November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

who we are in the dark

Peggy Baker Dance Projects Toronto
  • Concept, choreographic composition and direction by Peggy Baker

Choreographed by acclaimed Canadian dance artist Peggy Baker, who we are in the dark offers the immediacy of daring contemporary dance, supercharged live music, and sophisticated design elements from artists working with pigment, projection, and light.

who we are in the dark is Peggy’s largest project to date, featuring seven outstanding dancers, and live music commissioned from - and performed live by - violinist Sarah Neufeld and drummer Jeremy Gara, both from the Grammy and JUNO Award-winning rock band Arcade Fire.   The work explores and illuminates shifting identities, betrayals, secrets, and intimacies played out in the dark.

video:
video:
© Jeremy Mimnagh

Company

Peggy Baker Dance Projects is dedicated to offering experiences of significance, personal connection, and transformative potential to our audience through the power and beauty of the art of dance. Distinguished from the outset by collaborations with extraordinary creators and performers, the company has built an exceptional body of work and a growing slate of education, engagement, and enrichment programs for all ages and abilities.

Tour inquiries: Marlene Stirrett-Matson (marlene@peggybakerdance.com)

Creative team

  • Concept, choreographic composition and direction by Peggy Baker
  • Composers/Musicians Jeremy Gara and Sarah Neufeld
  • Visual Artist John Heward
  • Projection Jeremy Mimnagh
  • Lighting Marc Parent
  • Costumes Robyn Macdonald

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $120,000 enhanced who we are in the dark’s final development trajectory, which culminated in a week-long technical residency in a fully equipped theatre with the entire creative team and the final design elements.

Credits

who we are in the dark is a co-production of the CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse, National Arts Centre, the Banff Centre and Fall for Dance North in partnership with Canadian Stage and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts. Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

February 21 to 24, 2019: World premiere at the Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto) presented by Canadian Stage in collaboration with Fall for Dance North

February 27 to March 2, 2019:  Theatre Maisonneuve (Montreal) presented by Danse Danse

March 6, 2019:  First Ontario Concert Hall (Hamilton), presented by The Socrates Project, MacMaster University

March 9, 2019:  Eric Harvie Theatre, Banff Centre

March 13, 2019:  Yukon Arts Centre (Whitehorse)

April 9, 2019:  The Grand Theatre (Kingston)

April 12 and 13, 2019: Babs Asper Theatre (Ottawa) presented by NAC Dance

October 19 and 20, 2019: Teatro Principal (Mexico) Festival Internacional Cervantino 

February 6 to 8, 2020:  Theater aan het Spui (The Hague), presented by the Holland Dance Festival


Articles & reviews

Spotlight on Peggy Baker

Peggy Baker sits at a table, her hands on her face, her eyes focused on the rehearsal in front of her. The stage manager’s table is...


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

who we are in the dark

Peggy Baker Dance Projects Toronto
  • Concept, composition chorégraphique et mise en scène Peggy Baker

Chorégraphié par Peggy Baker, figure éminente de la danse canadienne, who we are in the dark offre l’urgence d’une danse contemporaine audacieuse, une musique en direct saturée et une scénographie remarquable réalisée par des artistes travaillant avec des pigments, des projections et de la lumière.

who we are in the dark est le projet le plus ambitieux de Peggy à ce jour, mettant en vedette sept magnifiques danseurs sur une musique originale composée et interprétée en direct par Jeremy Gara et Sarah Neufeld du groupe rock Arcade Fire, primé aux Grammys et aux Junos. L’œuvre explore et éclaire les identités changeantes, les trahisons, les secrets et les moments intimes vécus dans l’obscurité.

video:
video:
© Jeremy Mimnagh

Compagnie

Peggy Baker Dance Projects se consacre à offrir des expériences pleines de sens, de connexion personnelle et de potentiel transformateur à nos publics par l’entremise du pouvoir et de la beauté de l’art de la danse. Se distinguant dès ses débuts par des collaborations avec des créateurs et interprètes extraordinaires, la compagnie a développé un corpus exceptionnel et un éventail croissant de programmes d’éducation, d’engagement et d’enrichissement pour tous les âges et niveaux.

Renseignements au sujet des tournées: Marlene Stirrett-Matson (marlene@peggybakerdance.com)

Équipe artistique

  • Concept, composition chorégraphique et mise en scène Peggy Baker
  • Composition et musiciens Jeremy Gara and Sarah Neufeld
  • Artiste visuel John Heward
  • Projection Jeremy Mimnagh
  • Lumières Marc Parent
  • Costumes Robyn Macdonald

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 120 000 $ du Fonds national de création viendra bonifier la trajectoire de développement final de who we are in the dark, qui culminera dans une résidence technique d’une semaine dans un théâtre pleinement équipé avec l’équipe de création en entier et tous les derniers éléments de design.

Reconnaissance

who we are in the dark est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, Danse Danse, Centre national des Arts, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity et Fall for Dance North en partenariat avec Canadian Stage et soutenu par le Conseil des arts du Canada. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

21 au 24 février 2019: Première mondiale au Bluma Appel Theatre (Toronto) présenté par Canadian Stage en collaboration avec Fall for Dance North

27 février au 2 mars 2019: Théâtre Maisonneuve (Montréal) présenté par Danse Danse

6 mars 2019: First Ontario Concert Hall (Hamilton) présenté par The Socrates Project

9 mars 2019: Eric Harvie Theatre, le Centre des arts de Banff

13 mars 2019:  Centre des arts du Yukon (Whitehorse)

9 avril 2019: The Grand Theatre (Kingston)

12 et 13 avril 2019: Théâtre Babs Asper (Ottawa) présenté par Danse CNA

19 et 20 octobre: Teatro Principal (Mexique) Festival Internacional Cervantino 

6 au 8 février 2020:  Theater aan het Spui (Den Haag), presenté par Holland Dance Festival


Articles et critiques

(Anglais) Spotlight on Peggy Baker

Peggy Baker sits at a table, her hands on her face, her eyes focused on the rehearsal in front of her. The stage manager’s table is...


Menu