• Creator, Director/Librettist HAUI

APORTIA CHRYPTYCH: A BLACK OPERA FOR PORTIA WHITE recollects the legend, myth, and history of Canadian contralto, "the daughter of destiny." The narrative follows Portia White's passage through death, fractured into her divine feminine trinity: Portia Body, Portia Soul, and Portia Spirit. As she traverses her past memories, both cryptic and coded, Portia attempts to reconcile her secrets to transcend her earthly existence in the hopes of ascension. 

Despite racial and gender barriers, Portia White's life was about overcoming obstacles, and ultimately, the opera is a celebration of her triumphs and legacy. In a story of experience and appropriation, reclamation, and proclamation, this work reimagines the score as Musical Scripture, drawing from the past to redefine and colourize history. Synthesized of an eclectic range of musical styles, the opera seeks to unpack the siloed nature of popularized music and "European" operatic forms to bridge unity between artistic communities.

Utilizing spirituals, existing repertoire, spoken word, rap, folk songs, hip-hop, R&B, and jazz, this work redefines opera for new diverse audiences in this multidisciplinary operatic opus. 

Company

HAUI is a mixed media artist who directs, designs and devises new works in film, theatre and opera. Their goal is to create:  

Hybrid forms of  
Artistic work with  
Unique  
Interpretation. 

The Canadian Opera Company, based in Toronto, is the largest producer of opera in Canada and in North America. General Director Perryn Leech joined the company in 2021, forming a leadership team with Music Director Johannes Debus and Deputy General Director Christie Darville and key artistic staff including Roberto Mauro, Director of Artistic Planning.

The COC enjoys a loyal audience, including a dedicated base of subscribers, and has an international reputation for artistic excellence and creative innovation. Its diverse repertoire includes new commissions and productions, local and international collaborations with leading opera companies and festivals, and attracts the worlds foremost Canadian and international artists.

The company is an incubator for the future of the art form, nurturing Canadas new wave of opera performers and creators with customized training and support. The COCs purpose-built opera house, the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, is hailed internationally as one of the finest in the world. 

Creative team

  • Creator, Director/Librettist HAUI
  • Performer/Dramaturg Neema Bickersteth
  • Composer Sean Mayes

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Funds investment of $190,000 supports onboarding of diverse artists, mentorship and succession opportunities. Additionally, there are dedicated funds for a music and orchestration workshop and a staging and design workshop in 2023. 

Credits

Produced by the Canadian Opera Company, in association with the National Arts Centres National Creation Fund, Canada Council for the Arts and Ontario Arts Council. 

Performance dates

Premiering as part of the 2023-2024 season at the Canadian Opera Company 


Menu

• Création, mise en scène et livret HAUI

APORTIA CHRYPTYCH: A BLACK OPERA FOR PORTIA WHITE raconte la légende, le mythe et l’histoire de la contralto canadienne, Portia White, qui a connu un destin hors du commun. L’opéra raconte le récit de sa mort par la voie de la trinité divine au féminin : le corps de Portia, l’âme de Portia et l’esprit de Portia. Alors qu’elle revit ses souvenirs passés, à la fois énigmatiques et cryptiques, Portia tente de faire la paix avec ses secrets pour transcender son existence terrestre dans l’espoir de connaître une ascension spirituelle.

Toute sa vie, Portia White a surmonté les obstacles de genre et de race, et cet opéra est l’occasion de célébrer ses triomphes et son héritage. Mettant en scène les expériences de la chanteuse, allant de l’appropriation, à la revendication et à la proclamation, cette œuvre déploie sa partition à la manière une Bible musicale, puisant dans le passé pour redéfinir et colorer l’histoire. Combinant une gamme éclectique de styles musicaux, l’opéra tente de briser les cloisons entre la musique populaire et les formes lyriques « européennes » pour faire le pont entre les différentes communautés artistiques.

En se servant du spiritualisme, du répertoire actuel, du slam, du rap, de chants folkloriques, du hip-hop, de R&B et du jazz, cet opéra multidisciplinaire redéfinit le genre et séduira un public nouveau et diversifié. 

Compagnie

Artiste multidisciplinaire, HAUI dirige, conçoit et interprète de nouvelles œuvres pour le cinéma, le théâtre et l’opéra. Son objectif est de créer des œuvres artistiques de forme hybride à l’interprétation singulière (Hybrid forms of Artistic work with Unique Interpretation).  

La Compagnie d’opéra canadienne (COC) de Toronto est la plus importante productrice d’opéras au Canada et en Amérique du Nord. Le directeur général, Perryn Leech, s’est joint en 2021 à l’équipe de direction de la COC, formée de la directrice musicale Johannes Debus et de la directrice générale adjointe Christie Darville, ainsi que de membres clé du personnel artistique, dont Roberto Mauro, directeur de la planification artistique.

La COC a conquis un public fidèle, notamment un grand nombre de personnes abonnées, et est reconnue mondialement pour son excellence artistique, sa créativité et ses innovations. Son répertoire varié comprend des commandes et de nouvelles productions, des collaborations régionales et internationales avec des compagnies et des festivals d’opéra de premier plan, et attire les artistes les plus prestigieux du Canada et d’ailleurs.

Incubatrice dédiée à cette forme d’art, la compagnie appuie la nouvelle génération d’interprètes et de créateurs et créatrices d’opéra grâce à des formations et du soutien personnalisés. Le Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, conçu spécialement pour la COC, est reconnu comme l’une des meilleures salles d’opéra du monde. 

 

Équipe artistique

  • Création, mise en scène et livret HAUI
  • Interprétation et dramaturgie Neema Bickersteth
  • Composition Sean Mayes

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 190 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra de financer le recrutement dartistes de diverses origines, l’organisation d’un programme de mentorat et d’activités destinées à la relève. De plus, des fonds seront consacrés à la mise sur pied, en 2023, d’un atelier de musique et d’orchestration, et d’un atelier de mise en scène et de conception. 

Reconnaissance

Produit par la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, en collaboration avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts, le Conseil des arts du Canada et le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario. 

Représentations

Première prévue lors de la saison 2023-2024 de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne. 


Menu