• Artistic director charles c. smith

Searching for Eastman is a full-length, multidisciplinary performance in four acts based on the interpretation of four of Julius Eastman’s compositions through poetry, theatre, music, dance, and video. These pieces are: (1) Evil Nigger; (2) Prelude to St. Joan; (3) Stay On It; and (4) Gay Guerrilla. This work is a choreopoem whose roots trace through the African griot tradition, the Harlem renaissance and the Black arts movement. 

Eastman was a ‘notorioius’ Black/queer minimalist composer, musician, singer and choreography closely associated with the growth of American minimalism in his years at the University of Buffalo and in the burgeoning minimalist scene in New York City. He was a startling artist and provocative character who was outspoken about his social identities which he infused into his compositions.  

Each act reveals something of Eastman’s life, from childhood on with particular attention to his being caught between worlds, neither home in Black or queer spaces during times of turbulence related to these identities.

Project description provided by charles c. smith.

Company

The wind in the leaves collective is a dynamic and diverse group of accomplished, passionate artists who come together to create rich and evocative multi-disciplinary performances centered on the poetry of Artistic Director charles c. smith – performances that take artistic risks, push genre boundaries and engage artists and audiences from diverse backgrounds and artistic practices. 

The collective is guided by the belief that art leads change, and community outreach and engagement is at the very core of the collective’s mission. They are deeply engaged in a variety of projects designed to inspire and to support the teaching of cultural literacy and creative expression in the underserved communities across Ontario. 

Creative team

  • Artistic director charles c. smith
  • Music Julius Eastman
  • Performers Kevin A. Ormsby, Yui Ugai, Shannon Litzenberger, Ana Groppler, Ben Russell, Bakari Lindsay, Claire Whitaker, Morgyn Aronyk-Schell, charles c. smith, Jillia Cato, Katie Couchie, Aryana Malekzedah, Jadon Trelour
  • Video artist S’quire Johnson
  • Production manager Sharon DiGenova
  • Producer Jenny McCowan
  • Project coordinator Jillia Cato

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $149,000 makes it possible for the collective to gather for a four-week workshop to further develop the work, including the video and costume design, as well as an extended final rehearsal process that will bring all of the production elements together. 

Credits

Canadian Stage, Citadel + Compagnie, Atlantic Ballet, Ontario Arts Council, Canada Council for the Arts, Toronto Arts Council, Community One Foundation Rainbow Grants. 

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Past performances

Impact de la fumée sur la qualité de l'air au CNA

Searching for Eastman

wind in the leaves collective Toronto
  • Directeur artistique charles c. smith

Searching for Eastman est un spectacle multidisciplinaire en quatre actes, basé sur l’interprétation de quatre compositions de Julius Eastman à travers la poésie, le théâtre, la musique, la danse et la vidéo. Ces pièces sont les suivantes : (1) Evil Nigger; (2) Prelude to St. Joan; (3) Stay On It; (4) Gay Guerrilla. Cette œuvre est un poème chorégraphique (ou choréopoème) dont les racines plongent dans la tradition des griots africains, la Renaissance de Harlem et le Black Arts Movement. 

Eastman était un compositeur, musicien, chanteur et chorégraphe minimaliste « notoirement » noir et queer, étroitement associé à l’essor du minimalisme américain pendant ses années à l’université de Buffalo et sur la scène minimaliste naissante de New York. C’était un artiste flamboyant et un personnage provocateur parlant ouvertement de ses identités sociales, qu’il infusait dans ses compositions.  

Chaque acte révèle un aspect de la vie d’Eastman, depuis l’enfance, avec une attention particulière à sa situation, tiraillé entre deux mondes, alors qu’il ne se sentait chez lui ni dans les milieux noirs ni dans les milieux queers pendant les périodes de turbulence liées à ces identités. 

Description du projet fournie par charles c. smith.

Compagnie

Le wind in the leaves collective est un groupe dynamique et diversifié d’artistes accomplis et passionnés, qui se réunissent pour créer des spectacles multidisciplinaires riches et évocateurs centrés sur la poésie du directeur artistique charles c. smith – des spectacles qui prennent des risques artistiques, repoussent les limites du genre, et attirent des artistes et des publics d’origines et de pratiques artistiques diverses. 

Le collectif est porté par la conviction que l’art conduit au changement, et la sensibilisation et la mobilisation de la collectivité sont au cœur même de sa mission. Le collectif est profondément engagé dans une variété de projets conçus pour inspirer et soutenir l’enseignement de l’alphabétisation culturelle et de l’expression créative dans les communautés mal desservies à travers l’Ontario. 

Équipe artistique

  • Directeur artistique charles c. smith
  • Musique Julius Eastman
  • Interprètes Kevin A. Ormsby, Yui Ugai, Shannon Litzenberger, Ana Groppler, Ben Russell, Bakari Lindsay, Claire Whitaker, Morgyn Aronyk-Schell, charles c. smith, Jillia Cato, Katie Couchie, Aryana Malekzedah, Jadon Trelour
  • Vidéaste S’quire Johnson
  • Directrice de production Sharon DiGenova
  • Productrice Jenny McCowan
  • Coordonnatrice de projet Jillia Cato

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 149 000 $ du Fonds national de création permet au collectif de se réunir pour un atelier de quatre semaines afin de poursuivre le développement de l’œuvre, y compris la conception de la vidéo et des costumes, ainsi qu’un processus de répétition finale prolongé qui réunira tous les éléments de la production. 

Reconnaissance

Canadian Stage, Citadel + Compagnie, Atlantic Ballet, Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Conseil des arts du Canada, Toronto Arts Council, Community One Foundation Rainbow Grants 

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Performances passées