October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
  • An original work by 2Fik

Romance ain’t dead, 2Fik! is a transdisciplinary project about self-representation in dating applications. 2Fik will portray 100 characters in a performance that combines visual art, digital art, performance and interactive theatre. The aim of the show is to question the transformation of social interactions and the commodification of human beings.

The trivialized environment of social networks has led to the construction of a virtual identity that is consciously—or unconsciously—used in dating applications in order to ultimately go on an actual date, where a face-to-face encounter finally allows us to find out whether the person we fantasized about through the screen meets our expectations.

video:
La Romance est pas morte, 2Fik!

Company

Born in France into a Muslim family of Moroccan origin, 2Fik arrived in Montreal in 2003. The city became the backdrop for his work after he became aware of the questioning of identity prevalent in Quebec around multiculturalism, immigration and the French language. Alternately artistic director, photographer and model, 2Fik stages visual works in which he plays several characters. 2Fik seeks to deconstruct stereotypes, to question the vision we have of ourselves, and to catch in flagrante delicto the social programming that victimizes us with regard to gender, sexuality and beliefs. 

Creative team

  • An original work by 2Fik
  • Stage designer Max-Otto Fauteux
  • Lighting designer Paul Chambers
  • Application created by Silverorange

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $130,000 allowed 2Fik to widen the circle of his artistic associates and extend the development of the project, and supported the further refinement of the dating application. 

Credits

With the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Festival TransAmériques (FTA), and the donors to the Kickstarter campaign for Romance À La 2Fik. 

Developed with the support of the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Performance dates

Previous Performances

June 2 to 9, 2021:  World premiere, Place des Arts (Montreal), presented by Festival TransAmériques.

Articles & reviews


Menu

• Une création de 2Fik

La Romance est pas morte, 2Fik ! est un projet transdisciplinaire portant sur la représentation de soi sur les applications de rencontre. 2Fik y interprétera 100 personnages dans un spectacle mélangeant art visuel, art numérique, performance et théâtre interactif. Tout cela dans le but de questionner la transformation des interactions sociales et la marchandisation de l’être humain.

La banalisation des réseaux sociaux a amené la construction d’une identité virtuelle qui est consciemment – ou inconsciemment – utilisée dans les applications de rencontres afin de pouvoir avoir ces fameuses dates, où le face à face permet enfin de voir si la personne fantasmée à travers l’écran est à la hauteur de nos attentes.

video:
La Romance est pas morte, 2Fik!

Compagnie

Né en France d’une famille musulmane d’origine marocaine, 2Fik est arrivé en 2003 à Montréal. Cette métropole est devenue la toile de fond de son travail après une prise de conscience du questionnement identitaire québécois face au multiculturalisme, à l’immigration et à la langue française. Tour à tour directeur artistique, photographe et modèle, 2Fik met en scène des œuvres visuelles dans lesquelles il joue plusieurs personnages. 2Fik cherche à déconstruire les stéréotypes, à nous questionner sur la vision que nous avons de nous-mêmes et à prendre en flagrant délit la programmation sociale dont nous sommes victimes en ce qui concerne les genres, les sexualités ou les croyances. 

Équipe artistique

  • Une création de 2Fik
  • Scénographie Max-Otto Fauteux
  • Éclairages Paul Chambers
  • Création de l’application Silverorange

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 130 000 $ du Fonds national de création a permis à 2Fik d’élargir le cercle de ses collaborateurs et de prolonger le développement du projet, et a soutenu le développement ultérieur de l’application de rencontre.  

Reconnaissance

Avec l’appui du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Festival TransAmériques (FTA) et les donateur-e-s de la campagne Kickstarter de Romance À La 2Fik. 

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Représentations

Performances Précédentes

2 au 9 juin 2021: Première mondiale, Place des Arts (Montréal), présenté par Festival TransAmériques. 

Articles et critiques


Menu