November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Syrus Marcus Ware |

Syrus Marcus Ware

Syrus is a Vanier Scholar, visual artist, activist, curator and educator. Syrus uses painting, installation and performance to explore social justice frameworks and black activist culture. His work has been shown widely, including in a solo show at Grunt Gallery, Vancouver (2068:Touch Change) and new work commissioned for the 2019 Toronto Biennial of Art and the Ryerson Image Centre (Antarctica and Ancestors, Do You Read Us? (Dispatches from the Future)) and in group shows at the Art Gallery of Ontario, the University of Lethbridge Art Gallery, Art Gallery of York University, the Art Gallery of Windsor and as part of the curated content at Nuit Blanche 2017 (The Stolen People; Won't Back Down). His performance works have been part of festivals across Canada, including at Cripping The Stage (Harbourfront Centre, 2016, 2019), Complex Social Change (University of Lethbridge Art Gallery, 2015) and Decolonizing and Decriminalizing Trans Genres (University of Winnipeg, 2015).  

He is part of the PDA (Performance Disability Art) Collective and co-programmed Crip Your World: An Intergalactic Queer/POC Sick and Disabled Extravaganza as part of Mayworks 2014. Syrus' recent curatorial projects include That’s So Gay (Gladstone Hotel, 2016-2019), Re:Purpose (Robert McLaughlin Gallery, 2014) and The Church Street Mural Project (Church-Wellesley Village, 2013). Syrus is also co-curator of The Cycle, a two-year disability arts performance initiative of the National Arts Centre. 

Syrus is a core-team member of Black Lives Matter - Toronto. Syrus is a co-curator of Blackness Yes!/Blockorama. Syrus has won several awards, including the TD Diversity Award in 2017. Syrus was voted “Best Queer Activist” by NOW Magazine (2005) and was awarded the Steinert and Ferreiro Award (2012). Syrus is a PhD candidate at York University in the Faculty of Environmental Studies.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Syrus Marcus Ware |

Syrus Marcus Ware

Lauréat de la bourse Vanier, Syrus Marcus Ware est artiste visuel, activiste, enseignant et organisateur de contenu. Il explore les structures de la justice sociale et de la culture d’activisme dans la population noire à travers la peinture, les installations et les prestations artistiques. Ses œuvres ont notamment été présentées à la galerie Grunt de Vancouver (exposition solo 2068 : Touch Change), à la Biennale des arts 2019 de Toronto (œuvre de commande) et au Centre de l’image Ryerson (Ancestors, Do You Read Us? (Dispatches from the Future) et Antarctica) ainsi que dans le cadre d’expositions collectives à l’Art Gallery of Ontario, aux galeries d’art des universités Lethbridge, York et Windsor, et à Nuit Blanche 2017 (organisation de contenu, The Stolen People; Won’t Back Down). Des festivals de tout le pays ont programmé ses prestations, telles Cripping The Stage (Centre Harbourfront, 2016 et 2019), Complex Social Change (Galerie d’art de l’Université Lethbridge, 2015) et Decolonizing and Decriminalizing Trans Genres (Université de Winnipeg, 2015).

Membre du collectif PDA (Performance Disability Art), Syrus a été le coprogrammateur de Crip Your World: An Intergalactic Queer/POC Sick and Disabled Extravaganza, présenté à Mayworks 2014. Parmi ses projets à titre de commissaire d’exposition, notons That’s So Gay (hôtel Gladstone, 2016–2019), Re:Purpose (galerie Robert McLaughlin, 2014) et le Church Street Mural Project (Church-Wellesley Village, 2013). Il a en outre été coorganisateur de l’initiative de deux ans du Centre national des Arts portant sur les artistes du spectacle handicapés.

Coorganisateur de contenu pour Blackness Yes!/Blockorama, Syrus est aussi l’un des membres principaux de Black Lives Matter (Toronto). Il a obtenu de nombreuses distinctions, tels le Prix TD de la diversité (2017) et le Prix Steinert & Ferreiro (2012). Sacré « Meilleur activiste queer » par le NOW Magazine en 2005, il est doctorant à l’Université York (Faculté des études environnementales).

Menu