November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Climate change

The Earth is Watching…Let’s Act.

Part 2: Green Rooms 2020
The Earth is Watching… Let’s Act

June 2020 | Livestream

  • Opening Picnic
  • Climate Despair: Harnessing Grief as an Agent of Transformation
  • How Artists Respond: Climate Crisis
  • Leadership and Structures for Change
  • Averting Climate Breakdown: Insights from Ecological Economics
  • The Future: What is it?
  • Dance Like The Earth Is Watching
  • The Closing Act

As part of its response to the escalating climate crisis – and in light of the current COVID-19 pandemic – NAC English Theatre in partnership with Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA), the Canada Council for the Arts, The City of Kingston, HowlRound Theatre Commons, National Theatre School of Canada and York University brought together participants for an extraordinary three-day/three-country digital experiment that reflected on the future of theatre.

The Green Rooms were fueled with spirited conversations with leaders in fields such as climate activism, ecological economy and environmental humanities, as well as with theatre artists and leaders who have found innovative ways to engage with the climate crisis.

A limited number of active participants joined the event on Zoom from eight cities across three countries: Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Kingston, Montreal, and Halifax, as well as London (U.K.) and New York. In addition, a livestream of the event was accessible to spectators everywhere.

Please note: If participants were not in one of those cities, they were still able to participate by joining the city closest or most meaningful to them.

We invite you to view the proceedings recorded and available on this site and read the reports too!

Co-curated by Sarah Garton Stanley and Chantal Bilodeau.

All Green Rooms events are in English only

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.

Les changements climatiques

La Terre nous observe… Agissons maintenant.

Partie 2 : Les Green Rooms
La Terre nous observe… Agissons maintenant

Juin 2020 | diffusion en direct

Vidéos disponibles uniquement sur la page anglaise

En réponse à la crise climatique grandissante, et en raison de la pandémie actuelle de COVID-19, le Théâtre anglais du CNA en partenariat avec Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA), le Conseil des arts du Canada, la Ville de Kingston, HowlRound Theatre Commons, l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada et Université de York ont réunit des participants pour une expérience numérique extraordinaire sur trois jours et trois pays pour repenser l’avenir du théâtre.

The Green Rooms étaient nourries par des conversations animées avec des chefs de file en action climatique, en économie écologique et en humanités environnementales, ainsi que des artistes et chefs de file de théâtre qui ont trouvé des moyens innovateurs de s’attaquer à la crise climatique.

Un nombre limité de participants actifs se sont branché à Zoom à partir de huit villes dans trois pays : Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Kingston, Montréal et Halifax, ainsi que Londres et New York. De plus, une diffusion en direct sera accessible aux spectateurs de partout sur la planète.

N.B. : Si les participants n’êtaient pas dans une de ces villes, ils pouvaient tout de même participer en leur associant à la ville la plus près, ou celle qui revêt le plus d’importance pour eux!

Nous vous invitons à consulter les événements enregistrés et disponibles sur ce site et à lire également les rapports!

Co-commissaires : Sarah Garton Stanley et Chantal Bilodeau.

Veuillez noter que les événements « The Green Rooms » se dérouleront en anglais seulement

Menu