NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31

Split Tooth

Tanya Tagaq
  • Music and story by Tanya Tagaq
  • Director Kaneza Schaal

Split Tooth tells the story of an adolescent girl growing up in Nunavut whose life is dominated by the magnificence of nature.  This epic new stage production is an extraordinary union of Tanya Tagaq’s improvised musical performances and best-selling debut novel, created in collaboration with director Kaneza Schaal and visual artist Christopher Myers.

 Combining storytelling, animation, and music, and featuring the world’s first-ever Inuit throat singing choir, Tanya brings a radical vision of Arctic Futurism to life through her incisive voice and words.

Company

Tanya Tagaq is an improvisational singer, avant-garde composer and bestselling author. A member of the Order of Canada, Polaris Music Prize and JUNO Award winner, and recipient of multiple honorary doctorates, she is one of the country’s most original and celebrated artists.  

Tanya’s improvisational approach lends itself to collaboration across genres and forms. Her work includes numerous guest vocal appearances, original avant-garde classical compositions, commissions, and more.  In its many forms, Tanya’s art challenges static ideas of genre and culture, and contends with themes of environmentalism, human rights and post-colonial issues.  

Creative team

  • Music and story by Tanya Tagaq
  • Director Kaneza Schaal
  • Scenography Christopher Myers

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $170,000 supports the work’s final stage of development, which includes creation and technical residencies with the creative team and cast in Canada, the U.S. and Germany, and the exceptional costs associated with travel for the artists living in the North.   

Performance dates

World premiere in 2020. 


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.

Split Tooth

Tanya Tagaq
  • Musique et récit Tanya Tagaq
  • Mise en scène Kaneza Schaal

Split Tooth raconte l’histoire d’une adolescente au Nunavut dont la vie est dominée par les merveilles de la nature. Cette nouvelle production épique est une fusion extraordinaire des prestations musicales improvisées et du premier roman acclamé de Tanya Tagaq, créée en collaboration avec la metteure en scène Kaneza Schaal et l’artiste visuel Christopher Myers.

En combinant récit, animation et musique, ainsi que la toute première chorale de chants de gorge inuits au monde, Tanya Tagaq donne vie à une vision radicale du futurisme arctique par sa voix et ses mots incisifs.  

Compagnie

Tanya Tagaq est une virtuose de l’improvisation vocale, une compositrice d’avant-garde et une romancière à succès. Membre de l’Ordre du Canada, lauréate du Prix de musique Polaris et d’un JUNO, et récipiendaire de nombreux doctorats honorifiques, elle se classe parmi les artistes les plus originaux et réputés au pays.  

Son recours à l’improvisation se prête à la collaboration entre les genres et les formes. Elle se produit régulièrement comme chanteuse invitée, et a signé des compositions classiques originales novatrices, des commandes et bien plus encore. Sous ses multiples formes, l’art de Mme Tagaq remet en question les conceptions statiques des genres et des cultures, et adresse des enjeux liés à l’environnement, aux droits de la personne et au post-colonialisme. 

Équipe artistique

  • Musique et récit Tanya Tagaq
  • Mise en scène Kaneza Schaal
  • Scénographie Christopher Myers

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 170 000 $ du Fonds national de création viendra appuyer la dernière étape de développement de l’œuvre, qui comprend la création et les résidences techniques avec l’équipe de création et la distribution au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Allemagne, et couvrir les coûts de déplacement exceptionnel pour les artistes qui habitent le Nord.   

Représentations

Première en 2020. 


Menu