Jasmin Boivin and Philippe Le Bon
  • Lighting Yoann Tivoli
  • Costumes Charlyne Guay and Pascale Jodoin
  • Artistic advisors Yaron Lifschitz with Oktawia Ścibior, David Billiau, Kristýna Mikulášová, Taylor Dilley, Sophie Blomqwist, Garrett Kling, Jennifer Edwards, Isaac Lindy, Maude Poulin, Jacqueline Benson, Haley Alcock, Imogen Croft, Samory Ba, Pascale Jodoin, Alexandre Hamel

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $160,000 made it possible for Le Patin Libre to bring together its expanded cast of skaters for several additional workshops dedicated to exploring new techniques and choreography.

Credits

Special partners:  Department of Canadian Heritage and the Government of Quebec.

Co-producers:  CanDanse Creation Fund/ Danse Danse, National Arts Centre, Dance House, Fall for Dance North in collaboration with TO Live, la Rotonde, Théâtre de la Ville de Paris Support Conseil des arts du Canada, Council of Arts and Letters of Quebec, Council of the Arts of Montreal, Dance North Scotland, Patinoire Le Dôme (Laon, France), Patinoire Le Blizz (Rennes, France), City of Baie-Saint-Paul

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

November 10 and 11, 2022:  Aréna Mont-Royal (Montreal)

June 23 to 25, 2022:  Patinoire d'Asnières-sur-Seine - Patinoire Olympique des Courtilles (Paris), presented by Théâtre de la Ville.


Menu

• Chorégraphie Le Patin Libre (Alexandre Hamel, Pascale Jodoin, Samory Ba)

Composé d’anciens patineurs de fantaisie de haut niveau devenus innovateurs de mouvement, Le Patin Libre transforme la patinoire de hockey traditionnelle en scène dramatique de mouvement contemporain. Combinaison de vitesse, de précision et de chorégraphie complexe, leurs deux premiers spectacles, Vertical Influences et Threshold, ont été présentés partout sur la planète, s’attirant de nombreux éloges sur leur passage. 

Pour leur nouveau projet, le collectif montréalais rassemble un groupe beaucoup plus large de 15 patineurs afin d’innover sur le plan chorégraphique.  S’inspirant du phénomène de formation de bandes (“flocking”), les mouvements complexes dont font preuve les gros groupes d’oiseaux et de poissons, Murmuration explore ce qui motive les créatures à s’associer et se dissocier à grande vitesse. 

Compagnie

Le Patin Libre a été fondé en 2005 par Alexandre Hamel, un ancien patineur artistique professionnel et étudiant universitaire en beaux-arts.  De ses premières démonstrations sur des étangs gelés, Le Patin Libre a évolué pour devenir une compagnie de danse contemporaine réputée qui compte des diffuseurs internationaux tels que Dance Umbrella au Royaume-Uni et le Théâtre de la Ville en France parmi les champions de cette nouvelle forme d’art de la scène.

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie Le Patin Libre (Alexandre Hamel, Pascale Jodoin, Samory Ba)
  • Musique Jasmin Boivin et Philippe Le Bon
  • Éclairages Yoann Tivoli
  • Costumes Charlyne Guay et Pascale Jodoin
  • Conseiller artistique Yaron Lifschitz avec Oktawia Ścibior, David Billiau, Kristýna Mikulášová, Taylor Dilley, Sophie Blomqwist, Garrett Kling, Jennifer Edwards, Isaac Lindy, Maude Poulin, Jacqueline Benson, Haley Alcock, Imogen Croft, Samory Ba, Pascale Jodoin, Alexandre Hamel

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de $160 000 du Fonds national de création permettra à Le Patin Libre de rassembler sa distribution élargie de patineurs pour de nombreux ateliers supplémentaires consacrés à l’exploration de nouvelles techniques et chorégraphies.

Reconnaissance

Partenaires spéciaux: Patrimoine Canada, Gouvernement du Québec

Coproductions : Fonds de création CanDanse / Danse Danse, Centre national des Arts, DanceHouse, Fall for Dance North en collaboration avec TO Live, la Rotonde, Théâtre de la Ville de Paris Support Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Dance North Scotland, Patinoire Le Dôme (Laon, France), Patinoire Le Blizz (Rennes, France), Ville de Baie-Saint-Paul

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Performances passées

Présenté par Dansnät Sweden Jan 5 2024 Winpos arena (Umeå, Suède)
Présenté par Norrlandsoperan Jan 7 2024 Swooch arena (Lycksele, Suède)
Présenté par Dansens Hus Jan 9 2024 Patinoire Husby (Stockholm, Suède)
Jan 11 2024 Kungsbacka Ishall (Kungsbacka, Suède)
Présenté par Nyköping Arena Jan 13 2024 Rosvalla Lilla ice hall (Nyköping, Suède)
Présenté par Gävle Theatre Jan 14 2024 Monitor ERP Arena (Gävle, Suède)
Présenté par La Biennale di Venezia Feb 1 - Feb 11, 2024 Arcobaleno Skating Rink, Parco Albanese (Mestre)
Présenté par Maison des arts et loisirs de la ville de Laon Mar 19 - Mar 20, 2024 Le Dôme (Laon, France)
Présenté par La quinzaine de la danse Mar 22 - Mar 24, 2024 Patinoire Olympique de Mulhouse (France)
Présenté par Odyssud Apr 4 - Apr 5, 2024 Patinoire Jacques Raynaud (Blagnac, France)