October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Peggy Baker Dance Projects

who we are in the dark

It’s such an honour to bring to Ottawa a vast world of dance, shaped by some of the most gifted and innovative artists working across a broad spectrum of styles and influences. As we continue to search out the best and brightest dance companies to present to you, our wonderfully receptive and enthusiastic audience, we invite you to explore the new and the familiar on this extraordinary journey of life in motion!

 Peggy Baker is one of Canada’s most esteemed dance artists, and it’s wonderful to welcome her back to the NAC. Her insatiable curiosity and drive to explore the world through dance has led to numerous remarkable creations, many of which have graced our stages over the years. This ambitious new group work piqued my interest from the get-go, not only because of Peggy’s symbiotic relationship with music but also because of her desire to delve into universal ideas surrounding the theme of darkness. I’m thrilled to support this creation through NAC Dance and in association with the NAC Creation Fund. NAC Dance is honoured to bring you these performances on the traditional, unceded territory of the Algonquin Nation, and we gratefully acknowledge them as past, present, and future stewards of this land. Enjoy! 

Choreographer’s Note

In 2015, violinist Sarah Neufeld and I premiered fractured black – a brief, blazing duet that opened with the lyrics “who we are in the dark.” With a fierce appetite to continue creating together, we zeroed in on that opening line as the starting point for a new work exploring the alluring darkness of night, intimacy, sexuality, the unconscious; the creeping darkness of uncertainty and malice; the confounding darkness of bafflement, secrets, the unknown; the dreadful darkness of cruelty, suffering, grief; the comforting darkness of condolence and contemplation. 

I have worked from text as a primary source for movement invention. The words of Rainer Maria Rilke, Sylvia Plath, Jean Genet, Jeanette Winterson, Pablo Neruda, Henri Michaux, and Roger Greenwald are deeply seeded in the choreography. This work is the creation of a collaborative team: stellar artists working with movement, sound, light, projection, pigment, and fabric. The dancers are primary collaborators, and each of them has left an indelible imprint.

I’ve known the work of John Heward since the 1980s, and the idea of incorporating a group of his paintings hit me like a thunderbolt. This is the first time John’s images have been seen on a stage, and I take the trust he put in me fully to heart. John Heward’s death on November 6, 2018, shook us all, and we share the grief of his loss with his family, friends, and colleagues. This work is dedicated to his memory.

Supporters

Peggy Baker Dance Projects’ season supporter is the BMO Financial Group. We also acknowledge our funding partners the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council. Peggy Baker Dance Projects is company-in-residence at Canada's National Ballet School, and we thank them for their support.

who we are in the dark is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse, the National Arts Centre, The Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, and Fall for Dance North, in partnership with Canadian Stage and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts. This work is being developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Our work is possible only through the generous support of our donors and partners. We extend our heartfelt thanks to the extraordinary individuals and organizations who make our work possible.

Special thanks to Barbara Frum, Ilter Ibrahimof, Matthew Jocelyn, and Sylvia Safdie, and to our donors – without them none of this would be possible. 

Lead Underwriters: Anonymous, Martha Burns, Lynda Hamilton, Jerry and Joan Lozinski, James and Sandra Pitblado, The McLean Foundation, The McLean Smits Family Foundation, Murray and Rean Smith. 

Supporting Underwriters: Faye Cohen and Stacey Hersh, Robert Sirman and the Metcalf Foundation, Norma Smith. 

Ensemble Supporters: Roger Greenwald, Zella Wolofsky and Douglas Wright. 

Supporters: Cheryl Belkin Epstein, Richard Beninger, Rachel Cameron, Patrick Cardarelli, Judith Davidson, Kevin Garland, Eileen Farrow, Susan Farrow, Yvonne and David Fleck, Rina Fraticelli, Sally Hanon and Howard Barton, Wando Ho, Stephanie Hutchison, Sheena MacDonald, Susan Macpherson and Robert Steiner, Tess McLean, Blake Murray and Nancy Riley, Serena Richardson and Kurt Weinheimer, William A. Scott and Yvonne Iten-Scott, Marianne Teminski, Richard Teminski, Sara and Graeme Thomson, Margaret Torrance, Kathleen Ward, Devon and Gary Wolfe.

Menu

Peggy Baker Dance Projects

who we are in the dark

C’est pour moi un privilège d’accueillir à Ottawa des artistes talentueux et inventifs du monde de la danse qui s’inspirent de sources variées et embrassent toute une gamme de styles différents. Nous sommes constamment à l’affût des compagnies les plus brillantes et innovantes pour les présenter à notre public si réceptif et enthousiaste. Nous vous invitons à explorer l’inconnu et le familier dans ce voyage extraordinaire au cœur de la vie en mouvement!

