October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Backstage at Carnegie Hall

Bradyworks and Black Theatre Workshop Montreal
  • Composed by Tim Brady
  • Libretto by Audrey Dwyer

In 1939, Black electric jazz guitarist Charlie Christian joined Benny Goodman’s band for a landmark concert at Carnegie Hall that was a radical artistic and social statement for both men.  Backstage at Carnegie Hall, a new chamber opera from composer Tim Brady and librettist Audrey Dwyer, uses this historic event to examine the impact of generations of racial and class-based trauma, and the role of music in evolving discussions about racism.

Jumping back and forth through time, Charlie engages with a variety of historical figures, including Rufus Rockhead, Montreal’s legendary Black club owner, guitar innovator Orville Gibson, and American opera singer Marian Anderson.  These interactions underscore the ongoing struggle of being a Black person – even a famous one – in a white society.

Backstage at Carnegie Hall © Kelley Mitchell, Arraymusic
Charlie Christian
Backstage at Carnegie Hall © Kelley Mitchell, Arraymusic
Charlie Christian

Company

Bradyworks was originally created in 1989 to perform the music of Tim Brady, whose work as a composer combines elements of contemporary chamber music, jazz, rock and electroacoustic music. The group's instrumentation - combining electric guitar and saxophone with traditional chamber music forces and live electronics - creates a unique sound world with a vast array of timbres and performance traditions. The group also has a strong interest in contemporary vocal chamber repertoire. Since 1997 the group has expanded its repertoire to include works by other composers which partake of a similar artistic vision, often with a focus on electroacoustic elements such as tape and live electronics.

Black Theatre Workshop is Canada’s longest-running Black theatre company. Its mission is to encourage and promote the development of a Black and Canadian Theatre, rooted in literature that reflects the creative will of Black Canadian writers and artists, and the creative collaborations between Black and other artists. Black Theatre Workshop aims to promote and produce Black theatre that educates, entertains and delights its audiences. The company strives to create a greater cross-cultural understanding by its presence and the intrinsic value of its work.

Creative team

  • Composed by Tim Brady
  • Libretto by Audrey Dwyer
  • Director ahdri zhina mandiela
  • Artistic Director Tim Brady
  • Artistic Director Quincy Armorer

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $150,000 will support an extended development period, including an additional workshop, extensive testing of the video and production design, and new artistic collaborations.

Credits

Co-produced by Bradyworks and Black Theatre Workshop.

Supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal, the Cole Foundation, SOCAN Foundation and Placement Culture.

Developed with support from the NAC’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

Premiering in fall 2022. 


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

Backstage at Carnegie Hall

Bradyworks et Black Theatre Workshop Montréal
  • Composition Tim Brady
  • Libretto Audrey Dwyer

En 1939, le guitariste électrique jazz Charlie Christian s’est joint au groupe de Benny Goodman pour un concert légendaire à Carnegie Hall qui marquait une prise de position artistique et sociale pour les deux hommes. Backstage at Carnegie Hall, un nouvel opéra de musique de chambre du compositeur Tim Brady et de la librettiste Audrey Dwyer, emploie cet événement historique pour examiner l’impact des traumatismes de race et de classe sur plusieurs générations, et le rôle de la musique pour faire évoluer les discussions sur le racisme.

Par une série de sauts dans le temps, Charlie interagit avec une variété de figures historiques, dont le légendaire propriétaire de club noir Rufus Rockhead, l’innovateur de guitare Orville Gibson, et la chanteuse d’opéra américaine Marian Anderson. Ces interactions soulignent le combat constant d’être une personne noire – même célèbre – dans une société blanche.  

Backstage at Carnegie Hall © Kelley Mitchell, Arraymusic
Charlie Christian
Backstage at Carnegie Hall © Kelley Mitchell, Arraymusic
Charlie Christian

Compagnie

Bradyworks a originalement été créé en 1989 pour interpréter la musique de Tim Brady, dont le travail comme compositeur combine des éléments de musique de chambre contemporaine, de jazz, de rock et de musique électroacoustique. Les instruments du groupe – combinant la guitare électrique et le saxophone à la musique de chambre traditionnelle et la musique électronique – tissent un paysage sonore unique composé d’une vaste gamme de timbres et prestations traditionnelles. Le groupe s’intéresse également au répertoire contemporain de musique de chambre chantée. Depuis 1997, le groupe a élargi son répertoire pour y inclure des œuvres d’autres compositeurs qui partagent une vision artistique semblable, souvent axée sur les éléments électroacoustiques comme les enregistrements et la musique électronique en direct.  

Black Theatre Workshop est la plus vieille compagnie de théâtre noire au Canada. Sa mission est d’encourager et promouvoir le développement d’un théâtre noir et canadien, ancré dans une littérature qui reflète la volonté créative des auteurs et artistes noirs et canadiens, et les collaborations créatives entre les artistes noirs et ceux issus d’autres communautés culturelles. Black Theatre Workshop vise à promouvoir et produire du théâtre noir qui éduque, divertit et enchante ses publics. La compagnie vise une meilleure compréhension interculturelle par sa présence et la valeur intrinsèque de son œuvre.

Équipe artistique

  • Composition Tim Brady
  • Libretto Audrey Dwyer
  • Metteure en scène ahdri zhina mandiela
  • Directeur artistique Tim Brady
  • Directeur artistique Quincy Armorer

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 150 000 $ du Fonds national de création permettra une période de développement prolongée, dont un atelier supplémentaire, des tests additionnels de conception vidéo et de production, et de nouvelles collaborations.

Reconnaissance

Une coproduction de Bradyworks et Black Theatre Workshop.

Avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, de la Fondation Cole, de la Fondation SOCAN et de Placement Culture.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

Première à l’automne 2022. 


Menu