Sky Dancers

A’nó:wara Dance Theatre Montreal (Kahnawake)
  • Choreography and direction by Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo

Sky Dancers is a new multidisciplinary dance piece that explores the impact of the Quebec Bridge disaster of 1907, which killed 33 ironworkers from the Mohawk community of Kahnawake. The fallout was felt around the world and the aftermath still echoes across generations.  

Choreographer, Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo’s great-grandfather, Louis D’Ailleboust, was one of the men who perished in the tragedy. More than a century later, she explores from an Indigenous perspective, not only the impact the loss had on her community, but also shines a light on the strength of the community, the resilience of the women and the contributions the people have made to society.  

Through the integration of dance, video projections, theatre, sophisticated set design and a mix of contemporary and traditional music, Sky Dancers puts a human face to a story that represents many of the struggles that Indigenous peoples have had to rise above. 

Company

A’nó:wara Dance Theatre is led by Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo.  Originally from Kahnawake and now living in Montreal, Barbara is Kanienkehaka (Mohawk) and has been a dancer and choreographer for more than 25 years.  She specializes in combining traditional First Nation’s dance and contemporary styles, and her goal is to inspire others, encourage cultural pride, uplift the spirit, and increase education and communication.  

Creative team

  • Choreography and direction by Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo
  • Music director Michael Tekaronianeken Diabo 
  • Set, video and lighting design Andy Moro
  • Costume design Jeff Chief 
  • Co-producer Gregg Parks 

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $120,000 will support a technical residency to fully explore the integration of the set, lighting and projections, as well as additional workshops with the dancers to further refine the choreography. 

Credits

Production Partners:  Harbourfront, Y2D Productions and Live Art Dance. 

Developed with support from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake. 

Performance dates

Premiering in 2020. 

Articles & reviews


Menu

Sky Dancers

A’nó:wara Dance Theatre  Montréal (Kahnawake) 
  • Chorégraphie et mise en scène Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo

Sky Dancers est une nouvelle œuvre de danse multidisciplinaire qui explore l’impact de la catastrophe du pont de Québec de 1907, dans laquelle 33 ouvriers, travailleurs du fer et des ponts de la communauté mohawk de Kahnawake, ont perdu la vie. L’événement a résonné à travers le monde, et les impacts ont été ressentis par plusieurs générations.

L’arrière-grand-père de la chorégraphe Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo, Louis D’Ailleboust, est l’un des hommes qui ont perdu la vie dans cette tragédie. Plus d’un siècle plus tard, Diabo explore l’événement d’une perspective autochtone, en abordant non seulement l’impact que cette perte a eu sur sa communauté, mais également la force de cette communauté, la résilience des femmes et les contributions que ses habitants ont faites à la société.

En combinant de la danse, des projections vidéo, du théâtre, une scénographie sophistiquée, et un mélange de musique traditionnelle et contemporaine, Sky Dancers donne un visage humain à une histoire qui représente plusieurs des défis que les autochtones ont eu à surmonter.

video:
© John Lauener
© John Lauener

Compagnie

A’nó:wara Dance Theatre est dirigé par Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo. Originaire de Kahnawake, aujourd’hui établie à Montréal, Barbara est une Kanienkehaka (Mohawk) avec plus de 25 ans d’expérience comme danseuse et chorégraphe. Sa spécialité est de combiner les danses traditionnelles des Premières nations aux styles contemporains, et son but est d’inspirer les autres, encourager la fierté culturelle, élever les esprits et augmenter l’éducation et la communication.

Équipe artistique

  • Chorégraphie et mise en scène Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo
  • Direction musicale Michael Tekaronianeken Diabo 
  • Conception de décors, de projections vidéo et d’éclairage Andy Moro
  • Conception de costume   Jeff Chief 
  • Coproducteur  Gregg Parks 

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 120 000 $ du Fonds national de création viendra appuyer une résidence technique pour pleinement explorer l’intégration du décor, des éclairages et des projections, ainsi que des ateliers supplémentaires avec les danseurs pour peaufiner la chorégraphie.

Reconnaissance

Partenaires de production :  Harbourfront, Y2D Productions et Live Art Dance.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du CNA, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake.

Représentations

Performances à venir

20 au 23 mai 2022:  Fleck Dance Theatre (Toronto), présenté par Harbourfront Centre

Performances Précédentes

10 et 11 septembre 2021:  Première mondiale à la Cinquième Salle, La Place des Arts (Montréal), présenté par le Festival Quartiers Danses

30 septembre 2021:  Spatz Theatre (Halifax), présenté par Prismatic Festival et Live Art Dance

Articles et critiques


Menu