September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.

Do you mind if I sit here?

Theatre Replacement Vancouver
  • Created by Theatre Replacement in collaboration with the assembled artists

Theatre Replacement has kept a small studio space in Vancouver’s Russian Hall since 2011. Some years ago, in a neighbouring closet, the company came across close to 20 hours of 16mm films sent from the USSR between the 1950’s and 80s. These slowly decomposing artifacts, many of them fragments, cover everything from heavy industry to demonstrations of folk dances. Drawing on this discovery as both a conceptual and aesthetic spark, Do you mind if I sit here?  brings together an ensemble of artists to develop an immersive performance that combines speculative fiction and a shared meal.  

We begin this process at a moment of significant global uncertainty and, hopefully, equally unbound imagination. After two years of development, Do you mind if I sit here?  will offer audiences a place and a moment wherein we might collectively imagine a future we could have never guessed would exist.

Company

Theatre Replacement is an ongoing collaboration between James Long and Maiko Yamamoto. Whether working together or apart, they work with a wide range of collaborators and use extended processes to create performances, events and public art projects from intentionally simple beginnings. Conversations, interviews and arguments collide with Yamamoto and Long’s aesthetics, resulting in theatrical experiences that are authentic, immediate and hopeful. Their work is about a genuine attempt to coexist. Formed in 2003 and based in Vancouver British Columbia, the company’s work has been created and performed across Canada and internationally.  

Creative team

  • Created by Theatre Replacement in collaboration with the assembled artists
  • Directed by James Long
  • Text by Marcus Youssef
  • Video Design Candelario Andrade
  • Video Design Support Tia Taurere-Clearsky
  • Sound Design Mauricio Pauly
  • Sound Design Support Alex Abahmed
  • Lighting Design Sophie Tang
  • Producer Corbin Murdoch

National Creation Fund investment

The intended goal of this new work is to create as immersive an experience as possible. The National Creation Fund’s investment of $125,000 allows Theatre Replacement to immediately integrate the media artists and associated equipment in every stage of development for Do you mind if I sit here?.  

Credits

Presentation Partner: PuSh International Performing Arts Festival.

Development partner: Neworld Theatre.  

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Performance dates

World premiere in January 2022. 


Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Do you mind if I sit here?

Theatre Replacement Vancouver
  • Une création de Theatre Replacement, en collaboration avec les artistes

Theatre Replacement loue un petit espace studio dans le Russian Hall de Vancouver depuis 2011. Il y a quelques années, dans un placard avoisinant, l’équipe est tombée sur près de 20 heures de films 16mm envoyés de l’URSS entre les années 1950 et 1980. Ces artéfacts en décomposition lente, plusieurs réduits à de simples fragments, couvrent une vaste gamme de sujets, de la machinerie lourde aux démonstrations de danse folkloriques. S’inspirant de cette découverte tant sur le plan conceptuel qu’esthétique, Do you mind if I sit here?  réunit un groupe d’artistes pour développer un spectacle immersif qui combine la fiction spéculative à un repas partagé.  

Theatre Replacement a lancé ce processus dans un moment d’incertitude mondiale important et d’imagination débridée. Après deux ans en développement, Do you mind if I sit here?  offrira au public un espace et un moment pour imaginer collectivement un avenir dont nous n’aurions jamais pu soupçonner l’existence.  

Compagnie

Theatre Replacement est une collaboration continue entre James Long et Maiko Yamamoto. Que ce soit ensemble ou individuellement, ils travaillent avec un vaste éventail de collaborateurs et utilisent des processus prolongés pour créer des prestations, des événements et des projets d’art public à partir d’idées volontairement simples. Les conversations, entrevues et disputes se heurtent aux esthétiques de Yamamoto et Long, donnant lieu à des expériences théâtrales authentiques, immédiates et pleines d’espoir. Leur travail marque une tentative authentique de coexister. Formée en 2003 et établie à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, la compagnie a créé et présenté des œuvres partout au Canada et à l’étranger.   

Équipe artistique

  • Une création de Theatre Replacement, en collaboration avec les artistes
  • Mise en scène James Long
  • Texte Marcus Youssef
  • Conception vidéo Candelario Andrade
  • Appui à la conception vidéo Tia Taurere-Clearsky
  • Conception sonore Mauricio Pauly
  • Appui à la conception sonore Alex Abahmed
  • Conception d’éclairage Sophie Tang
  • Producteur Corbin Murdoch

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 125 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra à Theatre Replacement d’immédiatement intégrer les artistes médias et l’équipement associé à chaque étape du développement de Do you mind if I sit here? pendant une période de développement prolongée, afin de créer une expérience aussi immersive que possible.   

Reconnaissance

Partenaire de présentation : PuSh International Performing Arts Festival. 

Partenaire de développement : Neworld Theatre.  

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.  

Représentations

Première mondiale en janvier 2022.    


Menu