October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Forgiveness

Arts Club Theatre Company and Theatre Calgary Vancouver and Calgary
  • Written by Hiro Kanagawa
  • Directed by Stafford Arima
  • Based on the book by Mark Sakamoto

Forgiveness is a new work by playwright Hiro Kanagawa, adapted from the memoir Forgiveness: A Gift from My Grandparents by Mark Sakamoto. Mark’s book, which won the CBC Canada Reads competition in 2018, tell the stories of his grandparents, their struggles during World War II, and the peace they were able to find.

Spanning three decades, traveling to several countries, and featuring dozens of characters, this expansive production will be unified by an elegant combination of animation and projection design that will conjure the myriad of physical locations and emotional landscapes, acting as a bridge between times and places.

Illustration by Cindy Mochizuki

Company

Vancouver’s Arts Club Theatre Company began with the belief that cultivating local artists to tell stories enlivened by our shared experiences strengthens the community. Over 50 years later, the company continues to be a national leader in the development of Canadian theatre, and provides patrons with cultural enrichment and engagement to enhance the lives of those it serves. The Arts Club stages eclectic programming throughout its three venues with a focus on developing and producing new Canadian plays in each season. 

 

Founded in 1968, Theatre Calgary’s mission is to produce work which stimulates, provokes, and delights. As Calgary's first and largest professional theatre company, it strives to reflect the communities, the country, and the world we live in with ambitious programming, passionate community engagement and extraordinary productions. 

Creative team

  • Written by Hiro Kanagawa
  • Directed by Stafford Arima
  • Based on the book by Mark Sakamoto
  • Dramaturg Stephen Drover
  • Animator Cindy Mochizuki
  • Project design James Nesbitt
  • Original compositions Reza Jacobs
  • Set design Pamela Johnson

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $150,000 will allow the two companies to devote considerably more time to the development process, and the projection and animation artists will be integrated into each phase of the project’s development, which will influence and inspire the generation of new content from all members of the creative team. 

Credits

Co-commissioned and co-produced by the Arts Club Theatre Company and Theatre Calgary. Originally commissioned as a part of the Arts Club’s Silver Commissions project.  

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.  

Performance dates

Premiering in 2022. 


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.

Forgiveness

Arts Club Theatre Company et Theatre Calgary Vancouver et Calgary
  • Texte Hiro Kanagawa
  • Mise en scène Stafford Arima
  • Inspiré du livre de Mark Sakamoto

Forgiveness est une nouvelle œuvre du dramaturge Hiro Kanagawa, adaptée du récit biographique Forgiveness: A Gift from My Grandparents de Mark Sakamoto. Le livre de Mark, qui a remporté la compétition Canada Reads de CBC en 2018, raconte l’histoire de ses grands-parents, de leurs épreuves pendant la 2e Guerre mondiale, et de la paix qu’ils ont réussi à trouver.

Couvrant trois décennies, plusieurs pays et des douzaines de personnages, cette vaste production sera unifiée par une combinaison élégante d’animation et de projections qui évoqueront la multitude de lieux physiques et de paysages émotifs, servant de pont entre les époques et les espaces.

Forgiveness

Compagnie

Arts Club Theatre Company de Vancouver est né de la conviction que cultiver des artistes locaux pour raconter des récits alimentés par nos expériences partagées vient renforcer une communauté. Plus de 50 ans plus tard, la compagnie continue d’être un chef de file national dans le développement du théâtre canadien et enrichit culturellement la vie de ceux qu’elle dessert. The Arts Club offre une programmation éclectique dans ses trois salles de spectacle et se concentre sur le développement et la production de nouvelles pièces canadiennes chaque saison. 

 

Fondé en 1968, Theatre Calgary a comme mission de produire des œuvres stimulantes, provocantes, et réjouissantes. En tant que première et plus grande compagnie professionnelle de théâtre de Calgary, Theatre Calgary cherche à refléter les communautés, le pays et le monde dans lequel nous vivons à l’aide d’une programmation ambitieuse, d’un engagement communautaire passionné et de productions extraordinaires. 

Équipe artistique

  • Texte Hiro Kanagawa
  • Mise en scène Stafford Arima
  • Inspiré du livre de Mark Sakamoto
  • Conseils dramaturgiques Stephen Drover
  • Animation Cindy Mochizuki
  • Conception de projet James Nesbitt
  • Compositions originales Reza Jacobs
  • Scénographie Pamela Johnson

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 150 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra aux deux compagnies de consacrer beaucoup plus de temps au processus de développement et d’y intégrer les artistes de projection et d’animation à chaque étape, ce qui viendra influencer et inspirer la génération de nouveau contenu par tous les membres de l’équipe de création. 

Reconnaissance

Une commande conjointe et coproduction d’Arts Club Theatre Company et Theatre Calgary. Originalement commandé dans le cadre du projet Silver Commissions d’Arts Club.  

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Représentations

Première en 2022.  


Menu