October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Tell Tale Harbour

Confederation Centre of the Arts Charlottetown
  • Created by Adam Brazier, Alan Doyle, Bob Foster and Edward Riche
  • Directed by Jillian Keiley

Adapted from the film screenplay The Grand Seduction by Ken Scott, Tell Tale Harbour is a new large-scale musical that is inspired by Atlantic Canada and the resilient people who proudly live there.  Set in a fictional town, the musical tells the story of how a tight-knit community must learn to lie, cheat, con, and perhaps most difficult of all, work together to convince an American doctor to make Tell Tale Harbour his home, and save what’s left of their beloved harbour. 

Led by a creative team of acclaimed East Coast artists, the musical draws on the folk-art traditions of the region, and its many musical styles and dances.  Tell Tale Harbour is a celebration of smaller industry towns, both in Atlantic Canada and throughout the country, that continually struggle to feel relevant in an ever-changing world.    

Company

For more than 55 years, Confederation Centre of the Arts has been providing Canadians and visitors with an opportunity to experience the multiple cultures, histories, stories, and contexts of Canada’s origins and evolution. Through engaging visual arts exhibitions, theatrical performances, music, dance, education, and heritage programming, it is Canada’s hub for learning about how this nation was formed, and how our identity continues to evolve. 

As a national cultural hub in the Atlantic region, the Centre plays a critical role in the economic and social well-being of the community. In the heart of downtown Charlottetown, the birthplace of Canadian Confederation, the Centre brings Indigenous, Francophone, and multicultural Canadian voices to the world and help visitors connect with the past, present, and future.  

Creative team

  • Created by Adam Brazier, Alan Doyle, Bob Foster and Edward Riche
  • Directed by Jillian Keiley
  • Adapted from the original screenplay by Ken Scott
  • Choreographer / Assistant Director Dayna Tekatch
  • Stage managers Krista Blackwood and Chantal Hayman

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $175,000 supports several additional workshops to further develop the musical’s book, score, choreography, and design, and also makes it possible to expand the number of musicians involved.

Credits

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Performance dates

World premiere in 2022. 

Articles & reviews


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Tell Tale Harbour

Centre des arts de la Confédération Charlottetown
  • Livret et paroles Adam Brazier, Alan Doyle, Bob Foster et Edward Riche
  • Mise en scène Jillian Keiley

Adapté du scénario cinématographique The Grand Seduction de Ken Scott, Tell Tale Harbour est une nouvelle comédie musicale à grande échelle inspirée du Canada atlantique et des gens résilients qui y habitent fièrement. Campé dans un village fictif, la comédie musicale raconte l’histoire d’une communauté tissée serrée qui doit apprendre à mentir, tricher, duper et, plus difficile encore, travailler ensemble pour convaincre un médecin américain d’élire domicile à Tell Tale Harbour et ainsi sauver ce qui reste du port bien-aimé.  

Menée par une équipe de création composée d’artistes réputés de la côte Est, la comédie musicale s’inspire des traditions d’art folklorique de la région, ainsi que de sa multitude de danses et de styles musicaux. Tell Tale Harbour est une célébration des petites villes ouvrières, au Canada atlantique et partout au pays, qui cherchent perpétuellement à demeurer pertinentes dans un monde en évolution constante.   

Compagnie

Depuis plus de 55 ans, le Centre des arts de la Confédération offre aux Canadiens et aux visiteurs l’occasion de découvrir les multiples cultures, histoires, récits et contextes des origines et de l’évolution du Canada. Grâce à des expositions d’arts visuels, des représentations théâtrales, de la musique, de la danse, des programmes éducatifs et patrimoniaux, le Centre est la plaque tournante du Canada pour l’apprentissage de la formation de notre nation et de l’évolution de notre identité. 

En tant que centre culturel national dans la région de l’Atlantique, le Centre joue un rôle essentiel dans le bien-être économique et social de la communauté. Au cœur du centre-ville de Charlottetown, berceau de la Confédération canadienne, le Centre fait entendre les voix autochtones, francophones et multiculturelles du Canada et aide les visiteurs à se rapprocher du passé, du présent et de l’avenir.  

Équipe artistique

  • Livret et paroles Adam Brazier, Alan Doyle, Bob Foster et Edward Riche
  • Mise en scène Jillian Keiley
  • Scénario original Ken Scott
  • Chorégraphie/Appui à la mise en scène Dayna Tekatch
  • Régie Krista Blackwood et Chantal Hayman

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 175 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra plusieurs ateliers supplémentaires pour développer davantage le livret, la musique, la chorégraphie et la conception de la comédie musicale, et rendra possible l’implication de plus de musiciens.

Reconnaissance

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Représentations

Première mondiale en 2022. 

Articles et critiques


Menu