November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

harbinger

Ame Henderson Toronto
  • Created by Ame Henderson in collaboration with the creative team

harbinger is a sounding–a call or a cry–that announces a new form of collectivity, a future assembly of bodies.  The project considers foundational dance techniques of lifting, carrying and weight-sharing as manifestations of care and empathy–as forms of feminized labour. In gestures of caressing, holding, cradling and entwining, the performers’ bodies blur together in disarmingly sensuous ways. Conjuring an unapologetic feminine splendour, this startling exploration of intimacy and physical interdependence imagines bold new embodiments that make room for both togetherness and singularity.

Company

With a practice that spans publication, performance and exhibition, Ame Henderson’s work activates dance and choreography to propose experiential modes of being together. Her projects have been developed and performed across Canada and internationally in galleries, theatres, found sites and outdoor public spaces. Her works foreground collaboration and interdisciplinary praxis, created alongside visual artists, designers, musicians and performance makers. Based in Toronto, she collaborates regularly with Christopher House and Toronto Dance Theatre, and with the artist-run company Public Recordings, which she co-founded in 2003. Ame is an Associate Dance Artist of Canada’s National Arts Centre.

Creative team

  • Created by Ame Henderson in collaboration with the creative team
  • Choreography by Ame Henderson
  • Performed by Justine A. Chambers, Angie Cheng, Jasmyn Fyffe, Kate Nankervis, Bee Pallomina & Ravyn Wngz
  • Music Victoria Cheong (aka New Chance)
  • Costumes Claudia Fancello
  • Lighting Kyla Gardiner
  • Scenography Natalie Purschwitz
  • Artistic Producer Sarah Rogers
  • Creative Producer Sascha Cole
  • Technical | Production Daniel Bennett, A.J. Morra and Lisa Conway
  • Scent design Aleesa Cohene

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $140,000 makes it possible for Ame Henderson to bring together a creative team from across Canada to test and refine the work’s interwoven multi-sensory performance language through extended workshops and technical residencies.

Credits

Co-producers:  L’Agora de la danse and the National Arts Centre with support from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Toronto Arts Council. Developed in residency at L’Agora de la danse and Harbourfront Centre.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Performance dates

June 6 & 7, 2020:  World Premiere, La Commune (Aubervilliers, France), presented by Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis - postponed

November 5 to 7, 2020:  Berkeley Street Upstairs Theatre (Toronto), presented by Canadian Stage - postponed


Menu

harbinger

Ame Henderson Toronto
  • Une création de Amy Henderson, en collaboration avec une équipe de conception

harbinger, c’est le présage – tel un appel ou un cri – d’un nouveau genre de communauté, d’un rassemblement futuriste de corps humains. Le projet aborde des techniques fondamentales de la danse (portés, levés, transfert de poids) comme manifestations d’affection et d’empathie, comme travail tout féminin. Les interprètes se caressent, s’embrassent, se bercent et s’enlacent dans une fusion de corps d’une sensualité désarmante. Exploration surprenante de l’intimité et de l’interdépendance physique, harbinger brosse un portrait sans remords de la féminité dans toute sa splendeur, et évoque de nouvelles et audacieuses incarnations d’un monde où l’individu et le groupe ont chacun leur place.

Compagnie

Grâce à une pratique artistique qui englobe création, publication et expositions, Ame Henderson propose, à travers la danse et la chorégraphie, de nouveaux modes expérimentaux de convivialité. Dans cette optique, elle partage volontiers ses expériences chorégraphiques au Canada et partout ailleurs, à la fois dans des galeries d’art, des salles de spectacles, des lieux découverts au hasard et des espaces publics extérieurs. Son approche valorise la collaboration et l’interdisciplinarité, et son travail s’effectue en partenariat avec des artistes visuels, des concepteurs, des musiciens et des artistes de la scène. Établie à Toronto, elle collabore fréquemment avec la Christopher House, le Toronto Dance Theatre et le collectif Public Recordings, qu’elle a cofondé en 2003. Ame Henderson est artiste associée de Danse CNA.

Équipe artistique

  • Une création de Amy Henderson, en collaboration avec une équipe de conception
  • Chorégraphie Ame Henderson
  • Interprètes Justine A. Chambers, Angie Cheng, Jasmyn Fyffe, Kate Nankervis, Bee Pallomina & Ravyn Wngz
  • Musique Victoria Cheong (alias New Chance)
  • Costumes Claudia Fancello
  • Éclairages Kyla Gardiner
  • Scénographie Natalie Purschwitz
  • Productrice artistique Sarah Rogers
  • Productrice du contenu créatif Sascha Cole
  • Technique et production Daniel Bennett, A.J. Morra et Lisa Conway
  • Conception de parfum Aleesa Cohene

Investissement du Fonds national de création

L’investissement de 140 000 $ du Fonds national de création a permis à Ame Henderson de rassembler une équipe de création pancanadienne afin de peaufiner le langage multisensoriel du spectacle et de le mettre à l’épreuve à travers une période prolongée d’ateliers et de résidences techniques.

Reconnaissance

Ce spectacle est coproduit par l’Agora de la danse et le Centre national des Arts avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada. Il a été développé grâce à une résidence à l’Agora de la danse et au Harbourfront Centre.

Ce spectacle a bénéficié du soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Représentations

6 & 7 juin 2020:  Première mondiale, La Commune (Aubervilliers, France), présenté par les Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis

5 au 7 novembre 2020:  Berkeley Street Upstairs Theatre (Toronto), présenté par Canadian Stage


Menu