October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

UNDISRUPTED

National Arts Centre Orchestra Ottawa
  • Curators Measha Brueggergosman
    Shawnee Kish
    Nicole Lizée
    Ana Sokolović
  • Music Director and Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • Creative Producer Donna Feore

UNDISRUPTED is a ground-breaking series of televisual episodes crafted to redefine the orchestra experience on screen.  Visionary curators Measha Brueggergosman, Shawnee Kish, Nicole Lizée and Ana Sokolović were each invited to create highly personal new works using the National Arts Centre Orchestra as their megaphone.

Following their recording sessions with the orchestra, the curators worked alongside Montreal’s Normal Studio to create a unique visual experience that blends the energy, dynamism and intimacy of live orchestral performance through graphic design and mixed reality.  An artistic response to unprecedented times, each of UNDISRUPTED’s four episodes will reflect the diverse talent and experiences of the curators and their collaborators.

video:
video:
video:
video:
video:

Company

Since its debut in 1969, the National Arts Centre Orchestra has been praised for the passion and clarity of its performances, its visionary educational programs, and its prominent role in nurturing Canadian creativity. Under the leadership of Music Director Alexander Shelley, the Orchestra performs a full series of subscription concerts at the National Arts Centre each season, featuring world-class artists. The NAC Orchestra also reaches a national and international audience through touring, recordings, and extensive educational outreach.

Measha Brueggergosman is an international award-winning Canadian soprano who performs both as a classical and popular music artist.  In 2015, she appeared in the documentary television series Songs of Freedom, which profiled her exploring and learning about her African heritage leading up to a live concert performance of African-American spiritual music.

Shawnee Kish, an Indigenous powerhouse singer-songwriter, was the winner of CBC Music’s Searchlight 2020.  Shawnee proudly identifies as a two-spirit person and is passionate about supporting LGBTQ2S+ youth through her inspirational music and performances.

Called “a brilliant musical scientist” (CBC), Montreal-based composer and video artist Nicole Lizée creates new music from an eclectic mix of influences.  Nicole’s compositions range from works for orchestra to pieces for solo turntablist featuring DJ techniques that are fully notated and integrated into a concert music setting.

Serbian-born Canadian composer Ana Sokolović was the first female composer to be commissioned to write for the Canadian Opera Company.  In 2019, she won the JUNO Award for Classical Composition of the Year for her work “Golden Slumbers Kiss Your Eyes...”, which was commissioned and recorded by the NAC Orchestra.

Creative team

  • Curators Measha Brueggergosman
    Shawnee Kish
    Nicole Lizée
    Ana Sokolović
  • Music Director and Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • Creative Producer Donna Feore
  • Visual design Normal Studio
  • Sound producer Carl Talbot, MUSICOM Productions
  • Video capture ProdCan Inc.
  • Lighting designer Kimberly Purtell

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $150,000 supported extended time for each of the curators to research and prepare their work, and made it possible for the creative and technical teams to test and refine project materials and design through additional workshops.

Credits

Distribution partner:  CBC / Radio-Canada

The National Arts Centre Foundation wishes to acknowledge and thank the donors who have made Undisrupted possible:

The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence  

Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM 

The Hon. Hilary M. Weston and the late Mr. W. Galen Weston 

Donors to the NAC National Creation Fund

Performance dates

Premierered on August 27, 2021 and now available on CBC Gem

Articles & reviews


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

INCONDITIONNEL

Orchestre du Centre national des Arts Ottawa
  • Commissaires Measha Brueggergosman
    Shawnee Kish
    Nicole Lizée
    Ana Sokolović
  • Directeur musical et chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • Productrice du contenu créatif Donna Feore

INCONDITIONNEL est une série révolutionnaire d’épisodes télévisés qui réinvente l’expérience orchestrale numérique. Les visionnaires Measha Brueggergosman, Shawnee Kish, Nicole Lizée et Ana Sokolović ont été invitées à puiser dans leurs propres expériences et à concevoir l’Orchestre comme un porte-voix.

Une fois les séances d’enregistrement avec l’Orchestre terminées, les commissaires ont travaillé avec le studio montréalais Normal pour créer une expérience visuelle unique qui mêle l’énergie, le dynamisme et l’intimité d’une performance orchestrale en direct à travers la conception graphique et la réalité mixte. Réponse artistique à une époque sans précédent, chacun des quatre épisodes d’INCONDITIONNEL reflétera les divers talents et expériences des commissaires et de leurs collaborateurs.

video:
video:
video:
video:
video:

Compagnie

Depuis sa création en 1969, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts (CNA) reçoit des éloges pour la passion et la clarté de ses interprétations, pour ses programmes éducatifs novateurs et pour son apport à l’expression de la créativité canadienne. Sous la direction du directeur musical Alexander Shelley, l’Orchestre présente chaque saison au Centre national des Arts une série complète de concerts d’abonnement mettant en vedette des artistes de calibre mondial. L’Orchestre du CNA touche également un public national et international par le biais de tournées, d’enregistrements et d’un vaste programme d’éducation.

Measha Brueggergosman est une soprano canadienne primée sur la scène internationale qui se produit à la fois en tant qu’artiste de musique classique et populaire. En 2015, elle fit l’objet d’une série télévisée documentaire Songs of Freedom, où elle découvrait et explorait son héritage africain avant de donner un concert de musique spirituelle afro-américaine en direct.

Shawnee Kish, une auteure-compositrice-interprète autochtone, a remporté le concours Searchlight 2020 de CBC Music. Shawnee s’identifie fièrement comme une personne à deux esprits et se passionne pour le soutien des jeunes LGBTQ2S+ à travers sa musique et ses prestations inspirantes.

Qualifiée de « brillante scientifique musicale » (CBC), la compositrice et vidéaste montréalaise Nicole Lizée crée de la musique nouvelle à partir d’un mélange éclectique d’influences. Les compositions de Nicole vont d’œuvres pour orchestre à des pièces pour platiniste solo mettant en vedette des techniques de DJ entièrement notées et intégrées à un contexte de musique de concert.

La compositrice canadienne d’origine serbe Ana Sokolović a été la première compositrice à recevoir une commande d’écriture pour la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne. En 2019, elle a remporté le prix JUNO de la composition classique de l’année pour son œuvre « Golden Slumbers Kiss Your Eyes… », commandée et enregistrée par l’Orchestre du CNA.

Équipe artistique

  • Commissaires Measha Brueggergosman
    Shawnee Kish
    Nicole Lizée
    Ana Sokolović
  • Directeur musical et chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • Productrice du contenu créatif Donna Feore
  • Conception visuelle Normal Studio
  • Producteur audio Carl Talbot, MUSICOM Productions
  • Captation vidéo ProdCan Inc.
  • Conceptrice d’éclairage Kimberly Purtell

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 150 000 $ du Fonds national de création a accordé plus de temps de recherche et de préparation à chacune des visionnaires, et a permis à l’équipe de création et à l’équipe technique de tester et peaufiner des matériaux et des concepts lors d’ateliers supplémentaires.

Reconnaissance

Partenaire de distribution : CBC / Radio-Canada

La Fondation du Centre national des Arts souhaite remercier les donatrices et donateurs qui ont rendu INCONDITIONNEL possible :

Le Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique

Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM

L'Hon. Hilary M. Weston et du regretté M. W. Galen Weston

Les donatrices et donateurs du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts

Représentations

Première a eu lieu le 27 août 2021; maintenant disponible sur ICI Tou.tv

Articles et critiques


Menu