Peggy Baker figure parmi les artistes de danse les plus réputés au Canada, et c’est un plaisir de l’accueillir de nouveau au CNA. Sa curiosité insatiable et sa volonté d’explorer le monde à travers la danse ont donné vie à de nombreuses créations remarquables, dont plusieurs ont gagné nos scènes au fil des ans. Sa troupe a attiré mon attention dès notre première rencontre, par son approche symbiotique de la musique, mais aussi par son désir de sonder l’obscurité et les idées universelles qui l’entourent. Je suis ravie d’appuyer cette création par l’entremise de Danse CNA et en association avec le Fonds national de création. Danse CNA est fière de vous présenter ces prestations en territoire traditionnel non cédé de la Nation algonquine, en qui nous reconnaissons avec gratitude une gardienne du passé, du présent et de l’avenir de ces terres. Bon spectacle!

Mot de la chorégraphe

En 2015, la violoniste Sarah Neufeld et moi avons créé fractured black – un bref et intense duo qui s’ouvrait sur les paroles « who we are in the dark » (littéralement : « qui nous sommes dans l’obscurité »). Avides de poursuivre notre collaboration, nous nous sommes concentrées sur ces mots et en avons fait le point de départ d’une nouvelle œuvre qui se penche sur l’attrait de l’obscurité nocturne, l’intimité, la sexualité, l’inconscient; les ténèbres rampantes de l’insécurité et de la malveillance; la pénombre déroutante de la perplexité, des secrets, de l’inconnu; l’effroyable noirceur de la cruauté, de la souffrance, de l’affliction; l’ombre rassurante et consolatrice de la contemplation. 

J’ai travaillé à partir du texte comme source principale d’invention du mouvement. Les mots de Rainer Maria Rilke, Sylvia Plath, Jean Genet, Jeanette Winterson, Pablo Neruda, Henri Michaux et Roger Greenwald s’inscrivent au cœur même de la chorégraphie. Cette œuvre est le fruit d’une collaboration entre des artistes remarquables qui œuvrent avec pour matériaux le mouvement, le son, la lumière, les projections d’images, les pigments et les tissus. L’apport des danseurs a été essentiel, et chacun d’eux a laissé sur l’œuvre une empreinte indélébile.

Je connaissais le travail de John Heward depuis les années 1980, et l’idée d’intégrer un groupe de ses toiles à la mise en scène m’a frappée comme un coup de tonnerre. C’est la première fois que des images de John apparaissent sur scène, et je prends très à cœur la confiance qu’il m’a accordée. La mort de John Heward, survenue le 6 novembre 2018, nous a tous bouleversés, et c’est un deuil que nous partageons avec sa famille, ses amis et ses collègues. Cette production est dédiée à sa mémoire.

Soutiens

Le partenaire de saison de Peggy Baker Dance Projects est BMO Groupe financier. Nous tenons aussi à souligner la contribution de nos partenaires de financement : le Conseil des arts du Canada et le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario. Nous remercions aussi de son soutien l'École nationale de ballet du Canada, pour laquelle Peggy Baker Dance Projects est actuellement compagnie en résidence.

who we are in the dark est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, de Danse Danse, du Centre national des Arts, du Centre des arts de Banff et de Fall for Dance North, en partenariat avec Canadian Stage et avec l’appui du Conseil des arts du Canada. Cette œuvre a été développée avec l’appui du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada pour son soutien.

Notre travail n’est rendu possible que grâce au généreux appui de nos donateurs et partenaires. Nous remercions chaleureusement les particuliers et les organisations remarquables qui nous permettent de poursuivre notre œuvre.

Nous remercions tout particulièrement Barbara Frum, Ilter Ibrahimof, Matthew Jocelyn, Sylvia Safdie et tous les donateurs sans qui cette production n’aurait pu voir le jour. 

Principaux souscripteurs : Anonyme, Martha Burns, Lynda Hamilton, Jerry et Joan Lozinski, James et Sandra Pitblado, The McLean Foundation, The McLean Smits Family Foundation, Murray et Rean Smith. 

Souscripteurs de soutien : Faye Cohen et Stacey Hersh, Robert Sirman et la Fondation Metcalf, Norma Smith. 

Soutiens de la compagnie : Roger Greenwald, Zella Wolofsky et Douglas Wright. 

Donateurs : Cheryl Belkin Epstein, Richard Beninger, Rachel Cameron, Patrick Cardarelli, Judith Davidson, Kevin Garland, Eileen Farrow, Susan Farrow, Yvonne et David Fleck, Rina Fraticelli, Sally Hanon et Howard Barton, Wando Ho, Stephanie Hutchison, Sheena MacDonald, Susan Macpherson et Robert Steiner, Tess McLean, Blake Murray et Nancy Riley, Serena Richardson et Kurt Weinheimer, William A. Scott et Yvonne Iten-Scott, Marianne Teminski, Richard Teminski, Sara et Graeme Thomson, Margaret Torrance, Kathleen Ward, Devon et Gary Wolfe.

Menu