Peggy Baker Dance Projects

who we are in the dark

April 2019

  1. Apr 12 2019
    Friday

    7:30pm

  2. Apr 13 2019
    Saturday

    7:30pm

Close
“Peggy… knows how to play up against contemporary orthodoxy and turn it on its head. It’s why she is a great artist…. what she does is always unexpected and always a joy to watch…”  Mikhail Barychnikov

NAC Co-production

Choreographed by eminent Canadian dance artist Peggy Baker, who we are in the dark offers the immediacy of daring contemporary dance, supercharged live music, and exceptional visual design elements. With an original score composed and performed by Jeremy Gara and Sarah Neufeld, both members of Grammy Award-winning rock band Arcade Fire, and seven extraordinary dancers, the work explores and illuminates shifting identities, betrayals, secrets, and intimacies played out in the dark.

Did you know: Peggy Baker has been honoured with numerous awards including the Governor General’s Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

8 Apr

9 Apr

10 Apr

11 Apr

12 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

13 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

14 Apr

Duration

Performance is approximately 65 minutes with no intermission.

video: Peggy Baker Dance Projects
Peggy Baker Dance Projects
video:

Artists

  • Choreography Peggy Baker
  • Composers/Musicians Jeremy Gara and Sarah Neufeld
  • Visual Artist John Heward
  • Projection Jeremy Mimnagh
  • Lighting Marc Parent
  • Co-producers CanDance Network / Réseau CanDanse : National Arts Centre / Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), Danse Danse (Montréal), The Banff Centre for Creativity, Fall for Dance North in partnership with Canadian Stage (Toronto).
Menu

Peggy Baker Dance Projects

who we are in the dark

Cet événement est passé
Danse contemporaine Interdisciplinaire
« Peggy […] sait prendre l’orthodoxie contemporaine à bras-le-corps et la retourner comme un gant. C’est ce qui fait d’elle une si grande artiste […] ce qu’elle fait est toujours inattendu et toujours un plaisir à découvrir. »  Mikhail Barychnikov

Coproduction du CNA

Chorégraphié par Peggy Baker, figure éminente de la danse canadienne, who we are in the dark offre l’urgence d’une danse contemporaine audacieuse, une musique en direct saturée et une scénographie remarquable. Sur une musique originale composée et interprétée par Jeremy Gara et Sarah Neufeld du groupe rock Arcade Fire, primé aux GRAMMY, sept magnifiques danseurs explorent et éclairent les identités changeantes, les trahisons, les secrets et les moments intimes vécus dans l’obscurité.

Le saviez-vous? Peggy Baker a reçu de nombreux prix, dont un prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations artistiques.


Reconnaissance

who we are in the dark est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, Danse Danse, Centre national des Arts, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity et Fall for Dance North en partenariat avec Canadian Stage et soutenu par le Conseil des arts du Canada. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Durée approximative de 65 minutes sans entracte.

video: Peggy Baker and the creation of /sur la création de
Peggy Baker and the creation of /sur la création de "who we are in the dark".
video: Peggy Baker Dance Projects
Peggy Baker Dance Projects
video:
© Photo : Jeremy Mimnagh

Artistes

En savoir plus ›
  • Choréographies Peggy Baker
  • Composition et musiciens Jeremy Gara et Sarah Neufeld
  • « Vocalographie » Fides Krucker
  • Interprètes Nicole Rose Bond, Sarah Fregeau, Mairi Greig, Kate Holden, Benjamin Kamino, David Norsworthy, Jarrett Siddall, Calder White
  • Bâches John Heward
  • Projections Jeremy Mimnagh
  • Lumières Marc Parent
  • Costumes Robyn Macdonald
  • Régisseur, directeur technique et chef éclairagiste Gabriel Cropley
  • Assistant régisseur et superviseur de la composante vidéo James Kendal
  • Ingénieur du son Matthew Lederman
  • Directrice de production Alanna McConnell
  • Coproduction CanDance Network / Réseau CanDanse : National Arts Centre / Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), Danse Danse (Montréal), The Banff Centre for Creativity, Fall for Dance North en partenariat avec Canadian Stage (Toronto) et soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada. Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du CNA.
Menu