October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Multitudes

Feist Toronto
  • Lead creator and performer Leslie Feist

In an unconventional production with limited capacity, Feist invites the audience to reclaim the stage with MULTITUDES, an intimate performance of new songs.

Conceived during, and in response to, a pandemic period when stages had to remain empty and communal joy was interrupted, MULTITUDES offers a joint and safe reclaiming of the stage. Featuring all new music written and performed by Feist, accompanied by Todd Dahlhoff and Amir Yaghmai, MULTITUDES is an intimate, radically communal and topsy-turvy production that muddies the roles between audience and performer, observer and its subject.

Entering into a cavernous room scattered with an inexplicable mess, the ephemera asks us if it’s a series of clues, a scavenger hunt or the rarified air of an auction. Disguising her performance as a near-traditional solo show, Feist sings from a central circle, like story time at the library. Within a cascade of archaic technologies and an earth-worship echoing paganism, MULTITUDES explore themes of communication, grave consequence and chosen optimism; empathy and individualism; death and the reluctance of maturing.

Through a macro lens as intimate as pillow talk, we consider the relationship between the subjective and the universal, the Rubik’s cube of any single individual’s life and our multifaceted relationships with each other.

Feist Multitudes © Goodchild Richardson

Company

Widely recognized as one of the most compelling vocalists and songwriters in her genre, Leslie Feist is an 11-time Juno Award-winning solo artist and founding member of Polaris Music Prize-nominated band Broken Social Scene.

Following the breakout success of her sophomore album Let It Die (named Alternative Album of the Year at the 2004 Juno Awards), the Nova Scotia-born musician went on to achieve international acclaim with 2007’s The Reminder, a gold-certified release that landed on best-of-the-year lists from outlets like Pitchfork, NPR, Spin, and Rolling Stone, in addition to winning Feist the 2007 Shortlist Music Prize. Along with earning four Grammy Award nominations, The Reminder delivered one of the most indelible songs of the 2000s with “1234,” a Billboard Hot 100-charting single that paved the way for Feist’s appearance on such iconic shows as Saturday Night Live and Sesame Street.

Arriving in 2011, her fourth full-length Metals was hailed as the best album of the year by New York Times chief popular music critic Jon Pareles, and later won the 2012 Polaris Music Prize. In 2017 Feist released her most recent album Pleasure, a critically lauded work accompanied by a storytelling podcast series entitled Pleasure Studies.

Creative team

  • Lead creator and performer Leslie Feist
  • Scenic and lighting design Rob Sinclair
  • Musicians Amir Yaghmai and Todd Dahlhoff
  • Video content creation Colby Richardson

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $175,000 supported the completion of the project’s development, with additional time to finalize the technical, digital and sound elements, and to test and refine the production through preview performances for an invited audience.    

Credits

Produced by TO Live and Kampnagel International Summer Festival, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Commissioning partners:  To Live, Kampnagel International Summer Festival, Festipielhaus St Pölten.

Performance dates

Upcoming Performances

October 14 to 17, 2021:  Studio 2 (Ottawa), presented by the National Arts Centre

October 20 to 30, 2021:  Meridian Hall (Toronto), presented by TO Live

Previous Performances

August 4 to 8, 2021:  World premiere, Kampnagel Halle K6 (Hamburg), presented by the International Summer Festival Kampnagel

Articles & reviews


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Multitudes

Feist Toronto
  • Créatrice principale et interprète Leslie Feist

Dans une production non conventionnelle à capacité limitée, Feist invite le public à se réapproprier la scène avec MULTITUDES, un spectacle intime de nouvelles chansons.

Conçu pendant, et en réponse à, une période pandémique où les scènes devaient rester vides et où la joie communautaire était interrompue, MULTITUDES propose une reconquête commune et sûre de la scène. Avec de tous nouveaux airs écrits et interprétés par Feist, accompagnée de Todd Dahlhoff et Amir Yaghmai, MULTITUDES est une production intime, radicalement communautaire et déjantée qui brouille les rôles entre le public et l’interprète, l’observateur et son sujet.

En entrant dans une pièce caverneuse parsemée d’un désordre inexplicable, les éphémères nous demandent s’il s’agit d’une série d’indices, d’une chasse au trésor ou de l’air raréfié d’une vente aux enchères. Déguisant sa prestation en un spectacle solo quasi traditionnel, Feist chante depuis un cercle central, comme à l’heure du conte à la bibliothèque. Dans une cascade de technologies archaïques et un culte de la terre faisant écho au paganisme, MULTITUDES explore les thèmes de la communication, des conséquences graves et de l’optimisme choisi; de l’empathie et de l’individualisme; de la mort et de la réticence à mûrir.

À travers un objectif macro aussi intime qu’une conversation sur l’oreiller, nous considérons la relation entre le subjectif et l’universel, le cube Rubik’s de la vie d’un seul individu et nos relations multiformes.

Feist Multitudes © Goodchild Richardson

Compagnie

Largement reconnue comme l’une des chanteuses et auteures-compositrices les plus fascinantes de son genre, Leslie Feist a remporté 11 prix Juno en tant qu’artiste solo et est membre fondatrice du groupe Broken Social Scene, finaliste au prix Polaris.

Après le succès retentissant de son deuxième album, Let It Die (nommé Album alternatif de l’année aux prix Juno), la musicienne originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse a connu une renommée internationale avec The Reminder en 2007, un album certifié or qui s’est retrouvé sur la liste des meilleurs albums de l’année de Pitchfork, NPR, Spin et Rolling Stone, en plus de lui valoir le prix Shortlist Music Prize 2007. Nommé quatre fois aux prix Grammy, The Reminder a donné naissance à l’une des chansons les plus marquantes des années 2000 avec 1234, extrait qui s’est classé dans le Billboard Hot 100 et qui a mené Feist à figurer dans des émissions emblématiques comme Saturday Night Live et Sesame Street.  

Paru en 2011, son quatrième album complet, Metals, a été salué comme le meilleur album de l’année par Jon Pareles, critique en chef de la musique populaire au New York Times, et a remporté le prix de la musique Polaris 2012. En 2017, Feist a lancé son plus récent album, Pleasure, une œuvre encensée par la critique et accompagnée d’une série de balados narratifs intitulée Pleasure Studies.

Équipe artistique

  • Créatrice principale et interprète Leslie Feist
  • Scénographie et conception d’éclairage Rob Sinclair
  • Musiciens Amir Yaghmai et Todd Dahlhoff
  • Création de contenu vidéo Colby Richardson

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 175 000 $ du Fonds national de création a permis l’achèvement du développement du projet, avec du temps additionnel pour finaliser les éléments techniques, numériques et sonores, et pour tester et peaufiner la production par des avant-premières devant un public invité.      

Reconnaissance

Une production de TO Live et Kampnagel International Summer Festival, en partenariat avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.  

Partenaires de commande :  TO Live, Kampnagel International Summer Festival, Festipielhaus St Pölten.

Représentations

Performances à venir

 


14 au 17 octobre 2021:  Studio 2 (Ottawa), présenté par le Centre national des Arts

 

20 au 30 octobre 2021:  Meridian Hall (Toronto), présenté par TO Live

Performances Précédentes

4 au 8 août 2021:  Première mondiale, Kampnagel Halle K6 (Hamburg), présenté par le Festival d'été international de Kampnagel.

Articles et critiques


Menu